We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Nice grafitti” 4 of 5 stars
Review of US Den of Espionage

US Den of Espionage
Taleqani Ave., Tehran, Iran
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 40 Attractions in Tehran
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Copenhagen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice grafitti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I got to take some pretty cool pictures og paintings on the wall. It's not a place you spend a lot of time though.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    6
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Although a sign of hatred these are beautiful murals...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Of course if you think about its history and who painted them it is indeed a place full of hatred, but the murals itself are beautifully painted and as I stood there I realised what a surreal place it actually is.

The murals are not all anti-American and anti-Israeli (however those are undoubtedly the most interesting ones) and the long walls contain lots of different paintings.

As for photography, we had heard various things (people getting taken aside/arrested/interrogated) but curiousity took overhand and I had to photograph (I didn't see any Revolutionary Guards around anyway, only some CCTVs). However I did so by quickly stopping whilst walking past (so I would say come twice, once for spending time looking and the other for taking photographs).

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Worth a short visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This place offers one a reminder of the revolutionary times and the political tension between Iran and the USA. Walls are painted with slogans against America and they said it would also include a museum on a theme on spying etc. It was closed during my visit, but it is worth driving by to see the wall paintings.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not for foreigners”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

something that may not intrests tourist and non Iranians

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nothing but formerly the US embassy in Iran”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

There you can find a very ordinary building with lots of militia agents (Basiji) in it. They tell you that it was a spying center (Den of Espionnage as they call it) and offer some books as a proof to what they are saying.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed US Den of Espionage also viewed

Tehran, Tehran Province
 
Tehran, Tehran Province
 

Been to US Den of Espionage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage US Den of Espionage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.