We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Great hotel... poor food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut to your Saves list
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leisure Hills Complex - Dbayeh, Beirut 70 1010, Lebanon   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Royal Drink
Ranked #18 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Damascus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel... poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed at the hotel in Winter (As a water gate hotel) it was very creepily empty for 4 nights... The reception staff were nice, the room was comfortable, clean and had an amazing view.
I wanted to have something to eat so I headed to the Arabian restaurant in the 5th floor... it was closed.
I went then to the Titanic it was totally empty so I went back to order room service.
The food quality was bad... taste and portion were disappointing and you are not allowed to get food from Outside of the hotel so for the coming 3 days I had to eat out then come back :-)
Any additional service required is well overpriced (Taxi, Laundry and Parking) and in some times when there are weddings, the entrance are totally blocked (I waited 10 min to get to the Hotel from the gate)
In Summary its a nice clean and comfortable hotel best to use only for sleeping.

Room Tip: 10th floor non smocking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMariehachem, Corporate Revenue & e-distribution Manager at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Tarazi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Beirut,
We are very pleased to know that you liked your room, we always take good care of our guests specially the one booked via one of the best corporate accounts we deal with.

We were disappointed to read that you were not able to visit out Arabian restaurant ”Shahrayar”; it is located on the 1st floor and the one you visited on the 5th floor was le Jardin Du Royal serving the Buffet breakfast during this particular period. There must be a misunderstanding somewhere…

As we are sorry to know that the food ordered from the room service was not up to your expectation; Our Food & Beverage Managers are always available to change the items you did not like and to provide the best quality you deserve.

We have 6 ballrooms with one main access; the hotel entrance; During your stay we were very busy (local Events and Weddings) –This explains the reason of the 10 minutes delay you faced to get to the hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back to enjoy the Watergate Aqua park during the summer time.

Anne Marie Hachem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    49
    23
    4
    9
See reviews for
29
34
16
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Check-in was slow and there was no clarity about providing transport. The staff seemed almost bemused I was asking about transport, nearby locations and so on.

I enjoyed my stay enormously though: the staff were extremely kind (odd they have a rule you can't eat on the terrace outside, but good they ignored it) the views are idyllic and the hotel facilities, especially the leisure club, are memorably good. Occupancy was appallingly low when I was there due to disturbances in the Lebanon, but I would definitely stay again for leisure if I get the opportunity to visit the Lebanon. In fact this hotel must be one of the best hotels to go on holiday in the Middle East.

Really it's more of a honeymoon destination than a business hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMariehachem, Corporate Revenue & e-distribution Manager at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts – Beirut, Lebanon
Our goal is to provide you, our repeated guest, with excellent service and quality facilities at a great value.
We deeply appreciate your comments and opinions and be sure that every point will be taken into a great consideration to better meet your requirement in the future,

Sincerely,
Anne Marie Hachem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libreville, Gabon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A wrong choice I would say .
Location is fine , and the place offers parking even though the parking is really missing clear signage where I have to walk from P2 to ask the security where should i take the elevators to reach the entrance.
Staff experience was negative most of the times , starting from the Security who asked to search my Bag in an autocratic way ,can live with it he might not be oriented in a proper manner.
Park staff , most of them deal with guests in an inferior manner , if you take one Bouet which are next to the pool , you made a crime , the lifeguard will talk to you in a very rude manner to put it back .NEGATIVELY UNFORGETTABLE , is the guy who was at the KAMIKAZ game , he had a tatoo on his right upper arm,a long tattoo covering almost 70% of his upper arm , when he addressed one of us in a very rude impolite way saying "You guys have not attended university" due to a spelling mistake commited by one of my friends , oh yes , one spelling mistake and we were convicted by one of the staff (lifeguard) that we did not attend university and we are not educated. The only nice people were called Elie and George.
Half of the park was in operation and the other half was not , the excuse was due to end of season , we understand this but this should have been communicated when we called and inquired 3 days before , so we had to wait for their schedule to experience what we paid in full - NOT FAIR.
Water have high level of Chlorine , ending up with red eyes.
facilites related are ok, chaging rooms are clean , showers are good.
Food is extremly expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMariehachem, Corporate Revenue & e-distribution Manager at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your experience at the Watergate Aqua Park,
We have taken to heart your comments regarding the behavior of the Lifeguard; this is not in compliance with our standards and the quality expectations we set for ourselves.
Our apologies for this bad incident and be assured that we will look into this special case in an extremely detailed manner.
We would hope given us another opportunity to restore your confidence in the Watergate Aqua Park services and Staff, for the next season.
Please feel free to contact us again, our staff will be all ears and will assist you with great pleasure.

