We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Yuk!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Beirut Raouche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Beirut Raouche to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Beirut Raouche
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Australia Street | Raouche Area, Beirut, Lebanon   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Dubai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yuk!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

im currently staying at the the Safir. One word can discribe the room..YUK! i have never seen so much stains in my life...i mean does management even go into the rooms!!! when the hotel first opened it had a great reputation but like many hotels in lebanon they decide to conserve and start bringing prices up while cutting down on quality. It is utterly digusting, the curtains are stained, the desk chair well i wont go there!! The TV reminds me of 70's , have they heard of plasmas or LCDs?? its like having a huge electric box in your room. The safe doesnt work, which is good for the maid! im so scared to order food especially if the rooms are so disgusting , what will the kitchen be like. i iwll take photos before i leave and repost. DONT GO THERE thats a big peice of advise i can give..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarekSafir, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Beirut Raouche, responded to this review, May 18, 2009
Dear Mr. Sam,

Greetings from Safir Heliopolitan Hotel,

We would like to thank you for the comments you left during your stay at our Hotel, and we really feel concerned.

We, our management associates and staff, are always working on delivering the best service in order to maintain high quality-standard facilities and certainly satisfy guests’ needs.

Regarding your comment about the TVs, we assure you that we have already started with the proper action plan we have in hand to replace them with new high-quality LCDs in the coming six months.

We wish you had the chance to try our three well-known restaurants which we can guarantee that their service facilities are up to your expectations.

In order to have the opportunity to welcome you again, we are delighted to upgrade you to an executive suite during your next visit to our Hotel.

We hope that you accept our apology for any inconvenience and please do consider always Safir Heliopolitan Hotel as your home away from home.

It would be a pleasure to meet you personally on your next stay to ensure that your visit is both pleasant and comfortable.

Tarek Ammache
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    31
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
26
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

The Safir hotel is a 4 star hotel situated in the beautiful Rouche area, about 50 meters away from the Rouche Rocks. The rooms are clean although it could be cleaner. The beds are comfortable. Internet is not free and could set you back around 10$ an hour. The bathroom is clean and looks outdated a bit. The towels are nothing close to being soft, so if you take showers seriously i suggest bringing your own towel.
The hotel has two three restaurants, I have only tried the one on the first floor which serves breakfast every morning. The breakfast is not the best in town, but one thing i liked about it, is that an old Labanese women was making fresh Lebanaese "Saj" ( the equivelint of a crepe.
In terms of moving around the hotel is right next to the main street that goes along the beach line. You can walk on the side walk of the Rouche area and glaze at the rocks.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarekSafir, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Beirut Raouche, responded to this review, June 5, 2009
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Safir Heliopolitan Hotel

We would like to thank you for the comments you left during your last stay at our Hotel, and we greatly feel concerned.
.
Reference to your comment about the internet services, we would kindly reveal that for the time being, our Hotel as all other Hotels in Lebanon charges the internet services; however the price is decreasing gradually until it becomes complimentary soon.

We are delighted that you had the chance to meet the old colleague lady who is responsible for making the “Saj” (crepes), and we will be honored to send her your salutation.

We will be pleased to welcome you again, and we are delighted to offer you free- charged internet as of your next visit to our Hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you personally to ensure that your visit is both pleasant and comfortable


Tarek Ammache
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

Clean and good location BUT: No international news channels (no Al Jazeera English, no BBC, no CNN, etc). Very poor yet expensive internet service. Add 20 USD to the price of the room for WIRE internet. NO WIRELESS. It's worth to upgrade your hotel by that much if your want ready to use, up-and-running internet wifi, attention in fitness center etc. Fitness center is not ready, deserted, no water in the watercooler, nothing's plugged, no one attending but the janitor. Clearly guests do not use the facility. Very lightly equipped but running treadmills do work. Laundry service: 18 USD for a pressed T-Shirt !

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarekSafir, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Beirut Raouche, responded to this review, June 5, 2009
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Safir Heliopolitan Hotel,

We would like to thank you for the comments you left and be sure that we will share your remarks with our appropriate associates.

Reference to your complaint about the deficiency in the international news channels, please note that there is a variety of them; including all channel you mentioned. In case they weren’t accessible, there could have been a problem with the TV programming in your room, which we really regret.

Regarding the internet services issue, we kindly note that the price is decreasing gradually until it becomes complimentary soon.

Nevertheless, we hope you accept our apology for any inconvenience we caused you.

In order to have the chance to welcome you again, we are delighted to upgrade you to an Executive Suite as of your next visit to Lebanon along with free-charged internet services.

Best Regards



Tarek Ammache
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

A couple of other reviewers have used the word "nice" to describe the Safir Heliopolitan and they're correct. Its comfortable, the breakfast choice is extensive and there's a a lady making fresh manakesh to order - yum! Its located 5 minutes walk to the Corniche and has views of Pigeon Rocks from many of the rooms. The hotel staff are professional and attentive with extra mention of Gabi in the foyer cafe who was excellent. Only complaint is being woken at 10pm by housekeeping to deliver one small complimentary bottle of water (there were two of us in the room) otherwise, its, well, nice! Not 5 star but a really good 3 star.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything was fine
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

the hotel was newly built, Prices were great. and sevices were very good, breakfast was the best thing. wifi internet not for free. good varaaites of tv channels. very nice balcony in each room.. the higher the better veiw..... I liked it it stayed for three nights

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE, SHARJAH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

I started not trusting Hotel websites after visiting the Safir heliopolitan, I mean it was a bit too much exaggerated with the pic's and huge lobby.

We reached the hotel..I was surprised with the size of the lobby, when I remember I saw it larger on the website (Its amazing what photoshop does!), other than that the check-in was smooth and the room service good in speed, but not very loyal and innocent. I remember I forgot my wallet on the movable dinner table, and after calling room service to take it, they didnt even bother to return it.
I was surprised the next day to the fact the I lost my wallet until I retraced my steps and was 100 % sure that I left my wallet on the table...I called the manager in charge and started to threaten them, until they returned the wallet. Its very sad to see this behaviour in a 5 star.

Other than this incident it would be a shame if I dont recommend the Italian restaurant which was the only 5 star aspect of the hotel, I mean the food was to die for.. Excellent chef..The hotel location is good, but I will only advise you guys to keep an eye on your valuables at all times, tip everyone in the hotel so that they obey all your orders, and your well off...but next time I visit Beirut I will probably try another hotel

  • Liked — the italian restaurant
  • Disliked — The room service incident
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Beirut Raouche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Beirut Raouche

Address: Australia Street | Raouche Area, Beirut, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Beirut
#15 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#18 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Plaza Beirut Raouche 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Beirut Raouche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safir Heliopolitan Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Beirut Raouche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.