We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenicia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenicia Hotel to your Saves list
Phoenicia Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My recent stay at the Phoenicia was thoroughly enjoyable. The staff were extremely helpful, Maria on the front desk/concierge in particular. The spa/gym was excellent, indeed probably one of the best hotel gyms I've used. The location of the Phoenicia is an added advantage, as all the major tourist sites etc were within walking distance. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sara M,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your recent stay in Beirut and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had an overall “delightful” experience.
It is nice to read your recommendation of the hotel and the highlights of our staff service in particular Maria from Front Desk.

It is true one of the advantages of Phoenicia Hotel is the location. We are lucky to be situated in the heart of the city and near the top attractions and touristic areas.

We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay and your gym workouts. Since you are a fan of sports, maybe you will be interested to know that the Beirut marathon is happening this November if you might be inspired to join.

Thank you again for your honest review and for promoting Phoenicia Hotel, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon among us.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    87
    22
    4
    7
See reviews for
31
65
39
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

very fancy hotel, pefrect finishing, big rooms with fancy furniture and bathrooms. The amazing rooms are especially those with a see view ... it is very close to Hamra, the down town & ashrafieh where all the pubs, clubs & restaurants are!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Nicky025,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your recent stay in Beirut, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and ranked us as one of the best.

It is nice to read your recommendation of the hotel and the highlights of our rooms and location. We are lucky to be situated in the hub of the city and near the best areas and top attractions.
Next time if you want more details and places to visit, please pass by our Concierge desk and they will be more than glad to assist you.

Thank you again for your honest review and for promoting Phoenicia Hotel, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon among us.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Lebanon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The phoenicia Hotel in Beirut is areal luxury hotel with huge conferencing facilities, extremely elegant lobby, rooms, retaurants. the main restaurant (Mosaic) in addition of being very spacious and luxurious offers one of the best food buffets you can imagine . the hotel offers also a very beautiful SPA, an outdoor pool, a very professional business center, a kids club. in one word : my daughter felt as Cinderella !!!

Room Tip: all hotel rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Chawkat,

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure reading your post and the excellent descriptions you gave to the hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had an overall “Luxury” experience especially with your daughter.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcome you and your family back soon.

As they say in the Cinderella movie … “A dream is a wish your heart makes"

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice hotel but if you go for the rack rate rooms you ll be disappointed (small and view on the construction site behind the hotel).
Unless you are filthy rich you won't get a lot of attention but the personal is quite helpful and always smiles.
Beautifull pool and pool bar in summer, nice top floor bar. Beautifull spa and massages options.
The italian restaurant is ok but you ll find far better in town the top floor restaurant is also disappointing although it s a nice spot and the food is correct, once again better dining options outside.Breakfast is also far bellow expected standards.
My last stay was disappointing as evenhough I always come to this hotel uness fully book for 7 years they don't seams to appreciate it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear FRENCHBIZTRAVELER

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut, we appreciate your feedback and review. It is an honor to have you staying with us every time you visit Lebanon.

We honestly believe that your unfortunate experience is an exception to the service we are accustomed to offering as the Phoenicia Beirut is committed to providing guests with the highest quality of services and facilities but we will surely look in to all the details.

We tried to get in touch with you but it wasn’t possible, so we would appreciate if you can contact us as we would like to hear what went wrong during your stay especially regarding the breakfast and Eau De Vie as we always get perfect reviews about them.

We are happy to see you enjoyed the pool and spa packages; hopefully you will come back again to Phoenicia so that you can see what we are best known for.

Again, let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your loyalty throughout 7 years and stay assured that your comments will not go unnoticed and corrective actions will be taken.

Thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut. looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

EXCELLENT *****
This was my first time staying in this Hotel, but not first visit to Beirut, I tried before other Hotels but this one was the best, actually you have all luxuries 5 star hotel for less money.

