We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old town with houses built of mud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Dir'aiyah

Old Dir'aiyah
Thumeiry Street, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 31 things to do in Riyadh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These ruins of the first capital of Saudi Arabia consist of walls, houses and palaces, some of which have been restored
Riyadh
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“old town with houses built of mud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A nice place to visit and see how people were living in Arabia hundred years ago, a houses built of mud and tools been used years ago to live in such place in middle of desert at those times.

Dir'aiyah was the capital of Arabian Peninsula, or what been called the capital of NAJD ( the central of Arabian peninsula).

There are restaurants and shops nearby in new Dir'aiyah

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    40
    14
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Undergoing restoration”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The site is currently undergoing massive restoration , so at the moment there isn't much to see there. The entire area is one big construction site. The ruins can be seen far away in the distance from the under construction museum (that has a very Egypt-esque look to it ) and shopping plaza. My brother and I just walked through the construction site to the ruins , there wasn't any sort of labeling as such at the respective sites , there was also a lot of scaffolding everywhere on the ruins which shows that they are undergoing thorough restoration . At the moment Saudi Arabia only has two UNESCO world heritage sites , Madain Saleh and Dirayah . Its a shame that at the moment there isn't much to see at Diraiyah , hopefully in a years time once the area has under gone restoration this area will "BE THE PLACE " to visit in Riyadh .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Heritage of Riyadh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Old Riyadh city gives you an insight as to how the capital used to look like in the good old days. The walls are broken down adn tattered but there are certain places where a family can sit out and have a barbecue. There are a couple of cafes near by in case you need a break from walking about the place. There is a beautiful garden as well with well maintained greenery.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasolburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
“Restoration Underway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

When we visited the area we could not go inside as it was still under restoration. We found a small opening in the wall by walking into the garden to the south. Once inside we could see that a lot of restoration is taking place. Trenches for cables that will light the area up at night as can only be done in Saudi....

The Sudanese security guard wanted us to leave when he discovered that we entered but after we had a talk with him he took us to a section that was complete, what an amazing restoration, despite the fact that it is not done authentic, it is still excellent.

My artist daughter took lots of pictures and had an exhibition of the prints back home, all sold out. (Sorry she does not want to give me a release to upload them here)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“give it time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

amazing reconstruction work going on, not to mention new buildings which look like they are going to be shops, museums etc. and with the wadi running through it. it is an impressive building site now but in a year or so this could be THE highlight of Riyadh.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Dir'aiyah also viewed

Riyadh, Riyadh Province
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
 
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
 

Been to Old Dir'aiyah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Dir'aiyah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.