We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Phoenicia Hotel Beirut - Very Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenicia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenicia Hotel to your Saves list
Phoenicia Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Phoenicia Hotel Beirut - Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Phoenicia during a recent business trip to Beirut. This was my first trip to the Middle East, and I didn't know what to expect. To my surprise, the hotel was fantastic. It was one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. The service was great and the staff very friendly. The only downside really is the price. It was a bit pricey, but I would certainly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear wespowell1,

First of all let us thank you for choosing Phoenicia Beirut for your stay during your first visit to the Middle East, and thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

It is with great pleasure that we read about your experience and how you described the hotel as “fantastic”. We are very delighted to hear that you spent a great time during your stay at Phoenicia and that you found our services and facilities were up to your expectations. Stay assured that we shared your feedback with the Phoenicia team as such an amazing review brings us pride and satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for sharing your memorable experience and for promoting Phoenicia Beirut.

We look forward to having you back soon in Beirut and among us.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    86
    22
    4
    7
See reviews for
31
65
39
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Despite the explosion that shake my room like an earthquake their beds are not comfortable and their pillows are the worst I ever had in any hotel I stayed around the world.
The hotel prices for restaurants and services are exaggerate and do not match the regular service you get for it.
The internet is very very slow and the security scanner at the main entrance for each in & out reminded me the hassle at the airports, many hotels in Beirut offer better stay for less money & less hassle.

Room Tip: To get better room they want you to pay more
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Karl d,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Beirut for your stay and for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns on TripAdvisor.

We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.

Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had with our service and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. For that reason, we assure you that this will be looked into and take actions accordingly.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your feedback, we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit..

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Everything is Perfect! stunning hotel, certainly the best one of the best in beirut. The room was clean and perfect. A bit on the smaller side but it was great. Service was excellent from the room service to the concierge.

Would definitely come back. worth every penny

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Amr A,

Thank you for your stay at Phoenicia Beirut; we greatly appreciate your feedback and review.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found our facilities and services up to your expectations and described them as “perfect”.

One again, we thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Beirut and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Maur-des-Fosses, France
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

this hotel use to be the jewell of the new BEYROUTH CENTER after is reopening , but during the last 2 years some new hotels came and overpassed it , in term of service and global confort .
of the course the political situation in LEBANON is not helping the management in new investment , but the price ( over 220 $ with tax ) especially in the low season when the hotel is quite empty , is very high !
rooms will need also a small renewall

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Xavier R,
Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Beirut for your stay and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We have well received your comments concerning our hotel and we respect your opinion. However, we would appreciate if you can contact us and provide us with more details about what exactly made your stay unpleasant as we strive to make our guests experience one of the best. So please stay assured that any feedback you would provide will be communicated and corrective measures will be taken to avoid future repeats.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your feedback,

Hopefully you will come back again to Phoenicia so that you can experience what we are best known for.


Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Certainly enjoyed my recent visit. The hotel is quite grand and it overlooks the Corniche which is across the road. The staff are all quite excellent and go out of their way to be polite. The food and drink is certainly pricey but quality always comes with a cost. My favorite part of my stay was the gym. Everyday I was greeted by the staff at sign in or the personal trainers who always made certain I stayed hydrated. They were the greatest and definitely made my stay special. Maybe on my next visit the management will invite me to visit the Club Lounge. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: I enjoyed a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear TravelingFarmer V,
Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Beirut for your stay ; we greatly appreciate your feedback and review. It was a great pleasure to read your positive post especially highlighting our Phoenicia Gym. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and be assured that you always have the Phoenicia family waiting for your return.
Once again, thank you for sharing your memorable experience and for promoting Phoenicia Beirut. We look forward to having you back soon among us and you never know maybe your next stay will be at the Club Lounge.
Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 days as a family with young children. It is the perfect hotel to stay in Beirut. I will choose this hotel the next time. Very well trained staff and very respectful. Everything was perfect, but I found it expensive nothing is included. I like to try their offers and pkgs.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear DrNadwa,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your 3 days stay in Beirut with your family. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and your feedback is very much appreciated.
It was a pleasure to read your recommendation of the hotel and the highlights of our service and location.
Thank you for promoting and recommending the hotel, waiting to see you back soon at Phoenicia.
Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I'm pleased to say that during my recent stay I can finally say I've met my Luxury Hotel.

I'm well traveled due to the industry I'm in and my recent trip was an opportunity to bring my wife along and also see family. We stayed in the Diplomatic suite for a week. Wow! Well worth it and highly recommended.

We were apprehensive at first staying in Beirut due to the volatile political situation. But we were reassured upon entering the premises and the thoroughness of the security check. It felt like a customs check back home. So at least we knew they were vigilant.

The reception staff were friendly and welcoming. We didn't have to wait or wonder if we were at the correct counter.

The room was immaculate and the daily room service was a treat. They even knocked and didn't wake us up nice and early.

The 5 star facilities and amenities really add to this Hotel. It's elegant and modern. A fine blend. With lots of smiley faces. And staff appear willing and eager to help.

Have been to others in this region, but we are happy to call this one our new regular.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Melbournetravell,

First of all thank you for staying with us at Phoenicia Beirut regardless of the warnings you received regarding the political situation and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is with great pleasure that we read about your experience and how you described it as “Paradise”. We are very delighted to hear that you spent a great time during your week at Phoenicia and that you found our greetings upon your arrival warm and welcoming and that the services and facilities were up to your expectations. We surely shared your feedback with the Phoenicia team as such an amazing review brings us pride and satisfaction.

Again, thank you for your review and commitment to promoting Phoenicia Hotel and considering it your new regular.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Hotel

Address: PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#3 Family Hotel in Beirut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#4 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Phoenicia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with its majesty and grandeur, Phoenicia InterContinental stands proudly at the heart of Beirut, a few minutes from the city’s business and banking district, the major shopping areas and the vibrant downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Phoenicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenicia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.