We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Decent Indian food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al-Hindi

Al-Hindi
Ain El Mreisseh | Warwick Palm Beach Hotel, facing Saint George beach, Beirut, Lebanon
+961 1 372 000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 540 Restaurants in Beirut
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Decent Indian food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Since we live in Beirut, we have been to this restaurant several times. It is located in the Palm Beach Hotel, which is just opposite the Corniche. The food served here has ranged from excellent to average! Clearly, consistency in the issue. Among the starters, the harabhara kabab is our favourite. My daughter loves the chicken lollipops too. There are about six to seven vegetarian curries/dals on the menu. Most of them are good, albeit oily. The nans and the rotis are also tender.
Tips:
The place is not crowded. So one can always walk in and expect to find a table.
Everything is slightly oily, so order less.
Vegetarian dishes cost around 10 dollars per dish, while the non-vegetarian ones are priced at nearly 27 dollars.
Expect to pay around 20 dollars per person (excluding wine/drinks).
Rotis are not always available and they don't do roomali rotis.
All in all, Al Hindi can be a good gastronomic experience, provided the chef is in a good mood that day:))

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Anything except Indian”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Neither the mood, neither the food neither the service............. In one word nothing worth trying this establishment. A pure disappointment............ NO FLAVOR.... Where are the spices.... where are the indian aromas????

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Indian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This restaurant is in The Palm Beach Hotel, It is by far in my experience the best most accommodating of Indians. They will really spice it up for you and even make things, If they have the ingreidients that are not on the menu! Try very spicey Lamb Jalfreizi its excellent ! Naan bread is also the best I have eaten in a long time, also they have a mango chutney - you need to ask for this which is delicious! Well worth a visit. We have made it our Friday night regular!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Closest to Indian food outside India/the GCC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Been to the restaurant a twice during my 3 week stay in Beirut to get my fix of Indian food. There is no need to make a reservation as the restaurant seems to be fairly empty on weekdays and decently occupied over weekends. The ambience is pleasant, prices reasonable (USD10 to 15 a main dish) and now for the food...
- stick to the basics, i.e. butter chicken (sweetish but pretty good) and chicken tikka masala (spicy - even by Indian standards) and thou shall not be dissappointed.
- go exotic, i.e kebabs / lamb dishes and thou shall be dissappointed - if you benchmark against Indian food offered in India/Dubai. You are in Lebanon, and its harsh to compare it with what we get back in Dubai/India.
- Biryani - its more a pullao with chicken thrown in so do not expect a biryani in its true form.
- Preffered the roti over the naan as the naan was too thick for my liking.

Overall - given the options availabale, I would recommend it for decent Indian food and would go back when I am back in Beirut.

I have been once to the 'posher' Moti Mahal at Zaitounay Bay and close to Al-Hindi, which is comparatively steeper (main dishes start at USD22), but the food is nothing to write home about... For food, it is Al-Hindi for me.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al-Hindi also viewed

 

Been to Al-Hindi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al-Hindi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.