We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Cosmopolitan Hotel - Beirut” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmopolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Cosmopolitan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cityrama, Horsh Tabet, Dekwaneh, Beirut, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cosmopolitan Hotel - Beirut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is very special. It is not the most luxurious property in which I have ever stayed and it is not the most conveniently located, it suffers from occasionally unreliable internet but it is without doubt the most genuinely friendly and welcoming. As our stay progressed the staff gave every impression of loving their work and always made time for a friendly conversation as we departed on and arrived from various visits and excursions. Nothing was too much trouble and when one of us fell ill the whole team at the Cosmopolitan reacted with genuine concern in the manner of close friends. The room rate for a capacious junior suite was super competitive, the room was impeccably clean with a huge and comfortable bed. Ghina made me feel welcome before I had even arrived though her courteous and helpful mails signed off in special Cosmopolitan style. Top marks to housekeeping who created order out of chaos on a daily basis. The smiling restaurant staff presided over an inclusive breakfast which was simple but generous and fresh. The front desk team led by Eleana were all absolutely out of this world and could offer staff training in customer focus at a lot of the more prestigious hotels I have stayed in. I can’t recommend The Cosmopolitan highly enough for those want an excellent value base from which to explore the fascinating city of Beirut and who want to experience true Lebanese hospitality.

Room Tip: I was able to upgrade very reasonably to a very spacious junior suite, with a large window overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoBeirut, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Paul,

We couldn't thank you enough for your heartwarming review. Our Hotel is a family business, and we try hard to instil a family atmosphere in our culture, and your review confirms that we are being able to achieve this. We are in a people's business, and your naming of our team members is the best proof of that.
We do however apologise about the unreliable internet. This is part of the unfortunate reality of Lebanon, and though we're trying hard to have a constant reliable internet connection, all we can do is be patient, and we're generally back online within a fair time.

Thanks again for choosing The Cosmopolitan Hotel, and delighted we managed to meet your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
11
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Visited Beirut for the first time ever and we couldn't have had better accommodation! Huge rooms, affordable mini bar, really nice pool and best of all, Table tennis tables:)
For any band or civilian out there we can gladly recommend staying at the Cosmopolitan Hotel if you're visiting Beirut!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoBeirut, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel. We were delighted to have had you among us, and that we succeeded in meeting your expectations. As a band, you surely travel around quite often, and we hope that we were able to make you feel at home.
Hope we'll have the pleasure to have you as our guests again some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Good location, with spacious and comfortable rooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel rates represent very good value and I would definitely stay there again and recommend it for business travellers. I have just one request - can we have better lights in the bathroom though please :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoBeirut, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear M. MC,

Thank you very much for your review! We're very happy to have met your expectations, and look forward to having you as our guest during your next trip to Beirut, with our improved lights in the bathrooms (yes, we've already taken action on that, thank you for the hint!).
All the best from your Cosmopolitan Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melmak
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The rooms are quite ok, clean and functional, very good beds, only the lighting in the bathrooms is absolute poor.

The hotel as such is off the main spots for visitors, but if you have buisiness to do in the area, especially in Hazmieh or in Sin-el-Fin as such, it can be a good choice in terms of value for money.

Breakfast has improved quite a bit during the last months, but could still be better. The menu for restaurant and room service is still as poor as always.

The internet is really deplorable - off and on constantly, unstable, nonsense error message when trying to log in and other troubles - frustrating if you have to work there!

What is a strong point in favor is the very friendly staff (especially Eliana and the girls in the restaurant, but also the manager) who provide you with a friendly environment that makes up for quite many deficiencies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoBeirut, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear M. Alf_from_Melmak,

We would first like to thank you for having taken the time to provide us with your input on our Hotel, especially since we seem to have had the pleasure to have you as our guest on more than one occasion. We would also like to thank you for your loyalty, and apologize for having fallen short of your expectations.
We have definitely taken note of your positive comments, but what we would like to answer you on are obviously the weak points that you have pointed out.
We're happy that you have noticed some improvement in our breakfast offering, and rest assured that this is only the beginning. We have coupled our efforts when it comes to food, and will soon be introducing a new menu for both the restaurant and room service, while continuing the improvements made to the breakfast. With that, we hope that we will manage to meet, if not exceed, your expectations, and look forward to hearing from you on this if we have the pleasure to host you again during your next trip to Beirut.
Finally, we should definitely find a solution for your internet troubles! Although internet in Lebanon is not very reliable, it is very likely that the problem that you have been facing comes from a compatibility/settings matter between your machine and our wireless network, as you've been our guest on more than one occasion, and chances of internet being down on a national level every time you're in town are rather slim. If you face the same problems next time, please do point it out to us and our team will do its best to help you find a solution.
Summer is just around the corner here in Beirut, so we hope we'll get the chance to have you amongst us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Went back to the Cosmopolitan a year after first visit - was another good stay, and will certainly go back there again. Very convenient location for business meetings in Sin El Fil, Dora etc, good value with large beds, breakfast and wireless Internet included in room rate and use of gym and pool facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoBeirut, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Mrs. Fifi_banana,

We're very pleased to have had the pleasure of having you as our guest a second time. A returning guest is a satisfied guest, and we're lucky to often see familiar faces, and work hard to see them smiling, again :)

Looking forward to see your smile on your next visit to Beirut!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great hotel, in a really good location. Lots of facilities and great spacious rooms. Would definitely recommend! Nice views and very good service from reception. For my first time ever in Lebannon was a great help to have english speaking staff and helpful too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoBeirut, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear M. AliceJamesMusic,

We're very happy to hear to have been of service to you on your first trip to Beirut. We'd also like to thank you for providing us with your feedback about your stay at our Hotel, as this gives us a base in our constant efforts for improvement.
Hope we'll have the pleasure to have you again as our guest on your next visit to Beirut!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed for few days in this hotel, and it was a very nice stay. Great welcoming staff and great room, big, clean and very comfortable (massive bed !). Swimming pool and gym included in the price. I recommend this hotel !

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoBeirut, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear M. Fabidee,

We're delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel, and we thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, as we believe this is the best way for us to gauge our performance and improve, whenever necessary.
Looking forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Beirut.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Address: Cityrama, Horsh Tabet, Dekwaneh, Beirut, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.