We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Tremendous hotel, hit the spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gefinor Rotana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gefinor Rotana Hotel to your Saves list
Gefinor Rotana Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clemenceau Street | Hamra, Beirut 5202, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tremendous hotel, hit the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. Great location a short walk from busy nightlife, but far enough away to be quiet. Room was good size with very comfy king bed. Hotel was very clean and tidy. Staff were helpful and polite... Room was cleaned perfectly each day. Would come back again for longer stay....

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GefinorRotana, General Manager at Gefinor Rotana Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very positive feedback about the Gefinor Rotana Beirut.

We are delighted to learn that we were able to meet your expectations during your stay.

We appreciate your compliments on our staff’s attitude, rooms’ cleanliness and convenient location to the points of interest in Beirut.

Once again, thank you so much for this review and we look forward to welcoming you at the Gefinor Rotana on your next visit to Beirut.


Best Regards,


Franck Royer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    93
    24
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
50
38
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Superb hotel made all the better due to the staff. The restaurants are great especially the Olive Garden where very generous portions are served by great staff. The rooms are very clean and mine had a lovely view of the Med. the hotel is a relatively short walk to the centre of town and all the great Souks and kerb side café's. It's also close to the Corniche and the boardwalk beside the Marina where there area even more places to sit and have a drink whilst watching the world and it's contented inhabitants stroll the evening away with their family and friends. The are no words to describe how we'll placed this hotel is - in the middle of locals yet beside the tourists haunts. You'll love it.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea view room and one that faces the sunrise. Go to the roof top café beside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GefinorRotana, General Manager at Gefinor Rotana Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments on this website.

We are happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations during your stay with us and that you had a wonderful stay in the hotel. Your positive feedback about the staff, food, rooms and location are really appreciated and will surely motivate us to keep providing the best service to our valued guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you give us another opportunity to welcome you again should your travels ever bring you back to Beirut.

Best Regards,

Franck Royer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel is modern with excellent facilities and amazing views of Beirut from the pool area. We had a little trouble at check in as the initial rooms booked were not available but the staff dealt with this well and we were not disappointed. The breakfast is excellent food but over priced. The Gefinor is in an excellent location for exploring Beirut. I will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: No complaints with an of the rooms or locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GefinorRotana, General Manager at Gefinor Rotana Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Gefinor Rotana and for taking the time to write to us your feedback.

First of all, we would like to thank you for your positive comments about the hotel’s facilities and location.

On the other hand, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused upon check in. But I am glad that the front desk staff’s handling of the issue was up to your expectations.

We are happy to learn that you found our breakfast excellent. As for your comment regarding food prices, please note that we are always conducting market surveys to ensure that our prices are in line with prices of our competitors in the market.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again at our property.


Best Regards,

Franck Royer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, everything you'd expect from a Rotana. Rooms are small but have everything you'd need. Beds are fairly comfy and pool is very nice with nice view. Good location, a walk to Zaytoona Bay Area and the old Holiday Inn hotel, and a short drive to other sights in the city. Only downside was very expensive food and very expensive internet which was very weak in our room. Would be happy to stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GefinorRotana, General Manager at Gefinor Rotana Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Gefinor Rotana and for taking the time to write to us your feedback.

First of all, we would like to thank you for your positive comments about the hotel’s facilities and location.

Regarding food and internet prices, please note that we are always conducting market surveys to ensure that our prices are in line with prices of our competitors in the market.

As for your comment on internet connection, It has been addressed to our IT Manager who will ensure that such inconvenience will not happen again.

Best Regards,

Franck Royer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Gefinor Rotana Hotel is very well located in Beirut, close to the American University of Beirut and an easy walk to the downtown area. It is also very near to Hamra, with all of its shopping, restaurants, and bars. The staff of the hotel were terrific -- very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and quiet, and our room had a wonderful view of Beirut and the Mediterranean Sea. The rooftop pool has a view that can't be beat! There is a small gym, and the restaurant had a delicious breakfast (included in our package) -- great way to start our day. Try the minted lemonade for an afternoon refreshment -- it's delicious! We stayed for 11 days, and felt we were cared for extremely well. The taxi service to/from the hotel is also very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms really have a great view, especially higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franckroyer, General Manager at Gefinor Rotana Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at the Gefinor Rotana Beirut and for sharing your positive experience on TripAdvisor.
We do hope to have the pleasure welcoming you soon in Lebanon.
With best regards,
Franck Royer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights at GF, which was pleasant and very satisfactory. Rooms on the 14th floor, club level is spacious and it has its own club lounge. Free evening snacks and drinks between 6pm and 8pm has been a bonus indeed. After a tiring day returning hotel and finding something to eat or drink looking at the sea from the lounge is much appreciated. The rooms are clean and maintained in good standards. The toiletries was from L'occitane. It is good to see that the hotel management despite charging very reasonable prices are not cutting the corners and providing extras like free wi-fi, to make customers feel happy. The hotel personnel is friendly and efficient, the taxi service from the airport at 25 USD is also good. The hotel is on the edge of the downtown, between the Corniche and Hamra, from where it is easy to go everywhere. Beirut is a very noisy city, butowing to the fact tha there is no much traffic in front of the hotel, all hotel is offering a quiet atmosphere. The only complaint I have, is the breakfast, which was not bad at all, but needed a bit more attention. It is worth paying the extra to stay in junior or premium suit rooms.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franckroyer, General Manager at Gefinor Rotana Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
It is very encouraging to know that the efforts of our associates at Gefinor Rotana Beirut are acknowledged. We are happy to learn that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests.
I have also well noted your comments on the breafast and we willbe working on enhancing it.
We do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you back to Gefinor Rotana Beirut .
With kind regards,

Franck Royer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed for two nights at this hotel, and I have no complaints whatsoever. The facilities are great, so is the location. The staff was warm, courteous and very prompt with service. the rooftop pool and gym offer a fantastic view , especially at night. The small things that matter...an electric kettle, coffee and tea refills, etc. were taken care of automatically...without calling up room service.
A "must stay" place!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gefinor Rotana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gefinor Rotana Hotel

Address: Clemenceau Street | Hamra, Beirut 5202, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beirut
#5 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#7 Business Hotel in Beirut
#9 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gefinor Rotana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the Gefinor Rotana the blend of traditional Arabic hospitality and the splendor of modern luxury will leave you spellbound. The hotel has a distinctive view over the city, the sea and the mountains and is conveniently located in Hamra district in the heart of Beirut. Gefinor Rotana is in close proximity to the business and banking districts and main shopping areas, the American University of Beirut, major hospitals in addition to the rebuilt downtown and the major exhibitions grounds with the airport just 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gefinor Rotana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gefinor Rotana Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gefinor Rotana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.