We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Fantastic location, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Hotel Lebanon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Hotel Lebanon to your Saves list
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makdessi Street - Facing LibanPost | Hamra, Beirut 2034-3503, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Sioux City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights recently and thought it was great. If you're looking for luxury, keep looking, but if you want a small, clean room in a good location, the Embassy provides great value for the money.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the check in was smooth and easy. The room was on the small side with zero frills, but it was clean and featured a nice balcony overlooking a lovely garden. There was no closet, but there was a full-sized bureau to hang clothing. The bathroom was small, but clean.

The location is wonderful, on a fairly quiet street in the Hamra district, with easy walking to all sorts of fun restaurants and nightlife. You should note that the Hamra district, in general, is pretty loud, mainly from taxis and cars that honk their horns continually. While this did not disturb our sleep, if you're looking for a super-quiet location, keep looking.

I also highly recommend taking a trip to Byblos, the amazing ancient fort about 30 minutes outside of the city. A taxi can get you there for a reasonable price. Don't eat before you go -- there are a number of outstanding restaurants on site.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Embassy. We were just looking for a clean, inexpensive room to sleep, shower, and store our belongings while we explored the city. The Embassy provided this with no hassles. We would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street. Street noise in Beirut is awful at nearly all hours of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
7
23
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in the hotel, the perfect place to stay to be very close to Hamra shopping street, the hotel is very clean, and the view is not bad, rooms are neat and tidy, big wardrobe, staff are very friendly and cheerful, small hotel, but very value for money, and very close to Beirut center.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better, Left side rooms are sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Totally agree with the majority of reviews on the website. A budget option but clean and in a very good location. Hamra, where it is based, is obviously the new place to be, because just round the corner is a little street with lots of bars and hip lebanese youngsters.
Personally, I did not think it was that noisy for a room that faced the street (there are some that face inward). I was not kept awake at night.
My only complaint is that the shower was very weak and lukewarm. But my experience of similar countries to visit is that you do not get very good bathrooms in budget places - if you want to have a powerful hot shower, book yourself into a mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Embassy Hotel is not a fancy hotel. It is a very nice budget hotel. I recently traveled to Beirut, Lebanon for an academic conference on a limited travel budget. Embassy was perfect. The staff are all very helpful and many are multi-lingual. I believe all speak English. The staff were all very helpful, but the best of all is the hotel manager, Myrna N. Serhal. She helped me with many details of my trip before I even left the U.S.

Breakfast is nice. The rooms are small but have everything you need -- including a fridge that you can fill with groceries from a local grocery store just a couple of blocks away. Many, like mine, have a nice balcony.

Almost everyone takes USD, but remember the conversion rate. 1500 Lebanese pounds = 1 USD.

The hotel is located an easy walk to American University of Beirut, the corniche, and many downtown shops, restaurants, and clubs. If you're used to staying at western style more expensive hotels, you'll find some charming differences in this local hotel.

If you buy the internet card from IDM (through the hotel), I recommend the longer term cards for better value. One week unlimited access is only $40 USD and also works in other places where IDM is the ISP -- including the airport. Connection speed is a bit slow, but I think it is standard for that type of internet service. My colleagues at more expensive hotels had the same internet speed that I did. I was able to use my internet service at the airport while I waited for my departure plane. One other piece of advice. IDM service is for ONE device only. If you try to use it simultaneously for laptop and smartphone, it will lock up and it's a bit difficult to get going again -- but will eventually.

For the price it absolutely cannot be beat. Next time I'm in Beirut, I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The good point about this hotel is the price, compared to the otherwise rather high priced Beirut. Also the staff are friendly, and trying to be helpful, though not always able to help with the requests.

The rooms are small, with old furniture, an ancient locking system. Cleanliness is acceptable. Air condition works, although not too strong, but in Beirut the temperature is not that hot, so one can do with it.

What I found a bit astonishing is their policies about cancellations, and payment. You have to pay all in advance, with no option to change your plans in case you would leave earlier than expected. All incidentals are asked for in cash on the spot. So if you dont mind these things and are just looking for a place to sleep with a small budget, this is an option. It is most certainly nothing luxurious.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The hospitality was great and they were very helpful, the hotel is clean and fresh !! It's more a cozy hotel where you feel at home.
The location is very convenient middle of Hamra next to everything walking distance, the price is very competitive and reasonable ....
I enjoyed my stay :) would love to go back again..
Mais ..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Was disappointed with payment mode as due to some odd reason they could not allow me to use my credit card as the booking name and credit card name was slightly different.

Anyways, location is very good with Hamra Street nearby and plenty of Banks around. Do not expect too much from this hotel as it is a No Frills hotel which does not include breakfast and the fridge was plain empty.

Had problems with the AC (leaking at times) as the AC is quite old but it was still quiet for its age.

Overall, good for solo travel where you just want to sleep at night and are out the rest of the time..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Hotel Lebanon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Hotel Lebanon

Address: Makdessi Street - Facing LibanPost | Hamra, Beirut 2034-3503, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Hotel Lebanon 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family hotel is a 10 minutes drive from Beirut Airport. Located in the center of Hamra Street in Beirut, in the middle of shopping, leisure, and business area. Minutes from beaches, internet cafes, restaurants, transportation facilities, universities... It has a lovely ground floor terrace and a pretty light-filled breakfast room. Breakfast free of charge for bookings of 7 nights or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Hotel Lebanon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Hotel Lebanon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.