We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor staff with low quality services” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Riyadh Diplomatic Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Riyadh Diplomatic Quarter to your Saves list
Courtyard Riyadh Diplomatic Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al-Hada District, Abdullah bin Huzafah, Al-Sahmi Street, Riyadh 64819, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 10%
Ranked #10 of 159 Hotels in Riyadh
Dhahrain
1 review
“Poor staff with low quality services”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I am really surprised from the level of the receptionist. They are moody and not cooperative. There is a clear problem with the the receptionists.

The location of the hotel is away from city center. The price of the hotel is very high and expensive. The quality of food very poor. Toilets always have bad smell which will never go.

All rooms have connecting doors to the other room. sometimes it is noisy.

They have the nonsmoking rooms or levels with cigarette smell!

Room Tip: All rooms have connecting doors to the other room. they have the nonsmoking rooms or levels with ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JebbBC, Cluster eCommerce Executive at Courtyard Riyadh Diplomatic Quarter, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Jamil J,

Thank you sincerely for your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I am truly disappointed that your experience fell short of your expectations.

This is not a reflection of the service we pride ourselves on providing as it is evident by other comments posted by other guests. Regardless, this was your impression and your feedback is extremely important.

I would appreciate if you would contact me personally to discuss your experience so we can learn from it and strive to do better. I look forward to hearing from you at your convenience

Sincerest thanks and regards,

Farhan I. Lone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Riyadh Diplomatic Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    46
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
5
2
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Koping, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed there five nights for an expo in next door Ritz Carlton. I found service in the hotel very good. Fathy at reception was quick, friendly, and always helpful. Internet speed was very good and connection stable. Gym is of moderate size. Sauna was pretty good, pity steam bath was out of order (the only thing I noticed not working).

Staff at gym were also very friendly. I used airport pick-up and drop. Both trips were good; cars clean and drivers friendly and well-behaved.

They should get a few more copies of English newspaper. Price-wise there can be cheaper alternatives in downtown. Overall, I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I was in a room facing Makkah Road. Sound insulation was not that good. May be rooms on the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The newest hotel in the city. Hotel staffs were accommodating and nice specially Hussam in the front desk. Room is very clean, eco friendly and affordable. Even my husband enjoyed our stay. We will come back surely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 Days , all inclusive, and had the best vacation ever. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. The staff incredibly friendly and the food was Excellent, even Room service variety of dishes were good. The service was great The breakfast food was Excellent, the lobby area which is as are most public spaces - we were given a tour of the hotel which took and dining areas all of which are really impressive

Room Tip: room was very clean beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

New it was opened in 8/2012 .
good price : 160 usd , frindly staff , near the ritzcarlton riyadh ..


I'm always like to try a new hotels .
And i was searching room in a fourseassons riyadh in same dates it was 1000 USD for a normal room !!!



My opinion about this hotel is : 7/10

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trappe, Maryland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I come to Riyadh regularly and stay at a few different hotels. I was looking forward to staying at the new Courtyard, its close to where I work and I figured it would be just the right amount of "western" to make it comfortable. Instead this hotel has an identity crisis, its service is excellent just like the Saudi's demand but its lower quality than the Courtyards in the US. Everyone is friendly, courteous and helpful. It is set up much like the Courtyards in the States but the managers/owners went cheap everywhere possible. For example, there is one restaurant in the hotel and it serves buffet style; the food always seems as if its been sitting there for hours and the meats are overcooked and lack taste. Even the room service I ordered three times was dreadfully bland. The gym is important to me and this one at first glance was just ok. The TV's on the treadmills were a nice surprise but they cut off suddenly after a few minutes on the machine, all three had the same problem and when I finally asked the guy that worked there he said they had always been that way. SO FIX THEM! The cardio equipment, the nautilus equipment and the free weights were clearly the cheapest home version of gym equipment that they could find which is not only a bad business decision but unsafe. The rooms remind me of a holiday inn express, which is just fine but the soaps, toilet paper and tissues are all super cheap. The bed was ok, the pillows were nice and the tv was great. The working area at the desk is also excellent and the internet was free and decent speed. All in all I guess Im just disappointed, its the same price but not nearly as nice as the Intercontinental. The food desperately needs to improve though because if you're staying here, you're probably eating here. There is nothing close by to walk to. Once again though the staff couldn't be better, super friendly, very helpful and always fast with help.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JebbBC, Cluster eCommerce Executive at Courtyard Riyadh Diplomatic Quarter, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Courtyard by Marriott Riyadh Diplomatic Quarter!

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay. It means a lot to us that you were willing to share your experience with others, and we thank you for your positive comments about the Hotel personnel and the room amenities and appointments.

Regarding the comments about our restaurant food quality and health club equipment, I would appreciate if you would contact me personally to discuss this matter at farhan.lone@marriott.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Courtyard by Marriott Riyadh Diplomatic Quarter soon.

Thank you.

Sincere regards,

Farhan Lone
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Diplomatic Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

It is very nice hotel and nice hotel staff. It is new hotel and not known hotel in the city. They have reasonable prices in general with good services. It is beside Ritz Carlton hotel in case you need the direction to the hotel. The location of the hotel is far from the downtown but not too. The food is normal

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Riyadh Diplomatic Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Riyadh Diplomatic Quarter

Address: Al-Hada District, Abdullah bin Huzafah, Al-Sahmi Street, Riyadh 64819, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Riyadh Province > Riyadh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 159 Hotels in Riyadh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Riyadh Diplomatic Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. At the center of it all is Olea - Cafe, Kitchen and Lounge. It is your destination for a great breakfast, or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center, indoor pool and Jacuzzi will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at Courtyard is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Riyadh Diplomatic Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Riyadh Diplomatic Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.