We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Could do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Beirut

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Beirut to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Beirut
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   General de Gaulle Avenue | Raoucheh, Beirut, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 114 hotels in Beirut
Naqoura
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our problems in the hotel started right from check-in. The receptionist had the wrong attitude for a hotel staff. No one escorted us to the rooms (porters). When we arrived to the room we found out that the extra bed we had requested for when booking was actually a baby bed. We requested to be moved to another room and was assured that someone would come to help us move in 15 mins - no one came even after more than half an a hour. We eventually decided to go for dinner and when we came back 1.5 hrs later they still had not moved our bags or added the extra bed. Anyway after calling the reception, they brought our bags and the extra baby bed again. We requested for a duvet but they never brought it till the next day. The last night there was loud music playing which kept us awake for more than 3 hrs. I am not sure I would go back there!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahbou, Director of Sales at Moevenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sad to hear about your negative experience with us at the hotel and would appreciate having the opportunity to welcome you once again and try to give you a different experience.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any booking in our hotel and rest assured that our entire team is fully committed to providing you and all guests to a positive experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    90
    33
    15
    6
See reviews for
39
45
26
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Moevenpick hotel and resort Beirut nicely located in has an awesome sea view (stayed in from 10 - 13 Oct)
Rooms are quite spacious, staff are generally nice, GM is very active and always seen everywhere in the hotel engaged with guests and staff. (Truly excellent GM)
Happy hour in the 9th floor trace need some improvement, reception team (few of them) need some refresher guest service training
Breakfast is nice and well presented.
Happen to me to meet the hotel Assistant dir. of sales to help me in solving a miscommunication problem and he shown a true sense of professionalism and hospitality (well done)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahbou, Director of Sales at Moevenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about the hotel. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and look forward to welcoming you soon to Mövenpick Hotel Beirut.

Do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed there for my honemoon it was amazing it's so good i really enjoyed everything is ok (breakfast,spa,gym,pool,service,...)but its expensive but you are in a five stars hotel in the heart of beirut. i definitly recomend this hotel to everyone you'll enjoye the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

1. NO notification on website lounge would be closed
2. NO notification on check-in lounge was closed
3. The choice of a CIGAR bar as the temoporary lounge!
4. Attending the Cigar bar on my only evening there only to be told the club lounge was open after the employee phoned a colleague. Went to Club lounge was closed and staff member smiled saying "its closed-we told you before it was closed sir"
5. Security Guard at entrance shouted at me in Arabic when approached "what do you want, what do you want?!!" all I wanted to know was where to enter hotel from street as its below street level as I was walking back.
Dont think I'll stay here again. Le Grey, Le Vendome, Phoenicia are all much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahbou, Director of Sales at Moevenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We regret about the closing of the Executive Club Lounge, and our team not having communicated this with you. In fact, the lounge has been moved to our bar area, Hemingway's Bar & Lounge, an upgrade from the existing Exectuive Club Lounge, which enhances the overall guest experience. This is communicated with guests upon check-in to the hotel and is actually highly appreciated due to the location of the Bar overlooking the Mediterranean Sea.

We apologize once again for the inconvenience and hope you will extend us the courtesy of welcoming you once again to provide you with an overall more pleasant experience.

I remain at your disposal for any further assistance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Swiss Business Council-Lebanon holds a very loyal business relation with Movenpick Hotel and Resort Beirut. Most if not all of our events, ranging from conferences, to round table discussions, to business fairs, gala dinners and meetings are held at the premises.
we have had a very satisfactory experience throughout our dealing, from reservation till "check-out".
all our requests have been precisely met and staff was always ready and present to assist during the function.
our events are usually followed by a cocktail buffet which is perfectly set up and very rich in variety and presentation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is an amazing hotel located not far from Beirut's many delights, it has a great resort feel with its three swimming pools and ocean views - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We found the staff friendly at all times and helpful whenever we needed anything.

And only 15 minutes from the airport!

Frank & Christine

Room Tip: Deluxe room on the 9th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Amazing place, unfortunately significant weaknesses are spoiling the overall experience
Patchy wireless , as well as unfriendly staff and very pricey access to swimming pool made this beautiful hotel not a place that I would recommend, too bad it has the potential to become a great place to stay in beirut

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahbou, Director of Sales at Moevenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It gives us great pleasure to confirm that we now have an option of a high speed wireless service across the entire property with a 14 mb download rate and an 8mb upload rate.

Access to our swimming pools is free of charge for all in-house guests, however in order to maintain the exclusivity of the resort, we restrict access for outsiders into the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to the hotel and remain at your disposal for any assistance needed in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Beirut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Beirut

Address: General de Gaulle Avenue | Raoucheh, Beirut, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Beirut
#8 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#9 Family Hotel in Beirut
#20 Business Hotel in Beirut
#23 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Hotel Beirut 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Paris of the East! The Movenpick Hotel Beirut is the ideal starting point to discover one of the most beautiful cities of the world. Whether you are here on business or for pleasure, all your wishes will not just be fulfilled, but exceeded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Beirut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel And Resort Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Beirut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.