We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“FAILED TO DISCLOSE HIGHLY NOISY AND DISRUPTIVE CONSTRUCTION” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Le Gabriel Beyrouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Le Gabriel Beyrouth to your Saves list
Sofitel Le Gabriel Beyrouth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de l'Independence | BP 167 197, Achrafieh, Beirut, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    55
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
14
16
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NewYork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

What is the point of a hotel chain if it doesn't keep up a standard of service? Sofitel is known for inconsistent quality across its network of socalled "luxury" hotels but their Beirut property is simply unacceptable.
Tiny bathrooms, terrible windows that were hardly soundproof, 3 star quality bathroom amenities, 3 star quality breakfast, pathetic maintenance ( carpeting did not even reach the wall which meant you could see the cement beneath the carpet all along the wall, shower was at least 20 years old), and a reception area and staff more adequate for a mediocre airport side hotel than for a supposed 4 star city centre property.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed at the Gabriel for three nights in December. Even though the décor is rather old-fashioned I really enjoyed it. The staff are very friendly and greet you personally. I liked the area too, walking distance from the ABC shopping mall and easy to get around on foot and you feel very safe is the area. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

At this level of hotel it's the details lacking that I notice most. Grubby carpet in the room. Bathtub edges siliconed multiple, inexpert times. Sliding door to the balcony that doesn't close tight and let's in street noise. Banged up walls in the hallway. A dismal fitness center in the 'dungeon' of the hotel. Restaurant food that is second rate for first rate prices.
Staff good, not great. Excellent bed and bedding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wooloomooloo
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Although part of a large international chain, this hotel has a distinct European boutique feel to it. My room was well decorated and plush, cosy (rather than spacious), and had a great view north towards the Mediterranean. Although the Sofitel Le Gabriel is not really central to the bustling Hamra district - often considered the heart of Beirut - it is in an upmarket neighborhood with plenty of shops, cafes etc. I still managed to walk to most areas of interest without too much bother. Service could be a little patchy, but it was cordial enough, and the reception staff were very welcoming. While I would probably stay in Hamra on my next visit (just for something different), I still recommend the Sofitel as a very good option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel Le Gabriel Beyrouth. The staff are ever so friendly and helpful especially the reception staff. The rooms are nice and clean and always smell so fresh. I am certainly going back there the next time I visit Beirut. And it is a great location too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Le Gabriel Beyrouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Le Gabriel Beyrouth

Address: Avenue de l'Independence | BP 167 197, Achrafieh, Beirut, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Beirut
#33 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Le Gabriel Beyrouth 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Beirut Le Gabriel brings you a distinctive blend of French style and Lebanese hospitality. The hotel is 10 minutes away from the airport, within close reach of the city business district, trendy restaurants, shops, cinemas, and much more. Our 73 elegant rooms include 8 Junior Suites, 3 Prestige Suites and 1 exquisite Opera Suite. The " Restaurant Le Gabriel" offers sumptuous international cuisine. The hotel also has 2 conference rooms, a 24-hour business center, a fitness center and a heated indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Le Gabriel Beyrouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Le Gabriel Beyrouth Hotel Beirut
Sofitel Beirut
Sofitel Hotel Beirut
Beirut Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Le Gabriel Beyrouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.