We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“A Truly Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenicia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Phoenicia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phoenicia Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels in Beirut
Heytesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A Truly Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have stayed in hundreds of hotels all over the world - but this oneis probably the best run establishment I have ever experienced. Delightful staff, everything works as it should, excellent accommodation and good location. The Health spa is a knockout and the restaurants fabulous. Why would any one stay anywhere else in Beirut!!!!

Room Tip: Go that bit extra and try a room on the Executive Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear DJohnson139,

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure reading such an excellent post that describes in few words an outstanding experience.
Your feedback is very much appreciated, especially the comparison with hundreds of hotels all over the world!
We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations on all levels of service, accommodation and SPA.
Once again, thank for your positive feedback and for being an ambassador for Phoenicia Beirut. We look forward to having you back soon among us.


Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    79
    20
    4
    7
See reviews for
31
59
35
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a wonderful location, spacious rooms and great food. Given that it is a huge hotel, some training are missing. The staff are friendly but lack the timing importance. A room service order should not take 45 to serve a breakfast, nor a luggage down request should take 30 min for the bellman to arrive. On the other hand I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear LB k,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Beirut for your stay and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It was a pleasure reading your post and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We have well received your comments concerning service timing and please rest assured that corrective measures have been put in place, as this is surely an exception to the service we are accustomed to offering.

We are glad you enjoyed the rest of our facilities; and once again, thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your recommendation.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Free upgrade to club rooms, beautiful view of the yacht club and sea, excellent service, fantastic food. This is a great hotel with a central location. The only minor issues were 1. AC adjustment was tempermental and 2. some of the porters/waiters were a bit too "obvious" in their quest for large tips. small chat at dinner almost became an interrogation. But all the same, excellent hotel and highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: ask for the seaview rooms - its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear 144somerville,

Thank you so much for your review; it was a pleasure reading your post and the nice descriptions you gave to the hotel.
We are very glad you had an overall memorable experience. We honestly believe that your unfortunate experience with some of our colleagues is an exception to the service we are accustomed to offering. Please be assured it has been taken into account.

We are happy to know you enjoyed the club rooms, service and food; hopefully next time you will have more time to experience further the Beirut lifestyle.

Thank you again for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Two reasons for the low rating

All the rooms at the back of the hotels are facing an old building from the time of the civil war, full of bullet holes and bomb shellings, a very depressing view to have when you open the curtains

The fitness has a very low cieling and the machines are quite dated.

Excellent food, sleep quality & SPA

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear HanyRM,

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Beirut; we greatly appreciate your feedback and review.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found most of the facilities and services up to your expectations.
As you mention, the old building at the back of the hotel is unfortunately a heritage of Lebanon’s civil war and there are ongoing debates on whether to refurbish it or tear it down. Please be assured that we will make sure that you experience a room with a sea view for your next visit.

One again, we thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Beirut and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Service could be improved upon in the dining room area since I have high expectations for this 5 star hotel. Servers were somewhat inattentive.I had to go over to the server's station to pour myself a glass of water since everyone was too busy cleaning up. And when a server saw me doing it, he couldn't care less to offer assistance. Having said that, most of the staff were helpful and hospitable.
The room was very comfortable and bed was cozy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Hoy C,

Thank you for staying with us at Phoenicia Beirut and for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor.

We have well received your comments concerning your disappointing experience in our main dining restaurant and please rest assured that corrective measures have been put in place to avoid future repeats.

We honestly believe that your unfortunate experience is an exception to the service we are accustomed to offering as the Phoenicia Beirut is committed to providing its guests with the highest quality of service.

We are glad you enjoyed the rest of our facilities; hopefully you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again so that you can experience the Phoenicia Beirut at its best.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for two nights as part of my honeymoon.

Pros:
very very luxurious
Spacious room and bathroom
High tech TV and phone
Electrical outlet in every corner of the room
Very nice location and view
Bathroom ameneties are excellent quality
Generous amound of high quality complimentary tea and coffee

Cons:
Valet service and self parking are chargable and very expensive (20$ per day)
Sound proofing of windows needs improvement
Light control from curtains needs improvement
Airconditioning weak

Deapite its shortcomings, the phoenecia is an amazing hotel. I plan to return to it on my next trip to Beirut and hope that the above concerns will be looked at by the management.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Maher A,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Beirut for your honeymoon stay! It was a great pleasure to read your overall positive post and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Please rest assured that we have taken into account all your feedback, as we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities.

Many congratulations on your wedding and hopefully you will visit back in the near future and live the Phoenicia experience to its fullest.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

First time in Beirut and didn't know which hotel to choose!
A friend recommended the Phoenicia and even if I don’t the other hotels, this one is certainly one of the best in Beirut.
Rooms are very nice, food is excellent, service is very good and location seems to be the best.
I really did enjoy staying et Phoenicia even if it’s one of the most expensive hotel in Beirut.
First time in Beirut and didn't know which hotel to choose!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear MichaelParisFrance,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your first stay in Beirut. It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your visit and ranked us as one of the best.
We are glad that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations, especially after being recommended by a friend.
Once again, thank for your positive feedback and for promoting Phoenicia Beirut. We look forward to having you back soon among us.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Hotel

Address: PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beirut
#2 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#5 Business Hotel in Beirut
#5 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Phoenicia Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with its majesty and grandeur, Phoenicia InterContinental stands proudly at the heart of Beirut, a few minutes from the city’s business and banking district, the major shopping areas and the vibrant downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Phoenicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenicia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.