We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and poorly maintained” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Palace Hotel Bahrain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Palace Hotel Bahrain to your Saves list
Ramada Palace Hotel Bahrain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Exhibition Avenue, Gudaibiya District | P.O. Box 2243, Manama, Bahrain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 116 Hotels in Manama
Ahmadi, Kuwait
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dated and poorly maintained”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend and staff to be very friendly and helpful but the hotel is tired and dated with poor facilities that have not been well maintained over the years.

We stayed in one of the suites and came to conclusion that it had been decorated in mid to late 1980's and although tidy it could have done with a deep clean. We were not offered a no smoking room and the room had definitely seen some smokers over the years.

We have young children and therefore spent our evenings in the suite. There were two televisions in the suite but the one in the lounge only had about 4 English channels and the one in the bedroom didn't work. There were no premium channels available and no dvd player. In particular, no childrens channels were available.

There is wi-fi internet available but the signal was extremely poor in our suite, to the point that even the basic google home page took a long time to load. As far as I'm concerned they may as well not have bothered. I did however discover later that signal strength is stronger in other parts of the hotel.

There was a mini bar in the room and we consumed some items on our first night which were not replaced for the duration of our stay. This wasn't a big deal as room service was prompt but it just added complexity.

Leisure facilities do exist but services appear to have been withdrawn over years and never replaced. The pool area is dimly lit and fairly intimidating. Certainly not welcoming for the family.

For sure we could have complained about some of the above and no doubt the friendly staff would have done their best to resolve issues but I've done more than my fair share of complaining over the years and just couldn't be bothered this time. I just like going to a hotel where things are right and I don't have to complain to achieve what I regard as basic service.

Overall, our stay was not unpleasant but I'm sure there are much better hotels in Bahrain for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    28
    20
    12
See reviews for
11
13
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The rooms were large and grand. Marble bathroom with new fixtures. Beds were comfortable. Everything was clean and well kept. Breakfast was hearty, prepared to order and included with the rate.

The hotel was lacking, however, when it came to location. Very few business people are in this area, and I certainly got looks from my colleagues when I announced where I was staying. The surprise was due to the fact that the hotel is located in an area with massage parlors and rampant prostitution. The surrounding streets are dirty and crowded.

The hotel has several excellent restaurants, but there is a lack of food options outside the hotel. In a future visit, I would seek a hotel in an area with more westerners.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Its one of those hotels which are average. Nothing to complain but also nothing to mention. Its clean but can be a little loud at night since the surroundings are quite busy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazise, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

This hotel where I stayed for three days recently was good. It is a safe place to stay while you are in Bahrain. It is reasonably price too. There is shuttle service to the airport. The hotel service is great. The room we stayed in was good, clean and tidy. It offered a comfortable stay. At nights it was quite and hence I could sleep well. There were some basic amenities in the room. The staffs were quite helpful and very concerned about the comfortable stay of the guests. I admired them a lot. The food served here is fine. I simply loved the varietal and adequate breakfast. Overall, I got more than what I expected from this hotel for the price I had paid.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I am very disappointed with the dishonesty that this hotel displayed. I booked a room for the weekend at a certain rate, and then the hotel raised that rate at check out. When I told them that this was extremely unprofessional and dishonest, they simply said that I had to pay it. In terms of the hotel itself, the room and services were adequate. However, I didn't see one other guest there all weekend; all the restaurants and lounges were ghost towns. When I arrived I wondered why (I thought maybe because of the military checkpoints and political unrest)--however, now I see why people aren't staying there. My advice, there are many similar other hotels to choose from, so this one is not worth the risk. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Though it is little far off (3 km) from City Centre, it is worth going for it. Service with a smile can be found throughout the hotel, right from security to reception to room service to restaurant. Very affordable and high value for money. Located in busy shopping area, the roads may look little cramped, but without bothering your journey.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

I was in Bahrain in June 2010, and stayed in this hotel. I had a mixed of the experiences over here.
1. The location of hotel is bad, too crowded and congested. However around the hotel you have goo eateries.

2. The staff sometimes was very helpful and other times, sounded rude.

3. They have average pool and health center. Though a very awkwardly designed locker rooms, washrooms and wet areas... all separate, so you need to walk outdoors to go from one place to other.

4. Airport pickup and drop is good. In fact once I left my passport and reached hotel. The driver took pains to drive me back and collect my passport and got be back at Airport, without any complaints. I appreciate that concern.

5. Food is very average....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Palace Hotel Bahrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Palace Hotel Bahrain

Address: Exhibition Avenue, Gudaibiya District | P.O. Box 2243, Manama, Bahrain
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Palace Hotel Bahrain 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Palace Hotel Bahrain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manama
Manama Ramada
Ramada Palace Hotel Bahrain Manama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Palace Hotel Bahrain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.