We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible old hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Bahrain

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Bahrain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Bahrain
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diplomatic Area P.O. Box 5831, Manama 5831, Bahrain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #19 of 113 hotels in Manama
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Horrible old hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Staff are rude not courteous, lazy.. very old hotel with old interior.
will never stay there.. Much more better hotel like Diplomat Radison / sheraton/ intercontinental in surrounding to stay at much cheaper price than this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bahrain, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear sheeruz,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations with the service you received and the condition of our property. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We all hope to host you again soon.

Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    60
    25
    15
    9
See reviews for
5
17
21
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Visited Spice indian Restaurant last week with a large group of work colleagues.A start with the tallest glass of lager i have ever seen follwed by the most fantastic lamb cutlets immaginable.

A night to remember..or what I can of it !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPB, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bahrain, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Mr. Mitchsan,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Bahrain!

On behalf of the management and the whole team of Crowne Plaza Bahrain, I would like to thank you for visiting our restaurant and sharing your good review on our quality food at Spices restaurant.

Your comments on the lamb cutlets has been shared with our chef and the rest of our colleagues with them which had a very positive impact which in turn plays a very vital role in improving our ‘Guest’s experiences’. It is valuable guests like you who make us 'want to' continue working towards our main purpose of business which is - guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Bahrain soon.

Should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to email us on cp@cp-bahrain.com. Alternatively, you may email reservations@cp-bahrain.com for your booking requirements.

Best regards,

Priya Shankar
Marketing/PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Been staying here for over a week now. All the staff is friendly and extremely helpful. Room service has really good spaghetti bolog. The steak night at the Mosaique restaurant is good too. It is well worth the BD 9. You just can't go wrong with unlimited meat.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPB, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bahrain, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Crowne Plaza Bahrain team!

Thank you for your review regarding your stay in Crowne Plaza on Trip Advisor.

On behalf of the management and the whole team of Crowne Plaza Bahrain, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your good review on our quality food, especially the steak night and the services that you have experienced during your stay.

We shared your warm and thoughtful appreciation of our colleagues with them which had a very positive impact which in turn plays a very vital role in improving our ‘Guest’s experiences’. It is valuable guests like you who make us 'want to' continue working towards our main purpose of business which is - guest satisfaction.

Once again thank you very much and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza on your next trip to Bahrain.

Should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to email us on cp@cp-bahrain.com. Alternatively, you may email reservations@cp-bahrain.com for your booking requirements.

Best regards,

Priya Shankar
Marketing/PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

First room had a view of a brick wall, following a request to move my room was changed to a smokers room but at least it had a view. Room was still dark and the carpet probably was at its prime around the 1980's before being patched,stained and the odd burn mark. Some stains on the wall. While standing in the bath having a shower the plastic shower curtain had a tendency to wrap itself around you. Rooms were cold. The saving grace was that It has a lively pub and staff were good. Not a cheap hotel and must be the worst Holiday Inn I have stayed in for many years and I have gold level frequent stayer status.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel such as the Sheraton nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPB, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bahrain, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Bahrain.

It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Priya Shankar
Marketing/PR Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Looks old, dated, poor service other than harvesters bar which is very good.

Even the "new" rooms are looking tired.

Only stayed here because of an Event in the hotel, otherwise would certainly not of picked it.

I would avoid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPB, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bahrain, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion about your stay and experiences with us. We take all your comments seriously as these are vital for us to continue improving our accommodation, facilities and services in order to provide our guests the most enjoyable, comfortable and pleasant stay with us.

On behalf of the whole team of Crowne Plaza Bahrain, I would like to thank you for sharing your good review on Harvesters Bar.

With regards to your comment on the rooms we are pleased to share that we have plans to refurbish all our rooms soon, to ensure we are meeting the expectations of our international travelers.

it is indeed very disappointing to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regrettable you were not satisfied during your visit. Rest assured, your review is taken very seriously as it is our goal to consistently provide superior service and experiences to our guests.

I would very much appreciate to be able to get in touch with you privately to discuss your experiences in more detail.

Looking very much forward to speaking to you and hopefully welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Bahrain in the near future.

Best Regards,

Priya Shankar
Marketing/PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just spent a number of weeks at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The superb staff where friendly, polite and very attentive and I cannot thank them enough for making my stay such a pleasurable experience. The Hotel offers several restaurant options, with each one serving excellent food. Well worth checking out the Steak night on Wednesday's. Well equipped gym and attractive pool side complete the whole package. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Stayed on the third floor in a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPB, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bahrain, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Mr. Neil,

Warm greetings from Crowne Plaza Bahrain!

We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. We are truly glad to know that you have experienced a few weeks of great stay at our hotel.

We shared your warm and thoughtful appreciation to our colleagues which had a very positive impact which in turn plays a very vital role in improving our ‘Guest’s experiences’. It is valuable guests like you who make us 'want to' continue working towards our main purpose of business which is - guest satisfaction.

Once again thank you very much and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Bahrain.

Should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to email us on cp@cp-bahrain.com. Alternatively, you may email reservations@cp-bahrain.com for your booking requirements.

Best Regards,

Priya Shankar
Marketing/PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

One of the best Crowne Plaza's anywhere in the world.....great food, fabulous service...and great decor with more than a hint of the Middle East shining through. Also hosted a meeting in the Conference Center.....everything was done to perfection.....guests ate in the restaurant...a great idea....amazing cherry custard crumble dessert....would return just to experience that....in top 5 best desserts of my life.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_CPB, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bahrain, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Mr.John,

On behalf of the management and the whole team of Crowne Plaza Bahrain, I would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your good review on our quality food and services that you experienced during your stay.

Your comments on the cherry custard has been passed on to the chef and he would be delighted to meet with you on your next visit to Bahrain.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Bahrain soon.

Should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to email us on cp@cp-bahrain.com. Alternatively, you may email reservations@cp-bahrain.com for your booking requirements.

Best regards,

Priya Shankar
Marketing/PR Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Bahrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Bahrain

Address: Diplomatic Area P.O. Box 5831, Manama 5831, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Manama
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Bahrain 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Bahrain with its 246 well appointed rooms and suites all with high speed internet access is the perfect location for the business traveler as it is within the diplomatic area where most of the banks and embassies are located and conveniently situated within 10 minutes of the airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Bahrain has a large business, conference and banqueting venue experienced in catering for all events and occasions. The Bahrain Conference Centre, conveniently adjoining the hotel is a purpose built venue that is undoubtedly one of the most versatile centers imaginable in Bahrain, whatever your requirements the Crowne Plaza Bahrain Hotel will ensure that your event will be a success. The Crowne Plaza Bahrain Hotel has a true understanding of taste. Our hotel guests are offered an array of dining delights from the elegant Waves Seafood Restaurant, an authentic and distinct flavours of India from Spice Indian Restaurant, Harvesters typical British pub with draught beer and pub food featuring live entertainment nightly, the La Mosaique All day dining restaurant with specialty evenings and Tracks Sports Bar where all the latest sports are broadcasted live on a large screen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Bahrain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Bahrain Hotel Manama
Crowne Plaza Manama
Crowne Plaza Hotel Bahrain
Crowne Plaza Bahrain Manama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Bahrain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.