My husband and I stayed in this hotel over New Years, and I have to say I was very unimpressed. We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor ratings-- It was listed as one of the top hotels in Beirut and had a nightly rate <$200. I rarely leave negative reviews, but felt I should post this to prevent other loyal TA users from making the same mistake.
Here are the reasons I am rating it as poor:
1. A couple months after booking the room, I arranged an airport pick-up via email. I confirmed once again via email a week before our trip. When we arrived, no one was there to pick us up. After waiting 15 min, I found a phone to call them and they told me it would be ~15 min more for them to get there. They had clearly forgotten us. We ended up taking a normal hotel taxi instead.
2. When we arrived to the hotel, it took over 30 min to check in. Our room was not ready and we had to wait 10 min before we could go up. They took our passports to copy and told us to sit down. They did not give us back our passports until my husband asked several times over ~20 min.
3. Limited hot water. 2/4 nights we were there, we had to take cold showers. The other 2 it was lukewarm. We called them one night to have it fixed, and they came up and told us it took awhile to warm up. We left the water on for 20 min, and it never got more than lukewarm.
4. They randomly would not replace things in the room. One day they only gave us 1 bath towel. Another day they forgot to give us a hand towel. They only gave us shampoo on the 1st and 2nd day.
5. Our room (#302) was supposed to be a "suite," but it was very tiny. You had to step over the toilet to get into the shower. The toilet seat and lid were broken, perhaps because people were stepping on it to get in the shower (?). It was also nearly impossible to shut the bathroom door once inside. The view outside the window was of a construction site. All we heard all day was the sound of the building next door being demolished.
6. It said on my reservation that a Wi-Fi internet station was included. There was free wi-fi in the lobby, but we were told the one in the room was extra.
7. We called them for a wake-up call before our flight, but they forgot. The did apologize when they called us to tell us our airport taxi had arrived.
8. I ordered a glass of red wine at the bar, and the glass I got was totally oxidized (dark brown). They did replace it after I asked.
9. We booked a room with a king bed, but it really was just two twins pushed together. The blanket didn't fully cover the whole bed.
10. The place was relatively clean, but there was some sort of sticky sludge on the table my husband put his bag on by accident.
11. Our key cards stopped working twice. When we asked them to reprogram them, they just asked the room number. They didn't confirm our names or anything.
To be fair, there were a few positives:
1. The style of the hotel was modern. There was nice artwork in the rooms compared to typical hotel art in this price range-- original oil on canvas than the typical
2. The location was near the sea which made it nice for walking. It is pretty far though from downtown and shopping.
3. The staff was nice and tried to be helpful, although they seemed inexperienced and absent-minded at times.
4. Breakfast was included, but it was nothing special.
Overall, I cannot recommend this hotel.
If you do choose this hotel, avoid room #302.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Valued Guest snsmith27,
Report response as inappropriate
Please allow us to express our deepest apologies to you and your spouse.
There is no excuse for the taxi not meeting you at the airport and I will personally follow up with the company to see why your request was overlooked. As with regards to your experience at our hotel, please allow me to address your concerns
Our standard check in time is 2 pm and you arrived at the hotel at 11:30 am. We were doing our best to check you in early, althought the room was not ready, we managed to check you in before noon. Still, we apologize for the misunderstanding and the inconvenience you experienced.
Due to the simultaneous high demand on hot water during the holidays some of the rooms were experiencing water temperatures that were not ideal. This heating issue is being resolved and extra water pumps will be installed urgently.
I looked back at our employee log for the house keepers that serviced your room and rescheduled them the necessary training. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We know that the washrooms in our standard rooms are somewhat small. We are working on future plans to expand them. However, I am unsure why you were under the impression that your room was a suite, since the reservation documents we received requested an executive room, not a suite. As for the demolition across the street, this is unfortunate but we can't do anything about it except increase the frequency of cleaning which we are doing; luckily, the rubble should be removed in a week's time.
Free WIFI is available in all the public areas of the hotel as stated on our website.
There is no excuse again and I am working very hard to make sure that this sort of mistake does not happen again to another guest.
Thank you for acknowledging the positive points about our hotel, and we appreciate that you took the time to share your experience, we take that as a reminder to continue with our efforts to provide the best service to every one of our guests.
Again, please accept my sincerest apologies and we hope that we can make it up to you during your next visit to Beirut.
Fidaa Chehayeb Wahab
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.