We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamra Main Street | Taj Tower Building, Beirut 113-7512, Lebanon   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Kuwait City
1 review
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

LOcation great, service fantastic and the most important THE STAFF is something else. Specially the staff of the 19 floor (Executive Club): the common name: hospitality. Location is great, next to very nice restaurant and bars. Traffic: yes but Who's care. Amazing Gym next door and good shopping area.

Room Tip: try executives floor (Crowne Plaza Club)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FadySawaya, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Hotel for your recent stay in Beirut. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Guests’ satisfaction is our main priority, we do this by combining the very best facilities with great services from a dedicated team.

Looking forward to the opportunity of serving you in the near future.

Best regards,

Fady Sawaya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    112
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
32
24
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I've been coming to Beirut two or three times a year for the past five years and staying at the Crowne Plaza each time. The service has always been good, but the standard has definitely gone up under the current manager, Fady Sawaya. Of course, it's the staff that makes or breaks any hotel, and the members of the Crowne Plaza staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I should also say that, on my most recent trip, I was especially impressed that the hotel is strictly enforcing the national no-smoking law. What a pleasure to eat and relax in a smoke-free environment! There are some outstanding hotels in Beirut, but for the combination of price, service and location, it's hard to beat the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: As for a balcony room on an upper floor for a view of the Mediterranean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FadySawaya, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Beirut during you recent visit to Lebanon.

I forwarded your compliments to the entire team letting them know that their hard work and services are really appreciated from our guests. We strive to provide all our guests with the highest standards of personal care and attention, something we would not be able to offer without the dedication of our staff in the pursuit of excellence.

Thank you again for choosing Intercontinental Hotels Group and we 're looking forward to the opportunity of serving you in the near future.

Best regards,

Fady Sawaya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is my 2nd trip to Beirut and Crowne Plaza.I checked in the hotel on 19 september 2012 and out on 22 september 2012,it was an easy process,by the nice front office team.The room is very pleasant ,clean with comfortable bed and furniture ,on the 12th floor where the mideterranian view is great.The hotel located in Al Hamra The most lifelike part of the charming beirut,where the shops, libraries,restaurants and cafes are just one iota from you.I can easily walk for shopping and eating.The corniche is not far from the hotel ,so I enjoyed a walk, before sleep, up to the" Rawsha" the most famous rock of Beirut sea,every night.The hotel staff members are very cooperative and helpful.I am looking forward to be there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FadySawaya, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your valued review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Beirut Hotel and we 're looking forward to welcoming you back again. Crowne Plaza's team will be at your full disposal anytime you visit Beirut.

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Hotels Group.

Best wishes,

Fady Sawaya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My first business trip to Beirut and I was booked into this hotel. Nothing left to be desired: nice room, excellent catering service, perfect organization of the technical infrastructure. Location is right in the center of a lively neighborhood, many bars and restaurants, on one of the main roads of the city. Five minutes by taxi to downtown.
In the restaurant, try the local specialties - they are really delightful. Very motivated and helpful staff - all multilingual.
The only drawback: the hotel is not easily reachable by car during rush hours due to traffic jams.

Room Tip: High floors, overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FadySawaya, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your valued review.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time in Crowne Plaza Beirut and you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your great comments onto our wonderful team.

Looking forward to welcoming you again and wishing you all the best in your business.

Best regards,

Fady Sawaya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I checked in Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut on 11th September 2012. It was my first visit to Beirut. The hotel was located in lively bustling district of Al Hamra not far from American University Beirut and Downtown,

The hotel staff was very friendly and two nice rooms were given on 19th floor with a fantastic view of the Mediterranean. Initially the reservation was for only two nights and I had plans to move to another hotel which was offering lower rates than the Crowne Plaza. The General Manager Mr Fady greeted me and he offered me to continue my stay with massive discount on the 19th floor and full facilities of club lounge. Mr Ellie Ibrahim finalised the deal. He was a gentleman

I was very impressed by the staff in the Club Lounge. I can not forget very polite and cordial attitude of them. Ghatas was very nice and thorough gentleman and so was Antoine who was also extremely friendly and I used to speak French with him which, in fact, improved my French language. Marwa and Bianca were also staff members working the lounge and I would say all of the staff working in Club Lounge were very professional, polite and friendly. I wish them success in future.

Crowne Plaza was really ideal place to live in with excellent staff and the breakfast was sumptuous served in Vivaldi restaurant.