Regards,
Anne Marie Hachem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

the hotel is so nice and the entrance and lobby is very intresting, the sea view rooms is big but it was dirty, i reserved a gift on my husband anniversary but the bed was not clean we found manicure on tissue and hair on the pillow
the room was decorated as requested
the mattress was awfull, it was our worst nightmare
the breakfest was ful and rich
they need to pay attention to their cleanliness
the pool was amazing and spa was excellent

Room Tip: sea view room has nice view but they are not that clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMariehachem, Manager at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your stay at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts- Beirut,
We appreciate that the accommodation was agreeable, and that you benefited from the Sea View, the room decoration, the breakfast and the Royal SPA,

With regards to the disappointment you experienced, we would only be too flattered if you would take the time to contact us and advice us about this problem that you encountered during your stay,
We would hope that on a return visit you would have a more serene and pleasant stay;
At Le Royal Hotels & Resorts- Beirut, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Your point is well taken with respect and appropriate measures will be followed to prevent any future occurrences,

Sincerely,
Anne Marie Hachem
Corporate Revenue & e-distribution Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I went to Water gate with my 2 kids (5 years and 1 year old) and my brother. The pools are relatively small; contrary to what is said on the website, parents cannot play with their children on the slides in the kids section, nor kids can play with their parents on the "adult" section, so practically my 5 year old did not play at all; this is supposedly a family attraction where parents and kids can play together; I would understand the restriction on allowing adults to paly in the kids area (with their kids) but would not really comprehend why kids cannot play with their kids is "adult area" which by the way was closed!
in the pool where they start the artificial waves; they have limited number of floaters where we could not have one in both sessions... the water was very cold, the kids could not swim, the food is poor, in brief, a BAD place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMariehachem, Manager at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are disappointed that you did not come across a good experience that day at the Watergate Aqua Park and the last thing we want to impart is that we sincerely thank you for the feedback,
You brought out some points and we feel necessary to clarify them. We believe this will enlighten our guests and Trip Advisor readers:
At the Kids Pool: Guests over 7 years old are not allowed to use the slides in order to avoid injuries and to make room for the kids to play.
Watergate Slides: Only two slides are available for guests under 8 years old; Mega slide and Crazy River slide. The rest are slides that ranked dangerous for kids and it’s not recommended at all to be used by persons with height below than 120cm.
Wave pool: We have 45 rafts that can be used at the wave pool; any number beyond that will lead to an uncontrolled area and people will no longer be safe since the rafts will be driven by waves and may hits the kids at the shore.

At that time we would hope giving us another opportunity to serve you better in the future and remain,

Yours sincerely,

Anne Marie Hachem
Corporate Revenue & e-distribution Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

First time in hotel with family.
Reception checked us in in less than 5 minutes.
We were upgraded to a royal club. Room was spacious and room view is more than perfect as its all sea view and beirut city view.
Room dining is delicious and good value for money however they forget something like cups or bread or ice.

Room cleaning was clean but forget many stuff in room and always late although we put clean room sign and leave at 10 and came back at 3 and room not cleaned.

