We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Doesn't live up to expectations.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Beirut

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Beirut to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Moevenpick Hotel Beirut
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   General de Gaulle Avenue | Raoucheh, Beirut, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 113 hotels in Beirut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to expectations.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed atbthe hotel for two nights in a sea view suite as part of my honeymoon.

Pros:
Large rooms and large bathroom
Excellent soundproofing ( windows, walls and doors)
Superb location
Good food quality
Attentive and helpful staff
Lovely paintings and artwork in rooms and corridors

Cons:
Valet parking over priced and will cheat you (more on this in detail later)
Lousy cellular phone reception in rooms regardless of network operator
Poor internet service
Room styling although contemporary, leaves somethingnto be desired
No call or visit from guest relations to check

Parking problem:
Valet costs 6.7$ as indicated on the ticket you are given. Left my car for 26 hours and was asked to pay 26.7$ to receive the car as the valet claimed that there was a surcharge for car stays beyondn12 hours. I informed him that i was a guest in a suite at the hotel and that this surcharge is not indicated on the ticket. He walked me over to the valet counter - at the blind corner of the enterance - where a small plack had information about differentrates for stays beyond 12 hours.

Arguing with the valet management failed to solve the issue and I had to pay 26$. I headed to the front desk to complain and was informed that the valet is run by a third party and the hotel has no say in the service they provide or the pricing. I asked for self parking alternatives and was told that it will cost me 20$ per day to park the car my self.

My comments about car park and valet:
A five star hotel certainly has the logistics to provide valet service to its guests without having to rely on a third party. You may charge visitors but certainly not guests who are lready paying for their rooms. Bell service is run by the hotel, so is housekeeping and food & beverage. Imagine if you had to pay every time housekeeping made your room!

This incident has turned me away from the Movenpick name. I am a Gold elite member with IHG and intercontinental hotels and even crowne plaza surpases movenpick beirut in terms of service quality and luxury. I am writing this review from the bathtub at the Phonecia Intercontinental, Beirut and I could not be happier. Expect a review soon.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahbou, Director of Sales at Moevenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Maher,

Thank you for your comments and review. We would like to highlight that we have had a problem with telephone reception in certain rooms of the hotel and this problem has been resolved.
As far as the internet, we have two speeds of internet. The first which is free of charge and has limited speed and a second option which is paid and much faster.
Our Guest Relations team usually selects clients on a daily basis for courtesy call and we apologize that they haven't contacted you as one of the selected guests.
Regarding the parking, it is quite common in Beirut for hotels and organizations to outsource their parking facilities to a third party hence they will need to charge all guests for in-house parking facilities.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you once again to our hotel and do our best to give you a positive experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    76
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
33
37
22
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Damascus, Syria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

pos;
1-lovely stuff
2-fast room service
3-good food
nos:
1-internet limited access ,just one person can login.
2-insects in the rooms from the garden specially in the 5th floor .
3- bad toiletress quality -bring yours .
4-old bathroom.....and decoration a little expiry ....

Room Tip: dont get a room in the fifth floor ....to avoid the insects .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahbou, Director of Sales at Moevenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and kind review.

We are surprised to hear that only one person at a time could log in to internet in the room, although we have an unlimited number of users possible. We will surely look into this matter.\

Our toileteries vary for different room types. As a Green Globe Certified hotel, and in line with Moevenpick standards, we are currently using a highly sustainable and organic product in all rooms called Eco M. This product is 100% natural and highly beneficial for both skin and hair.

We look forward to welcoming you soon to our hotel and remain at your disposal for any assistance needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Perfect location at the coast and close to the business district and airport. Planespotting is a bonus from nearly all seaview rooms with excellent soundproof windows. Transportation could be tricky in Beirut but there are always a few taxis waiting outside. The hotel offers everything you can expect for an excellent business event or a relaxing sightseeing visit to a marvelous city.
Rooms are wide and cosy, extremely clean. Staff is friendly and very professional.
The Olympic pool tops the marks for cleanliness and refreshment after a long business day.

