We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt - Can we check your room!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait

Save Saved
You added Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fahad Al-Salem Street | Safat, Kuwait City 13045, Kuwait   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 62 hotels in Kuwait City
Dubai
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Spoilt - Can we check your room!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed for 1 night in November 2012 on business, pleasant enough arrival and hotel car from the airport was very good. Hotel reception is a little tacky and the cheap laminate flooring does not help.

Staff are friendly and helpful, this was a positive.

Rooms are well below a 4 star rating I would agree with other reviews it is 3 stars at best and European 2 star. Rooms are really poor, grubby and very badly finished in terms of detailing. The toilet in my room was filthy and I had to smile at the "sanitised' band around the lid and seat. Obviously this is added by default as my toilet was far from sanitised.

Shower was very low pressure, I would advise any one in a hurry to use only a little shampoo as if you work up a lather it will take you 10 minutes to wash it out. I overheard a group of guests at breakfast sharing the same complaint, so it's not just one room.

Bed was comfortable and clean which I suppose is a positive as this is really where you spend 7 hours and the bathroom only 30 minutes.

I'm afraid the worst part of the stay for me was on leaving when I went down to check-out I was asked "do you mind waiting for a couple of minutes whilst we check your room"! This took me by surprise. I was dressed smartly in a shirt and tie, neat hair and clean shaven :). What were they expecting to find? I had slept in the bed and used the shower (took longer than planned due to low pressure). Was this extra?

Sorry but this is no way to treat guests, I explained it was a company booking and they had taken my credit card as a guarantee. I have stay in a couple of dozen Middle East hotels over the last 8 years and thank the Swiss-Belhotel for providing me with something I have never experienced before, the distrusting look and "can we check your room" comment. Choice.

It wasn't just me I found as the next guest was asked the same whilst I waited for the driver to take me to my meeting.

I gave the hotel average based on the overall experience as I did not want to allow the check-out comment to affect my review. Check-out comment included it would have 1 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post a review.
Kindly accept our apologize for any inconvenient experience you had with us during your stay; kindly be informed that necessary action has been taken to address your concern. Please note that our property is under renovation but majority of our rooms has been refurbished with modern facilities that our guest will surely enjoy.



Best regards,
General Manager
Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    22
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stay in this place for business, during Ramadhan. They have a very nice restaurant, you should try it. Its like Majelis in local houses. got a nice feeling on how it felt like to became an Arabic. Location wise, a bit hidden, below you will find shopping centre to get some food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Alexandre,

Thank you for taking time to post a review for our property.
We look forward to welcome you again in our hotel next time you visit Kuwait.

Best Wishes,
General Manager
Swis-belhotel Plaza Kuwait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at swiss Belhotel on a business trip for 2 nights. The hotel is centrally located near couple of malls with decent food options in the vicinity. It is a decent 4star hotel for a short stay though you can make out that it's old. The rooms are spacious and bathroom not too cramped. The hotel provides wifi access in rooms as well as open areas. It is an indoor pool and small gym with mainly treadmills. The staff is friendly and helpful. I would recommend it anyone who has to stay in Kuwait City for a short while and does not want to spend a lot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, E-commerce at Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your effort in taking your time to write a helpful review for our property.
We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit in Kuwait.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

...this place is ok for a night or two on business, but I wouldn't be inclined to use it for longer. The hotel has the sort of rooms where you are not surprised to find the classic iron burn on the carpet, and can't help but be slightly uneasy about the wiring and whether parts of the shower will fall off. It was also slightly amusing that the room had coffee-making facilities, but the kettle had a European two-pin plug (the hotel's outlets are actually UK-style 3-pin).

On the other hand, the restaurant facilities are good and the staff are very polite and friendly and if you plan to use your room only to sleep and are looking for a much lower cost than the 5 star chains, this is a reasonable option.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your effort to post a review for our hotel.
Please note that the owner and management continue seeking to offer the best service to our guest, in this regard, we are under process of refurbishing our rooms. We look forward to welcome you again.

Best wishes,

General Manager
Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Starting with the location, I would say its good specially with a mall connected to it. Staff were nice & friendly.

Otherwise, nothing is impressive about this hotel. The rooms are extremely dull with very old furniture. Carpets were filled with dirt stains and looked very disgusting.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time and effort to post a review for our property.

We value your comment , the management always take a necessary action to address any concern. Room renovation is on going ang majority was refurbished with new canvas that warm up and endow the calm senses of of our guest.

We look forward to welcome you again in your next stay in Kuwait.


Best wishes,
General Manager
Swiss-belhotel Plaza Kuwait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The staff were kind but not professional enough.

Breakfast buffet was fine and the food at the cafe was tasty with fresh juices all at very reasonable prices.

Convenient location in the city centre. Near 2 shopping centres including the luxury Salihya mall.

The rooms were a mixed bag. Good comforatble beds, newly renovated bathroom (however old toilet seat) but the carpet was stained and the lights by the bedside could not be independently operated so one cannot read without disturbing the other.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sales c, e-coomerce/sales coordinator at Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your views with the Trip Advisor community.

All of us are happy to know that you were pleased with the hotel location and the services
catered by our team.

We look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best services and attention at all time.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Am currently staying here from mid-Dec till date on work. The location is very good (right in the city) . Though the hotel inside has an older look and feel more of the 70s, the staff makes up for it by being very positive and pleasant. The staff at the restaurant (breakfast) is also very pleasant.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontoffice21, Front Office Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Kuwait 25 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your views with the Trip Advisor community.

All of us are happy to know that you were pleased with the hotel location and the services
catered by our team.

We look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best services and attention at all time.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait

Address: Fahad Al-Salem Street | Safat, Kuwait City 13045, Kuwait
Location: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait is ideally located in the heart of the commercial and banking district, close to Grand Mosque of Kuwait, Kuwait towers, Liberation Tower and the Scientific Museum, just 20 minutes drive from the airport. Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait is managed by Swiss-Belhotel International, a hotel management company established in Hong Kong, which also manages properties in the Asia Pacific Region, China, Vietnam, Indonesia, Malaysia and Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Hotel Kuwait City
Swiss Hotel Plaza
Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait Kuwait City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Belhotel Plaza Kuwait, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.