Room Tip: I was in the main Hotel Building facing the pool area and i could still see a bit of Sea view, it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear janet b,

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure reading such an excellent post that describes in few words an outstanding experience.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Phoenicia Hotel and had a pleasant holiday.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I want to be fair to this hotel as it is luxury. There is no doubt that from top to bottom, this is a lovely hotel if you really like the old world luxury; this is your place. So on the many positives; the rooms are well appointed, great bathrooms, lovely Occitane toiletries, all the bits and pieces you need included for a wonderful stay. There was a tray of fruit left in my room my second night and a call left on my voicemail from the manager to check to see if my stay was going well. The staff are lovely. There is a 24 hour gym and a lovely pool open quite late. A spa, business facility and the breakfast is just about the best I had anywhere (but, you must note that if not included, it is $34). The hotel is expensive, so be mindful before signing multiple items. There is a hotel taxi service but it is about 2-3 times more than waiving down a taxi outside. If you take a taxi, solo, to most spots, it is 10,000 LBP. If a service, shared, it is 2000. You can negotiate without Arabic but be clear that you are not going to pay more than standard rate and, importantly, have exact change so that you are not hassled for more money or have to negotiate to get change back. Taxi drivers in Lebanon are not great so be careful. Some will be honest, but many more will take advantage. In terms of a hotel pick up, it was arranged for me to be picked up by the hotel and that was excellent. As soon as you exit beyond passport control, you walk out and straight in front of you are 3 hotel counters, of which Phoenicia is one and my name was clearly marked just above. Nice car and driver. So the reason for the 2* for sleep; 2 things. Firstly, this area of Beirut is party central just outside of the window and THE most popular spot for weddings which seem to happen every night. Now the wedding in the hotel is fine as they happen below and it is fine. But the ones outside near St George Bay are ridiculous. Add to this, the Fri/Sat clubbing and the noise is outrageous. So if you are facing the sea, be prepared NOT TO SLEEP. On the Saturday night, the music went off around 2:30 a.m. and on Sunday, just after 1 a.m. Please note that this is not the kind of noise you only hear if you are noise sensitive, this is disco in your room kind of noise that is ridiculous. Either the hotel cannot do anything about it or they have enough traffic that they don't care. I was offered a new room on the other side but it was too late for me to want to switch. But if you insist on staying here, decide if you want to deal with street noise and front of hotel noise (I am not sure what that is like) or the music....or stay elsewhere. A friend was staying at the Rotanda G and whilst not as posh, she slept so well! U decide....As for other things, you are very close to the Corniche (sea) and not too far from Hamra (great area) and the very awful Souq (they took these lovely buildings down and built the equivalent of a mall so if new European stores are your thing, this is the place). So location is good.

Room Tip: Read above, make clear you want to be in a QUIET room and not near where the all night music plays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear CavKA,

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut, we appreciate your feedback and review.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found all the facilities and services to be up to the standards and expectations. We always aim to satisfy our guests and it is a great pleasure to get direct feedback which we communicated to our colleagues.

In regards to the price of the Taxi, please stay assured that your comments were noted and usually our prices differ because the taxis we use are safer, cleaner and with well serviced drivers. Nevertheless, we regularly do market comparisons to ensure our partners are in line with the market but we will surely pass on these comments to them.

On another note, we were concerned to hear about the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay with us regarding the outside noise, for which we would like to apologize. Please stay assured that your feedback has been communicated and solutions will be suggested. But as you mentioned the noise is from outside the hotel so it is not within our control. Nevertheless, we will make sure that during your next visit you stay in a room on the other side.

One again, thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your recommendation. We are hoping to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Phoenicia Hotel really did live up to it's reputation as one of the finest luxury hotels in Beirut. The staff were friendly, the rooms luxurious and comfortable, and the service superb. This was my first time staying in this hotel and I found it to conform to the quality and standards of Intercontinental 5 star hotels. There is one small note however. The A/C in the room was ok but did not cool as much as I needed it to. Beirut is fairly hot and humid this time of year, and it could get uncomfortable without proper cooling. To be fair though, I prefer really really cool A/C temperatures. So this might not really be a problem for most people. But to sum up, overall I really enjoyed my stay and would definately stay there next time I visit Beirut.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear bash123_12,

You are very kind, thank you for this great review and for sharing your experience. We are delighted to know that you chose Phoenicia Hotel for your first visit to Beirut and you enjoyed your stay.

We were especially pleased to read your comments regarding the staff, service and facilities which we shared with the team.

Thank you for highlighting the A/C matter, we are looking closely at the issue with the engineering team and solutions will be advised, but thank you for mentioning that.

We truly appreciate you recommending our hotel and we are waiting your next visit to welcome you back among us.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Hotel

Address: PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#3 Family Hotel in Beirut
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#4 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Phoenicia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with its majesty and grandeur, Phoenicia InterContinental stands proudly at the heart of Beirut, a few minutes from the city’s business and banking district, the major shopping areas and the vibrant downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Phoenicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenicia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.