We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but not special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Al Dana Resort Bahrain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Al Dana Resort Bahrain to your Saves list
Novotel Al Dana Resort Bahrain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Sheikh Hamad Causeway | PO Box 11073, Manama 322, Bahrain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Manama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel but not special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very well located. The beach is very smal, don't be excited about the photos because they not correspond to what you are going to see there. Be careful with the kind of bikini you will take with you because at the pool they asked me to go and change my bikini and wear something like a short. Of course I went to the reception and complain and the manager was very kind and told me to ignore the other "manager of the pool" and enjoy my sun bath and my day at the pool. But the worst thing in this hotel was the breakfast: VERY POOR INDEDD AND VERY EXPENSIVE!!! If it's not included in your room rate just go and have your breakfast in other hotel or even in some nice bakery all around the city (for the same price one can have brakfast in a 5 star hotel, we found out the next day with a real luxurious breakfast buffet!). The hotel is always crowded with children and I had to complain because they were playing just at my room door at 1 in the morning!!!! I would not recommend this hotel unless you can't afford something better.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM N, General Manager at Novotel Al Dana Resort Bahrain, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Madam

First and foremost, I would like to apologize for the incident which happened at the swimming pool during your stay.

I am shocked and appalled to learn about your comments and the way you have been treated concerning the bikini and by the swimming pool. I would like to assure you that we never had such dress code and all our guest are free to chose a comfortable clothes, we already taken the appropriate measures with the sports and leisure Manager to avoid such embarrassment in the future.

Since we use to have positive feedback and appreciation of the wide selection at the breakfast, we are offering more a wide range of over 50 different cold and hot dishes to satisfy all aspects of our Guests taste and culinary culture.


We even propose genuine pork bacon and sausages with a selection of French and English bakery , Oriental, Arabic , continental , Mediterranean and American breakfasts complimented with our live station to make your own choice of omelets and grills.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to make it up and better serve you in the near future.

Please contact me in direct once you set up your next plan to come back to Bahrain, we will try to convert the bad impression you have got and make it positive and comfortable.

Sincerely your

Pierre GAUDOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    144
    56
    27
    16
See reviews for
99
67
30
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Great location, pool and beach so relaxing.
Fine restaurant and great selection for breakfast, to be ownest great value for money.
Helpfull staff and friendly housekeeping guys
Well done, I will definitly come back and will recommend it to my fellows in Al khobar, great escape and nice place to spend couple of days within.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM N, General Manager at Novotel Al Dana Resort Bahrain, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Al Dana Bahrain

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Pierre Gaudou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

2nd time i stay at al dana. Very beautifyl hotel, i had nice pics there :) A very green territory of the hotel
My son enjoyed the children pool, and kids menu as well. I d advise it for families, lots of things can be done

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM N, General Manager at Novotel Al Dana Resort Bahrain, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Al Dana Bahrain

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Pierre Gaudou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abqaiq, KSA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We booked this location for the beach access, but found the waterfront less than inviting, with bottles in the water, and the water being less than clean.
But the biggest letdown was the extra costs. Although we booked with the hotel chain with breakfast included, we were told that breakfast would be extra, and my daughter who was supposed to be free (children free) needed to pay full price. There was a pool, beach, fitness charge that amounted to $100 a day, and room service was in packages, so you could not just order what you wanted. This a la carte approach is a great money maker for the hotel, but it is really rough on the budget. Coupled with what was not available because it was Ramadan, I feel that I will go elsewhere, and steer clear of Accor for a while.

Our room smelled musky like there was a problem with the air conditioning. Pool was excellent!
Breakfast was sensational! Staff should have stayed home!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

They upgraded my room to suite for free when they know that I'm a silver member and that we are celebrating our anniversary. The service was excellent and the food was delicious, and the staff were friendly.

My family enjoyed heir stay and highly recommend this hotel to others ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM N, General Manager at Novotel Al Dana Resort Bahrain, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Al Dana Bahrain

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Pierre Gaudou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Al Dana Resort Bahrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Al Dana Resort Bahrain

Address: 121 Sheikh Hamad Causeway | PO Box 11073, Manama 322, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Manama
#24 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Al Dana Resort Bahrain 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach-side luxury 4-star hotel, combining Leisure facilities and Business district convenience. Hotel features an outdoor temperature controlled swimming pool with a hot tub set, a private beach, a fitness center and Spa and a free Business center.Seafood and Catch-of-the day fish specialties are served at La Perle Restaurant, while Zytoun Grill offers international delights buffet with Arabic touch. Live sport and cocktails at Bellevue panoramic bar overlooking the Arabian Gulf, open until late in the evening. Novotel Al Dana Bahrain is 5 minutes drive from airport, Diplomatic and financial areas and City Center; the largest Mall in Bahrain, one minute walking distance from Bahrain national museum and Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Al Dana Resort Bahrain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Al Dana Resort Bahrain Hotel Manama
Novotel Al Dana Hotel Bahrain
Novotel Manama
Manama Novotel
Novotel Al Dana Resort Bahrain Manama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Al Dana Resort Bahrain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.