We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gray Beirut

Save Saved
You added Le Gray Beirut to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Gray Beirut
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Martyrs' Square | Central Beirut District, Beirut 1107, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 114 hotels in Beirut
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel has a good location close to the downtown.
Gym and Spa is a nice retreat. I would not recommend it to people who expect something quiet but on a contrary for those who like to party, many clubs are in a close proximity accessible on foot.
The room we had was beautiful, bathroom is spacious and a nice coffee machine available inside the room. The only thing I didn't like were the pillows but other then then very comfortable and many nice touches.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana E, Manager at Le Gray Beirut, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Lucie-siss,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for posting your lovely review on trip advisor.
I am glad you have appreciated our central location, our PureGray Health Club and Spa, and our special in rooms’ amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to le Gray in the near future,

Yours sincerely,

Rana K. El Khoury
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    44
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
83
16
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IssyMP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Le Gray for 4 nights with friends. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. They arranged day trips for us, entrance into night clubs and bars. Anything we needed. The hotel is near cool places for nightlife and interesting shops and a short stroll from the seafront. Beirut is an incredible city and there's loads to explore. Couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe H, General Manager at Le Gray Beirut, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear IssyMP,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your wonderful comments of Le Gray on trip advisor.

I am delighted to hear your positive comments about our employees. They are the reason of our success. In particular, I am glad our concierge team managed to make you discover all the known and not so known treasures Beirut has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to Le Gray in the near future,

Yours sincerely,

Christophe Hazebrouck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

the hotel was just perfect in every way-staff were happy,helpful,friendly & so welcoming.loved the buffet breakfast and the hotel's great location (10m away from the airport) definitely recommend this hotel and we'll be going back for sure :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe H, General Manager at Le Gray Beirut, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Andezian,

Thank you for staying with us this summer. It is great that you think of our hotel, its location, the staff and services as perfect; we could never wish for a better adjective to describe the hotel!

I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your experience at Le Gray, and really appreciated the fact that you took the time to log in your comments on trip advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Gray in the near future,

Yours sincerely,

Christophe Hazebrouck
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Through work I'm fortunate to stay at a lot of nice hotels round the world and this was up there with the best of them. The rooms were spacious and the bathroom also sizable. The in room wifi was quick and easily accessible. Breakfast on the rooftop was always a highlight. The gym contains everything you need and while you fear you might wash over the side of the rooftop pool, staying too long is your only worry. The service around the hotel was great and the location perfect. My only minor complaint would be the constant harassment of the taxi drivers out the front, however you'll put up with their spruiking knowing you're staying at one of the nicest hotels in the world.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe H, General Manager at Le Gray Beirut, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Murray S,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for complimenting Le Gray on trip advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive such encouraging comments especially when it is received by frequent travelers like yourself.

I am glad to know you appreciated our location and that you enjoyed our breakfast, gym and complimentary wifi access.
I am however sorry to hear that you were bothered by the main street taxis always hovering around the hotel, which is very annoying indeed. We have since added a security person outside and hope the situation improves in the near future.

I look forward to welcoming you back to le Gray in the near future,

Yours sincerely,

Christophe Hazebrouck
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaitape, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed for two nights at the Le Gray -- Pros: great infinity swimming pool, great location and access to anything worth seeing in Beirut, great in-room shower, and they also allowed us to check in early and check out late. Cons: good things don't come cheap, the beds were not that good, lots of dust under the bed, and most importantly the level of service (reception, concierge, etc...) which was variant with some staff (like George the concierge) being professional but very courteous while with some of the other staff, I felt that they were the guests and I was the employee. I'm not really picky or a snob but I do believe that a simple smile can take you places in the hotel business and it even some times make up for bad aspects at an establishment... All in all, I would come back for the swimming pool but would probably choose the Phoenicia Intercontinental hotel which offers a better (smiling!) service and almost the same location for basically the same price.

Room Tip: If you're willing to tolerate the noise, choose one overlooking the city street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe H, General Manager at Le Gray Beirut, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear GMR83Z,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.

I am glad to hear you appreciated our central location and enjoyed our rooftop swimming pool.

Please accept our apologies with regards to cleanliness issues you encountered during your stay. Kindly note that we are currently varnishing all our marble flooring in rooms, which will give them the spotless gleaming look once again.

I would be grateful if you could contact me directly on my email: Christophehazebrouck@legray.com in order to rectify some of the service inconsistencies rendered to you from our front line employees.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Le Gray,

Yours sincerely,

Christophe Hazebrouck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Le Gray in downtown Beiruth was one of the best hotel i've been.
The service is excellent. We had efficient car service from and to airport, the lobby hostesses are so kind and helpfull, the room was perfectly clean, furnished and widely spacious. The design is modern and nice. Amazing pool roof. We just find The Gray one of the best hotel ever.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe H, General Manager at Le Gray Beirut, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Bieler36,

Thank you for choosing Le Gray for your recent stay in Beirut and for taking the time to post your lovely comments on trip advisor.

It is very energizing to receive such a good review titled “Simply the best” that pledges our devotion to our guests.
Your comments are a recognition we are on the right path to guest excellence and a motivation to keep up the good work.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Le Gray,

Yours sincerely,

Christophe Hazebrouck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great hotel - staff were really great and everything was wonderful.
Would definitely stay there again. Excellent choice for friends, families, couples or solo business traveller. The rest is just to get to 200 characters.
great
great
great
great
great

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe H, General Manager at Le Gray Beirut, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear StuartC74,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for leaving your great review on trip advisor.

I am glad you have enjoyed everything Le Gray had to offer and in particular our staff, who I am certain will be encouraged by your lovely comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Le Gray in the near future,

Yours sincerely,

Christophe Hazebrouck
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Gray Beirut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gray Beirut

Address: Martyrs' Square | Central Beirut District, Beirut 1107, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#3 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#7 Business Hotel in Beirut
#7 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Gray Beirut 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Gray, one of the finest five-star hotels in Beirut, is made up of 87 contemporary rooms and suites spread out over four floors. Many of the rooms can be interconnected for those travelling together. The architecture by Australian Kevin Dash ensures all rooms and suites are soaked in Mediterranean sun, while the central floor-to-ceiling, glass-topped atrium means the building is filled with light from the inside out. The contemporary, clutter-free interior design is by Mary Fox Linton in close collaboration with creator, Gordon Campbell Gray. The palette includes pastel shades of blue, sage green or lilac, with dark grey tile and mosaic bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Le Gray Beirut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Gray Beirut Hotel Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Gray Beirut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.