Breakfast is exptional and staff very friendly
Waves aqua park was perfectly decorated for all ages and it's always busy.
Valet parking is poor as they parked my car under a sewage and it needed polish after that. Wanted to call and blame them for charging 24000 LL per day and ruining my car. That was sooooo unprofessional from such 5 star hotel.

Overall. We recommend and liked a lot.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMariehachem, Manager at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the hotel staff members and your experience at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts- Beirut,

We have taken to heart your comments; it is most disappointing that you had this bad experience at your first time visit with your family;
Your points are taken with respect and we will follow up on these subjects with the concerned persons,
Concerning the Valet parking charges we would need to inform you that this service is handled by an outside company and we can’t waive the parking charges,

At that time we would hope, given another opportunity, where we can show you the kind of hospitality for which Le Royal Beirut is generally known,

Yours sincerely,

Anne Marie Hachem
Corporate Revenue & e-distribution Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We just came back from one week stay in Beirut at Le Royal. We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We booked the Yasmine suite for our family of four and the room was very spacious especially the living room area and the balcony. The bathroom and master bedroom could be a bit bigger but it was more than enough for us. The storage/closets space was amazing.
Breakfast was very good, maybe not as much as we expected compared to the food service you usually find in Lebanon but it was ok. The hotel pool was wonderful. The service and the pool bar were really good. It was not too crowded so we could really enjoy the sun :) We tried to go to the adjacent Water Gate, the hotel's famous water park, but we were truly disappointed. It is not the crowd and the lack of space, but rather the lack of cleanliness we noticed.. So we ended up staying at the hotel pool the entire time.
The hotel is in Dbayeh, around 15-20 minutes from Beirut which I did not consider far. The view from the hotel was absolutely magnificent. The Concierge was usually helpful but not always as it is sometimes very difficult to make reservations in Beirut.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Le Royal and we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: The family suites are located on the side of the hotel. They do not offer a front view but they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMariehachem, Manager at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts- Beirut,

We continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Le Royal Hotels & Resorts- Beirut, member of The Leading Hotels of the World,

Sincerely,

Anne Marie Hachem
Corporate Revenue & e-distribution Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut

Address: Leisure Hills Complex - Dbayeh, Beirut 70 1010, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#10 Family Hotel in Beirut
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#14 Business Hotel in Beirut
#18 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Beirut is perched on a towering hilltop overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, 15 kilometres from downtown and the airport. The property is close to the magnificent Jeita Grotto, nominated one of the 7 wonders, Casino du Liban, the historic city and souks of Byblos, ski resorts and upscale shopping districts. The 231 guest rooms and suites are equipped with every modern convenience. Gastronomy is an important part of Le Royal Hotels & Resorts. Le Jardin du Royal, overlooking the panoramic pool, offers breakfast, seafood, Italian and Mexican fare, and barbecue nights in the summer with live music. The Titanic is a piano bar with a maritime feel, offering French and continental specialties music. Diwan Shahrayar offers meza, grilled meats and Arabic desserts, with belly dancers shows. The Ikebana Night Club hosts Arabic comedy nights every weekend.The Royal SPA, spread over three levels and 3,500 m2 of space, boasts panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea, an indoor swimming pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, sauna, mud bath and Turkish bath, aerobics classes, personal training, squash, and tennis, in addition to many unique spa treatments. The Watergate Aqua Park spread over 20,000 m2 is one of the largest in the Middle East, featuring exciting rides, multiple swimming pools and casual dining.Banqueting and meeting facilities include six venues of different capacities, accommodating up to 1,000 people. All hotel banqueting venues and meeting rooms provide daylight illumination and are equipped with the latest audiovisual equipment.Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut earned the first Clef d’Or title in Lebanon, providing unparalleled Concierge service to guests and travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut Hotel Beirut
Le Royal Hotels And Resorts Beirut
Le Royal Hotel Beirut
Beirut Le Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Royal Hotels & Resorts Beirut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.