We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great background into Saudi Arabia and Islam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum

National Museum
Al-Muraba - King Abdul Aziz Historical Center, Riyadh 11481, Saudi Arabia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Riyadh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The history of Islam is the major focus of this museum, which consists of 10 galleries, courtyards and a section that houses fancy cars and other belongings of the founding king of Saudi Arabia.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great background into Saudi Arabia and Islam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I went there with a colleague one Thursday morning. An interesting insight into the history of Saudi Arabia from prehistoric times to the present day. All the non video exhibitions had English translations. However we only found one of the videos that had an English button. It took us about 2.5 hours to go round. Good value for £2

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    80
    19
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
RUH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun and education”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I highly recommend this nice surprise I discovered recently in Riyadh in King Abdulaziz Historic site with its Jewel "National Museum". Reviews the geological, cultural, historical, and political history of the Arabian Peninsula throught out history, Rich information and many exhibits. I leared alot about the history of kingdoms I had no idea about before. My kids had good review of their science and geography classes. Fun and educative journey. Surrounded by beautiful gardens in the sites. Parking was available and easy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
“Truly amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Visited National Museum of Riyadh today. I never expec'td this place would be so great.ppl work here for several years and even taxi drivers were not aware of this place. Gallaries like Arabian Kingdoms, the Pre-Islamic Era and the Prophet's Mission are truly amazing. Experienced top class Exibits like "hand writtten Quran" ,Daily life of Arabs, writings and various symbols of the oldest scripts(like Aramaic, Nabatean) and Highlights of Prophet's - Major events in Makkah until his migartion to madinah. An important place not to miss if you Visit Riyadh. Definetly Beyond expectation.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Quite a Wealth of collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Beyond our expectations, this museum is so abound with wealth of collections and presentation style is immensely interesting that took us 4 hours to complete without tiring experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“nice place but take care of ur stuff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I like this place especially in winter but take care of ur stuff , this place near Al Battha which you should take care of people there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum also viewed

 
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
 

Been to National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.