We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“nice view from an hotel full of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Bustan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Al Bustan Hotel to your Saves list
Al Bustan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beyt Meri, Beirut 1107 2150, Lebanon   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“nice view from an hotel full of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

everything was just fine, and to make it short i will relate the pros and cons.
Pros: nice view on the sea, pine trees around, eatalian kitchen island in the middle of the italian restaurant, Standard rooms are roomy.
cons: the interior design needs some freshening, food is fine but could be better, restaurant staff need further training.

To make it short we really enjoyed our stay after all

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
4
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Be aware, this is not a 5* hotel. It was built in 1960 and appears to have the same decor and staff as day it opened. The restaurant is Italian, we were told we couldn't have Leabense food unless we gave 24 hours notice. No beds around the pool and no staff to assist.

The two best things about this hotel, the view and leaving it. Avoid.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Located on the hill above Beirut, this is a very nice quiet place to stay. Away from all the traffic and busy city center. Air and temperatur is better than down the hill.
Staff is friendly and hotel is quiete, don't aspect to much from the kitchen... there are better place to eat.
Internet is free of charge and works well.
A good place to stay after a busy day

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I stayed at the Al Bustan for a couple of nights - friends were having their wedding party there. 25 minutes drive from Downtown Beirut, the Al Bustan is well positioned in the mountains to give fabulous views.

My room was comfortable and larger than average. The hotel in parts is dated but has character which I prefer to the homogeneity of Holiday Inn, Ibis, Intercon etc. The pool is a decent size, breakfast was good and all of the staff I met were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, U.A.E.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Just concluded my 5 day stay in Lebanon (first time for me) and here are my words on the Bustan hotel. Firstly, I was told this was a 5-star hotel and to be honest was disappointed from the get-go. It cost about $270 US/ night for a standard room with an ocean view - pics included - and for that money I expected more than just a 3 star hotel.
The thing is everything seems stuck in the 80's. From the service to the amenities, it just seems past it's prime. It knows it needs a makeover, it just has a problem replacing those old jeans for a newer model. Not to be romanticized, the service was a bit of a let-down as well.

Breakfast
Simple, not too complicated and had all the essentials. Keep in mind the orange juice is not fresh, but from concentrate. The omelets were always oily. But the croissants were delicious. And try the zaatar/ cheese manaeesh. It's kind of like a cheese pizza without the tomato sauce.

Room
Firstly, the complimentary water and fruit basket was not replaced after day 1. Furniture was dirty, they replaced old sheets with ones not clean. Room-telephone was not working. Tv did not have one clear channel and internet was desperately slow. Finally, I asked them to shift the two singles into one queen on first day of arrival but this was only done on day 3. There are some pictures I've not included to show the state of the room. Get in touch with me if you wanna see them and I'll send them to you.

Location
The view and the location was outstanding, mountain air really does wonders. But as I mentioned before, even our hotel pick-up was full of drama. It was raining and while going up the mountain at night it stalled about 5 times. No hard shoulder, just tight mountain roads and their 91 cadillac was fighting to cope.

Overall
I wouldn't stay here again. It was a nice experience but too overpriced for what you receive in return. I would much rather pay the $700 and enjoy the Hotel Grand Royal 10 minutes away. Now that's a 5* hotel at standards I'm used to.

All-in-all, a zebra with spots ain't no zebra; and the bustan is no 5* hotel. Thanks for reading :)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2004

The al-Bustan is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Situated in Beit Mary, on the mountain above Beirut, it's a deluxe hotel with a spectacular view across the city to the sea. The rooms are fine, the restaurant is excellent, the staff helpful and competent. For some, staying outside of town (it's a 10 or 15 minute ride into the city) will be a negative, but for others that will be a feature. (Especially if there's a war on.) The al-Bustan is an elegant refuge, and a treasure.

  • Stayed January 1999, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Bustan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Bustan Hotel

Address: Beyt Meri, Beirut 1107 2150, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Bustan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Al Bustan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Bustan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Bustan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.