We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Old but perfectly located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Hotel Lebanon

Save Saved
You added Embassy Hotel Lebanon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makdessi Street - Facing LibanPost | Hamra, Beirut 2034-3503, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 114 Hotels in Beirut
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
7
22
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sulaymaniyah, Iraq
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

i stay there 3 night the location is very good with good value for money but the service is very bad especially the there is salt water in the bathroom its very Disappointing
location: 7/10
clean: 3/10
value for money: 7/10
service: 2/10
comfort: 3/10
staff: 5/10

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times and never had a problem. The staff is nice and the rooms are straightforward and very simple. The bathrooms leave you a bit wanting, but are definitely clean. The location is great in Hamra, but I have since discovered that there are better value hotels in the same area.

Room Tip: Try to get the side facing inside the block. The rooms over the road are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Embassy Hotel is really great, who ever wants to have a perfect price-benefit ratio will feel comfortable there. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms also. The staff of the Hotel is friendly, competent and reliable, they help as much as they can - and they can alot!

The location is great also - if you are there for business or as a tourist, the central Hamra location is perfect. Restaurants and bars are just a few footsteps away.

I was now a couple of times there - and will come again, thats for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I walked into the hotel without prior notice, they charged 88$ per night! Which doesnt include anything else except the room itself. Staff was one old lady at the desk.

I had only Saudi money with me so they kept it at the desk till I was able to convert currencies the next day.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile


I felt sick from the bad smell in the room and I think they can put some money and effort to make it good for staying.
I spent 1 night is enough.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is by no means luxurious, but it offers reasonable rates in an absolutely fantastic location. Hotel staff is amenable and are happy to help you get around the city. Our room was clean and quite spacious.

If visiting in summer please bear in mind that although the rooms have AC, they don't have a backup generator, which means that there is no AC during blackouts

Note: Be cautious when arranging a transport through the hotel. Make sure that you have pre-agreed the price with the cab driver before starting each journey (and especially if you make changes to the itinerary). Even if you hire the same cab multiple days. Our driver attempted to increase the fare by 50% for the second day (even after we had agreed the price the previous evening).

Most locals advise that the average price to hire a cab for a day should be between 60 and 80 USD (with the absolute maximum at 100).

Room Tip: If you need a double bed make sure to confirm with the hotel in advance as there are few of these av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivelavie, General Manager at Embassy Hotel Lebanon, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you Jorge for taking the time to share on Trip Advisor your experience at the Embassy Hotel.
That means a lot to us..
Please note that our hotel has a BIG generator in order to come for rescue for unfortunately, tremendous energy power cuts that cover the whole of Lebanon..
However, last week was an exceptional case all over BEIRUT, where the whole of the city was plunged into blackout for nearly 48 hours.. and we could not help it letting our generator running non stop during all that time.. We've unfortunately, and exceptionally again, had to give it some small rest every 9 hours of running, in order not to breaking down..
Having said so, I'm happy that you've enjoyed your Beirut stay, and I'm happy to know that our staff was helpful..
I'll let them know that you've appreciated the stay..
Please, do not forget to come and visit us again on your next trip to beautiful Beirut, because we'd love to see you again soon..
Myrna N Serhal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Hotel Lebanon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Hotel Lebanon

Address: Makdessi Street - Facing LibanPost | Hamra, Beirut 2034-3503, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 114 Hotels in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Hotel Lebanon 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family hotel is a 10 minutes drive from Beirut Airport. Located in the center of Hamra Street in Beirut, in the middle of shopping, leisure, and business area. Minutes from beaches, internet cafes, restaurants, transportation facilities, universities... It has a lovely ground floor terrace and a pretty light-filled breakfast room. Breakfast free of charge for bookings of 7 nights or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Embassy Hotel Lebanon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Hotel Lebanon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.