Room Tip: There are just a few city facing rooms, but the coast is still visible so it's hard to get it wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahbou, Director of Sales at Moevenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Jubaka,

We would like to thank you for your kind review and are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel and your stay with us.
Rest assured that we will do our utmost to make all your stays with us as enjoyable and comfortable as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you soon and remain at your disposal for any assistance needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naqoura
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our problems in the hotel started right from check-in. The receptionist had the wrong attitude for a hotel staff. No one escorted us to the rooms (porters). When we arrived to the room we found out that the extra bed we had requested for when booking was actually a baby bed. We requested to be moved to another room and was assured that someone would come to help us move in 15 mins - no one came even after more than half an a hour. We eventually decided to go for dinner and when we came back 1.5 hrs later they still had not moved our bags or added the extra bed. Anyway after calling the reception, they brought our bags and the extra baby bed again. We requested for a duvet but they never brought it till the next day. The last night there was loud music playing which kept us awake for more than 3 hrs. I am not sure I would go back there!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahbou, Director of Sales at Moevenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sad to hear about your negative experience with us at the hotel and would appreciate having the opportunity to welcome you once again and try to give you a different experience.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any booking in our hotel and rest assured that our entire team is fully committed to providing you and all guests to a positive experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Moevenpick hotel and resort Beirut nicely located in has an awesome sea view (stayed in from 10 - 13 Oct)
Rooms are quite spacious, staff are generally nice, GM is very active and always seen everywhere in the hotel engaged with guests and staff. (Truly excellent GM)
Happy hour in the 9th floor trace need some improvement, reception team (few of them) need some refresher guest service training
Breakfast is nice and well presented.
Happen to me to meet the hotel Assistant dir. of sales to help me in solving a miscommunication problem and he shown a true sense of professionalism and hospitality (well done)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahbou, Director of Sales at Moevenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about the hotel. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and look forward to welcoming you soon to Mövenpick Hotel Beirut.

Do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed there for my honemoon it was amazing it's so good i really enjoyed everything is ok (breakfast,spa,gym,pool,service,...)but its expensive but you are in a five stars hotel in the heart of beirut. i definitly recomend this hotel to everyone you'll enjoye the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

1. NO notification on website lounge would be closed
2. NO notification on check-in lounge was closed
3. The choice of a CIGAR bar as the temoporary lounge!
4. Attending the Cigar bar on my only evening there only to be told the club lounge was open after the employee phoned a colleague. Went to Club lounge was closed and staff member smiled saying "its closed-we told you before it was closed sir"
5. Security Guard at entrance shouted at me in Arabic when approached "what do you want, what do you want?!!" all I wanted to know was where to enter hotel from street as its below street level as I was walking back.
Dont think I'll stay here again. Le Grey, Le Vendome, Phoenicia are all much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahbou, Director of Sales at Moevenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We regret about the closing of the Executive Club Lounge, and our team not having communicated this with you. In fact, the lounge has been moved to our bar area, Hemingway's Bar & Lounge, an upgrade from the existing Exectuive Club Lounge, which enhances the overall guest experience. This is communicated with guests upon check-in to the hotel and is actually highly appreciated due to the location of the Bar overlooking the Mediterranean Sea.

We apologize once again for the inconvenience and hope you will extend us the courtesy of welcoming you once again to provide you with an overall more pleasant experience.

I remain at your disposal for any further assistance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Beirut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Beirut

Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel And Resort Beirut
Address: General de Gaulle Avenue | Raoucheh, Beirut, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Beirut
#14 Business Hotel in Beirut
#16 Family Hotel in Beirut
#18 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Hotel Beirut 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Paris of the East! The Movenpick Hotel Beirut is the ideal starting point to discover one of the most beautiful cities of the world. Whether you are here on business or for pleasure, all your wishes will not just be fulfilled, but exceeded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel, HostelBookers, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Beirut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Beirut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.