We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and Facilities, but not much near by” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Zallaq Highway, Building 2015 | Block 1055 Zallaq, Manama, Bahrain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and Facilities, but not much near by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We popped over to Bahrain for a visit over the weekend and stayed here. It was a recommendation from some local friends and I can see why.

The staff were lovely, really helpful, and the facilities were very clean and well cared for.

It was pretty cold when we were there (it was winter) so its worth noting the pool was coooooold..... but what a fabulous pool it is.

We're back for the Grand Prix in April, and providing we can get a room (its the closest hotel) we will be staying there.

The only downside was the location - its a long way out from anything, so unless you are bedding in for your stay and plan to make use of nothing but the hotel, you'll need a car, or driver. Its about a 15dinar taxi from the airport and probably 10-12dinar to the city center.

If i could give this 4.5 stars i would!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

I’m very pleased that you were recommended to visit our hotel for your recent stay in Bahrain, thank you for choosing to enjoy your weekend at Sofitel Bahrain.

I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that my Ambassadors took such good care of you and your family. Thank you for your comments in general with regards to our property, particularly with regards to my Ambassadors and our outdoor facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in April for the Formula 1 Grand Prix, please do contact us as soon as possible to make your booking as this period is becoming very busy.

We greatly look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Bahrain again soon for another Magnifique stay!

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    138
    37
    16
    3
See reviews for
182
202
34
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a bad experience during our first visit in January 2013, but decided to go again to celebrate my parents' 30th wedding anniversary. We took club rooms, and the service, speed and efficiency was much better. We got our rooms in less than 10 minutes, and the club benefits are always a bonus. Spent most of the days by the pool and the beach, and dinner at La Mer was also very good. Breakfast spread is good - but perhaps add a dish or two that would cater to Asian guests? Most recommended for those who are staying all day and all nigth at the hotel to go for the rooms with club benefits.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies and all are facing the beach. suggest you go for the ones closer to the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning to our hotel in January, it is always a pleasure to welcome our guests back to Sofitel Bahrain and I’m very pleased that upon this occasion we have been able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of our property on Trip Advisor, I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed our Club Rooms and that the service, speed and efficiency exhibited by my ambassadors was according to your needs.

I’m very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Bahrain and greatly appreciate the opportunity to receive your feedback. I do hope that you will return to Sofitel Bahrain again soon and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Entering the impressive lobby we already felt welcome by the friendly staff.
The room and the bathroom are clean and nice furnished and the bed very comfortable.
The best was the view from the balcony over the entire garden, pool and the sea.
We especially enjoyed the dinner at the wok and the tapas bar directly at the sea. This bar is a must when you stay at the Sofitel. The prices in the restaurant and at the bars are very high but the service is friendly and good.

The spa is just awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in the Kingdom of Bahrain.

I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and greatly appreciate your posting a review of our property on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your comments in general with regards to our hotel, I’m very pleased that my Ambassadors took such good care of you and particularly that throughout the hotel you were made to feel welcome by my team.

Thank you also for your comments with regards to our Thalassa Sea & Spa, I’m glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our spa which in itself is quite unique as the only Thalassa or sea-water spa within the GCC.

I do hope that you will visit Sofitel Bahrain again soon and look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa.

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa

Address: 105 Zallaq Highway, Building 2015 | Block 1055 Zallaq, Manama, Bahrain
Location: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manama
#1 Family Hotel in Manama
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manama
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manama
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#3 Business Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa offers guests a paradise setting to enjoy an idyllic stay with spectacular views over the Arabian Gulf. The hotel is an exclusive resort catering to both leisure and business travelers and offers the uniqueness of a luxurious location amidst views of the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Arabian Gulf.Sofitel Bahrain celebrates the Kingdom’s legendary hospitality with a French flair and is the first hotel within the GCC countries to offer the unique relaxation of Thalassotherapy.The Thalassa Sea & Spa at Sofitel Bahrain covers 2,000 square meters on two floors; the complex features 14 treatment rooms utilizing marine based products to offer a unique series of Thalassotherapy treatments, massages and wellness programmes. Guests of the Thalassa Sea & Spa can also enjoy a seawater hydrotherapy pool, a freshwater pool, saunas, steam rooms, a hairdresser for men and a beauty salon for women, as well as a Yoga & Pilates studio.Sofitel Bahrain offers 262 rooms and suites, combining comfort and elegance and offering lavish furnishings with breathtaking views of the Arabian Gulf. Within the hotel are 28 suites including 21 Prestige Suites, 6 rooftop Opera suites each offering a private terrace and infinity pool and one Royal Suite complete with a Jacuzzi, private terrace, infinity pool and a uniquely regal design and furnishings.The hotel offers a large swimming pool complete with a swim-up pool bar situated adjacent to its private beach and 5 restaurants.Located on Zallaq Beach 5 minutes from the Bahrain International Circuit, 25 minutes from the heart of Manama and 30 minutes from the Bahrain International Airport, Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa offers the perfect location for a relaxed vacation away from the city or a luxurious vacation with convenient access to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea And Spa
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea Hotel Manama
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa Manama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.