We took a day tour on the advice of Ghattas. The coach was very comfortable and it took us through mountains to Balbek valley and visited Roman archaeological sites and then had a nice lunch in Zahle. It was very nice tour.

Beirut was really a beautiful city. Downtown area was razed to ground by Israelis in seventies.. Rafik AL Hariri transformed it to one of the most modern areas in the world. It was spotless and not far from there was Zaitooney Bay with a beautiful marina and Four Seasons Hotel and Phoenicia Intercontinental and St George on the waterfront.
The Holiday Inn hotel with thousands of holes created by incessant firing and shelling from Israelis and warring militia was a living testimony to the painful era which Beirut suffered in seventies.

The Lebanese are very proud people and have come a long way from the traumatic period of civil war in seventies and have realised that both Moslems and Christians have to live in peace side by side.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FadySawaya, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant Lebanese experience on Tripadvisor and with the travel community.

We are so delighted to know that you have enjoyed everything during your stay with us starting with our ideal location in the authentic and dynamic Hamra street, our services, Vivaldi’s breakfast and the tour to Baalbeck and Zahle advised by Ghattas. I recommend you as well for your future visit to visit the captivating Grotto of Jeita, one of the largest natural caves in the world, Byblos with its Phoenician port, Beiteddine, Deir el Qamar, the Cedars and many touristy places that Lebanon can offer. Lebanon is a promising tourist destination with a rich diversity of offerings designed to appeal to all sorts of travel enthusiasts.

Thank you again for choosing Crowne Plaza Beirut and we are all at your full disposal anytime you plan to visit Beirut again.


Best of Luck,

Fady Sawaya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Crown Plaza in Beirut has an amazing staff as well friendly always helping you with making your stay as enjoyable as possible (whether at the front desk, the lounge, or the restaurant, etc.) the staff members always make you feel at home always checking if you need anything at all attending to your needs, taking the time to build a friendly and sincere friendship with you helping you around the clock like tony, marwa, mostafa, and maroon. As well as the view it offers of the Mediterranean sea for it stretches out as far as your eyes can see it. As for transportation if ever needed to anywhere their services are always available around the clock.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have an outstanding view of the Mediterranean sea and the area around it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FadySawaya, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your valued review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Beirut Hotel.
We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standards of services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Fady Sawaya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

In fact I wrote previously my review about Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut, this time I would like to acknowledge and thank the great, professional and outstanding team (reception, front desk, restaurant team, etc) they are very helpful, friendly and try in all way to give you the feel that you are at your home. Special thanks to Bassem the front desk young man, he is great in doing his job, Belal the night manager very friendly and helpful he kept my passports in safe when I forgot them in the safety box after checking out. Restaurant staff very kind and keep looking after us all the time. Thanks to Fady Sawaya the GM for his touchable efforts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FadySawaya, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valued review with all on Tripadvisor.

When reading your review, me and all my team, we felt so happy to see you rating us this year better than your last review in 2011. Your review reflects what a great job & great change the team has done and also recognizes all efforts.

Once again, thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Beirut hotel. Please feel free to contact me for your next reservation or any information or help you may need in Lebanon in the future.

Best of luck,


Fady Sawaya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut

Address: Hamra Main Street | Taj Tower Building, Beirut 113-7512, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Beirut
#17 Business Hotel in Beirut
#24 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Beirut is an exclusive five-star property located in heart of Beirut’s business and shopping area. Adjacent to reputable boutiques retail shops, Food Court, coffee shops, Beauty Parlors, Libraries, Banks and 5 minutes away from the seafront promenade. The hotel is Less than 10 km away from Beirut International Airport and 4 km away from Beirut International Exhibition Center & newly rebuilt elegant downtown Area of Solidère.190 newly renovated rooms and suites all overlooking Hamra main Street equipped with the latest facilities, in-room amenities and wireless Internet. 25 Crowne Plaza Club rooms and 13 suites all have spectacular Mediterranean sea view and a dedicated Club Lounge with private lounge and reception. Crowne Plaza Beirut has 9 designated locations for conferences and seminars. All have natural daylight, dedicated Executive Boardroom, Business Center, WIFI internet access and equipped with the latest state of art audiovisual equipment. We are considered the largest & most extensive conference facilities in Beirut and able to accommodate groups from 10 up to 600 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.