We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“My stay @ La Maison” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison De Hamra

Save Saved
You added La Maison De Hamra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Maison De Hamra
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hamra | Omar Bin Abdel Aziz Intersection, Beirut 961, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 Beirut B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My stay @ La Maison”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Great location, arrived at 4.30am in morning but they did not charge me for that 'night' as would have happened in most hotels elsewhere in the world, friendly helpful staff, put in extra bed in suite for small extra charge (for my daughter), room clean, bit noisy (but that's Hamra St!) ask them to organise collection @ airport and request Kassem (best taxi driver in Beirut, no - in the world!) who is available for by trip/by hour/by day/as you like, his pitch is just outside the hotel so always available, loads of shops (if that's your scene), creperia around the corner (out the door, left, right @ lights, its 50M on right) is a must for breakfast (trad brekie for me & da missus, creps/nutella/strawberries for my daughter, v reasonable price. Great place for street photography, if that's your gig.

Room Tip: Request room away from street/traffic/noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
5
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Let's see: it's in the heart of the bustling Hamra district. Ignore the shops (horrid merchandise) but check out the dining scene. Just steps from the doorway are multitudes of options including a new Cafe Younis. It has free WiFi. It has kitchenettes (yes, you can cook and eat in your room, should the mood strike). It has a huge flatscreen TV, excellent shower, comfortable bed, accommodating staff.... They even got one of their favorite taxi drivers to chauffeur me on a sidetrip to Byblos. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We booked this hotel through booking.com, but unfortunately due to work commitments we had to cancel. We cancelled through booking.com a month before we were due to stay. We have an email from them to prove it.
Unfortunately when we received our credit card statement the hotel had charged us the full amout of the stay we didn't have, over $500. We contacted booking.com, provided the credit card statement as proof, plus the confirmation of cancellation we had received. They contacted La Maison de Hamra. The hotel firstly claimed that we had not been charged, now they claim that they have refunded us the money, but it has not been refunded. Booking,com tells us that they have asked them for proof of refund but it is not forthcoming.
Do not book this hotel as you could very well end up in the same situation as us.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My boyfriend and I stay at La Maison de Hamra in September 2011 for 10 days. After a rather eventful taxi trip there (I learned that taxi drivers in Lebanon don't use street names, but rather locations, so ask them to drop you by the Starbucks on Hamra street, which is opposite) I was totally relived to find such a little gem in the middle of busy Hamra.

We stayed in the Junior Suite which was ample in size and had a generous balcony. The kitchen was great although it was underequipped - we ate our breakfast cereal out of mugs as their were no bowls! The fridge came in really handy though for copious bottled water consumption.

The appartment was cleaned daily and was spotless. The decor is very modern. Other on Trip Advisor have complained about the noise from the street but to be honest, I didn't have a bad night's sleep.

There is free wifi but you have to ask for a new code each day at reception. They'll probably get that sorted out soon. The concierge was friendly and helpful.

The location is really central - you can get to everywhere from central Hamra.

I would definitely recommended La Maison de Hamra and would stay there again if we go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. I booked it online, check in was ok except for a little argument about the rate and taxes (they wanted to add 10% tax to my rate).
The hotel is directly in Hamra street which is the center of everything in Beirut. The room was so clean and well furnished. The only thing I didnt like about the room is that the light switches are only near the door and so you had to get out of bed to turn on/off

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

La Maison de Hamra is a really nice apartment hotel in the heart of Beirut.
The rooms are very clean and they are nicely decorated with top modern design furniture.
The location is great, as the neighbourhood of Hamra is becoming nowadays the place to be.
Only negative point: it gets really really noisy in the morning. Make sure you have a room not facing the main street, otherwise wear earplugs at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

You couldn't get a much better location than this if you want to be where the action is. Dead centre in Hamra and surrounded by fashion shops and restaurants.
Reasonably quiet considering the location, and with really great bed and small balcony french windows that open-plus aircon.
Multiple TV channels, very strong wifi, and a small kitchenette for simple meals or drinks.
Obliging front desk and a good-value rate for the base room, which though small, has all the features in the right places and is very chic in decoration.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison De Hamra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison De Hamra

Address: Hamra | Omar Bin Abdel Aziz Intersection, Beirut 961, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison De Hamra 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hamra, La Maison de Hamra is at a walking distance from all restaurants and shops. You can wander in the city enjoying the busy, full of life streets. It also provides you with easy access to downtown Beirut’s night life and entertainment.Different rooms are tailored to meet your specific needs. All apartments are equipped with luxurious furniture, plasma TVs, individually controlled heaters and air conditioners, laundry and wifi services. Room cleaning is available on a daily basis. La Maison de Hamra is ideal for individuals or families who want to be in the heart of Beirut. We guarantee you a safe staying and an outstanding hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Maison De Hamra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison De Hamra Hotel Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison De Hamra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.