We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Ten days at Le Gray” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gray Beirut

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Gray Beirut to your Saves list
Le Gray Beirut
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Martyrs' Square | Central Beirut District, Beirut 1107, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ten days at Le Gray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was planning on initially staying in Beirut for 4 days during my last trip in December, and for various reasons I ended up staying over 10 days. Normally I would have checked out of my hotel on the 4th day and stayed maybe with family or even with a friend but for some reason I could not do so. The hotel in the heart of Downtown is really a gem, the staff are so well trained and so attentive that no request proved too much. The food was particularly tasty and well presented and they offer all the traditional Lebanese items as well as many Western comforts.
The thing that struck me the most was the attention to detail in everything the hotel executes, from the wake up calls in the morning, to the way reception answers the phone to the room service and the car that takes you to the airport. This is the only hotel I have stayed at in Beirut that checked if the Alfa taxi driver knew where my family's house was before I got in.
The next time I come to Beirut I will ask to stay once again at Le Gray and even if it is for a night or 10 I know I will be very well looked after.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana E, General Manager at Le Gray Beirut, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Tarek Y,

I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review on trip advisor, and for the wonderful comments about the staff which I have passed to everyone. We constantly strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and it is always rewarding when it is recognized.

We look forward to welcome you to Le Gray the next time you visit Beirut.

Kind regards,

Rana K. El-Khoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    51
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
87
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in many five stars boutique hotels around the world and all I can say is that Le Gray Beirut is most certainly worth the detour. We LOVED it!! The location is perfect for visiting the city and the surroundings. Our room was spacious and very comfortable - it offered a lovely relaxing feel. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful - they've sorted us out wonderfully and made us feel that nothing was too much to ask for.
We would definitely recommend Le Gray to anyone who is looking for an enjoyable and memorable stay in Beirut.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana E, General Manager at Le Gray Beirut, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear MrsP280110,

I would like to thank you for staying with us in December and especially for leaving this lovely comment on trip advisor.
I am thrilled to know that we have contributed in making your stay in Beirut a memorable one.

My team and I look forward to welcome you back to Le Gray in the near future,

Kind regards,

Rana K. El-Khoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you're a picky traveler who is accustomed to five and six star boutique hotels, then the Le Gray is your only (and BEST) option in Beirut. From the speedy and helpful service to the hotel's beautiful design, central location and wealth of amenities, Le Gray is all around excellent. The concierge is very informative and able to handle any type of request from restaurant reservations to helping you find a suitcase at the last minute. We especially loved Nancy and Firas at the front desk who were always great and went above and beyond to make sure that we were taken care of. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Beirut!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana E, General Manager at Le Gray Beirut, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear CaliGirlSAS,

Thank you so much for leaving this great review following your stay at Le Gray earlier this month.
I am mostly thrilled to see that you were extremely satisfied from our services and I cannot tell you how much Nancy and Firas are happy to see their names mentioned here! It is the best reward for their hard work indeed.

Thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you back to Le Gray very soon,

Kind regards,

Rana K. El-Khoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Fantastic "boutique" hotel in a great location with high quality fixtures and fittings, and really nice little touches in the room and around the hotel. Excellent service with very helpful staff. Small but perfectly formed pool and roof deck for sunbathing, with other separate areas for drinks and meals.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana E, General Manager at Le Gray Beirut, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Howard234,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your stay at Le Gray. It is always rewarding for the team to receive such positive observations, especially on their level of service.

I look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Beirut.

With kind regards,

Rana K. El-Khoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Every time I come to Beirut I stay at le Gray and I would not stay anywhere else. It is the best hotel in Beirut. It is modern, beautifully designed, the rooms are huge but cosy at the same time. It is discreet but welcoming and the food is great. The service is outstanding and the staff has a solution to any request. If le Gray is full, I simply don't come to Beirut.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana E, General Manager at Le Gray Beirut, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Calarr,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind feedback of your recent stay at Le Gray.
I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the service and how much you liked all aspects of the hotel including the food and the rooms.
It will be a pleasure to share your comments with the team.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future and wish you a happy New Year.

With kind regards,

Rana K. El Khoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Chic boutique hotel with great access to the city. Lovely rooms with top notch service. The staff was warm, inviting, and helpful. The concierge did a great job planning our evenings. Be sure to have at least one dinner in the hotel to take advantage of the gorgeous views of Beirut. This was a great base to explore this chic city and the rest of Lebanon. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana E, General Manager at Le Gray Beirut, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Tgh60660,

I would like to thank you for staying at Le Gray during your visit to Beirut earlier this year, and especially for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on trip advisor.

It is always gratifying to know that what we strive to accomplish and all the hard work and dedication of the team is recognized and appreciated.
We certainly hope to welcome you back in Beirut in the near future. Until then I wish you a very happy festive season and a peaceful New Year.


Kind regards,

Rana K. El Khoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

An excellent boutique hotel, unsurpassed service, amazing accommodations and excellent food.Everyone I encountered was very professional, very helpful,extremely courteous and went above and beyond what I asked for.The breakfast is delicious, the roof bar is a treat ,amazing view and spectacular service .I must thank Ali who took care of us around the clock always with a smile and Samar who brought our breakfast daily.The location of Le Gray is the best, a stroll to the best shopping dining or whatever else one might want or need.

Room Tip: The corner suite is amazing!Love love love it .Spacious and extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana E, General Manager at Le Gray Beirut, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Rhonaalice,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Le Gray on trip advisor.

It is very refreshing to see how much you enjoyed your time in Beirut and that we have contributed to make your stay even more enjoyable.

I will personally pass on your comments to the team especially Ali and Samar who will be thrilled to know their services have met your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back to le Gray in the near future,

Kind regards,

Rana K. El Khoury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Gray Beirut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gray Beirut

Address: Martyrs' Square | Central Beirut District, Beirut 1107, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#7 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#8 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Gray Beirut 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Gray, one of the finest five-star hotels in Beirut, is made up of 87 contemporary rooms and suites spread out over four floors. Many of the rooms can be interconnected for those travelling together. The architecture by Australian Kevin Dash ensures all rooms and suites are soaked in Mediterranean sun, while the central floor-to-ceiling, glass-topped atrium means the building is filled with light from the inside out. The contemporary, clutter-free interior design is by Mary Fox Linton in close collaboration with creator, Gordon Campbell Gray. The palette includes pastel shades of blue, sage green or lilac, with dark grey tile and mosaic bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Gray Beirut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Gray Beirut Hotel Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Gray Beirut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.