We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empty Shell” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riyadh Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riyadh Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Riyadh Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Saud Road | Al Wazarat District, Riyadh 11464, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 159 Hotels in Riyadh
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Empty Shell”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very nice looking and very nicely re-vamped hotel. Unfortunately this is as far as it stretches. The Platinum Elite experience in totaly non existant. The Executive lounge is not what its name suggests...... Executive.... All bar that. "Common Lounge" is more appropriate nomenclature. The food presented in the "Executive Lounge" is of substandard quality and resembles "Left overs".
As like in many other hotels there are a few employees who realy try and make you feel at home.
On a scale of 1 to 10............4.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Director of Operations at Riyadh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear trimbuster:

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor. We are disappointed to read about your dissatisfaction with our Executive Lounge, however, we appreciate your feedback and will share it with our team so that they may take corrective actions.
We are especially concerned that, as a valued Platinum Marriott Rewards member, we have not met your expectations. We would be most grateful to hear from you if you would be so kind as to contact us at: mhrs.ruhsa.dir.operations@marriotthotels.com . so that we may offer further assistance. Please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience or annoyance we have caused. We look forward to hearing from you and hope that you will permit us an opportunity to demonstrate the improvements that your comments have inspired should your travel plans bring you back to Riyadh in the future.

Regards, Ed M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
5
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an overall average stay at this hotel. Services provided are good but doesn't feel like its providing a complete five star hotel service.

Not completely satisfied and not up to my expectations with respect to services provided by Marriott hotels worldwide.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Director of Operations at Riyadh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Geo_R_Ace:

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. We have shared your comments with our team so that they may corrective action, however, if you would like to share any specific details with us, we would be most grateful for your time and assistance. Please feel free to contact us at: mhrs.ruhsa.dir.operations@marriotthotels.com if you are willing to provide us any additional details and we will be happy to take action. We hope you will permit us another opportunity to demonstrate these improvements and hope that we may be of service to you again in the future should your travel plans bring you back to Riyadh.

Regards, Ed M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i have been to this hotel a few times now and it has been great except for my last trip. This is my first review of anything on trip advisor because I typically do not complain. this past trip was plagued with internet access problems. On day 1, I talked to the front desk. they told me to talk to their internet service provider (dial 59 from the hotel room). Their ISP said they were aware of technical problems and they were working on it. It happens! for the next 3 days I never had acceptable internet access from the lobby or from my room. several colleagues in our group experienced identical problems. I spent over 60 min back and forth with the ISP. the entire 4 days i was there I could not connect with my family on skype or FaceTime from my laptop or phone because the internet signal was sooo unreliable. so frustrating. i could not even submit this review until i returned to the states because the internet kept disconnecting. 4 stars for overall service but 1 star for internet = 2 stars overall from me for service. the front desk was aware and apologized repeatedly. i would love a reply saying what they are going to do to fix this-- I have received many apologizes already.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Director of Operations at Riyadh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear sean b:

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. Please accept our sincerest apology for your experience with our internet service. At the time of your visit, we had already communicated this issue to our service provider and have escalated our complaint to our area office. We have already taken many corrective actions to improve the speed, however, during peak times of demand, the system may still not perform optimally. We are in also in the process of purchasing additional equipment which we hope will correct this issue and hope to have this in place as soon as it arrives. We hope that you will allow us to demonstrate these improvements on your next stay with us. Thank you again for your loyalty to our brand and our hotel.

Regards, Ed M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just so everyone knows my point of view, I am a young professional in my mid 20s and travel more than 160+ days a year for work and holiday. .

TL:DR: This hotel has put in a lot of work and effort into upgrading and re-branding the hotel. The cleanliness and amenities at this hotel are exponentially better than the Hilton in Olaya, but overall it is still an inferior Marriott compared to the rest worldwide. From the pointless label of an executive floor where the room size is the same to the mediocre lounge. If you cannot afford the Ritz, stay here. But once the new Hilton hotels open in Riyadh, i would seek better options.

Room Details:

Room Cleanliness 4/5 – They do a really good job of keeping everything clean. I have only had a dirty room 3 out of 30+ times i have stayed there.

Food 2/5 – In the lounge, breakfast is nice (omelet, hasbrowns, boiled eggs, etc) but the quality of dinner is quite poor (fried foods, no healthy options, and an overall poor selection). The dinner in Mosaic is extremely overpriced and not worth the money. The Terrace grill has some great food, but once again, it is not worth the price. You can go 10 minutes in any direction and find the same quality of food for a third of the price.

Gym 3/5 – The variety is one of the best i have seen in the Middle East. They have a pool, spa, cardiovascular equipment, as well as a great free weight selection. The reason why i gave this a three is due to the state of disarray the gym is in. There is significant water damage throughout the walls/floors and it feels like it is never cleaned.

Room Size 3/5 – Once again, it is average. Unless you are in the Royal Suite (607), your room will be completely normal. Bathroom, chair, tv, bed(s). Nothing special at all, but not large. If you are sharing with someone else, you will feel cramped.

Bed 3/5 – I gave this a three because of the variance in comfortableness i have experienced. Some beds will be unbelievably comfortable, while others feel like they are comprised of rolled up towels and newspaper. If you stay here, just hope you get a comfortable bed..

Wi-Fi 3/5 – They offer "high speed" internet to their gold/platinum members. The speed is not spectacular, but when it works you can work through a VPN or stream video.

Executive Lounge 3/5 - They opened this a little more than a year ago. They offer breakfast, dinner, and drinks/snacks throughout the day. Breakfast has a decent selection, but the food quality for dinner has decreased over the past year. it has gone from freshly cooked meats and vegetables to 90% fried food. The worst part is, if you do not get to the lounge before 7pm, you will not be able to find a seat much less get a decent meal due to the number of people in the lounge.

Price 3/5 – if you can get a special rate, the price is worth it. If you cannot, then it is overpriced and i would recommend a different hotel.

Room Tip: Away from the street. You will hear the noise if your room is facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Director of Operations at Riyadh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear On_The_Roam_55:

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor. While we are disappointed to read that we have failed to meet your expectations in some areas, we are very grateful to you for taking the time to provide us with such detailed and candid feedback. It is very apparent to us that you are an experienced business traveler.
Your comments and observations have already been shared with our team so that they may take corrective action where needed. We sincerely appreciate your feedback on our performance and hope that we may continue to be of service to you for your lodging requirements in the future should your travel plans bring you back to Riyadh. Thank you for you loyalty to our brand and hotel.

Regards, Ed M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here on business this weekend , and ordered in room dining . The baked onion soup arrived Luke warn evn though I asked for it to be extra hot and Shish taouk arrived so cold that the chicken could of been used in a salad

The waiter was very kind and too the soup back to be reheated in the microwave

Presentation was also poor and the. 2 dishes arrived on a single tray with very little to cheer it up.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Director of Operations at Riyadh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Pierre L:

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor. We are disappointed to read of your experience with our roomt service – especially as this is your first review on Tripadvisor.
We are truly sorry for failing to provide the level of service and food quality that would have made your review a much more enjoyable and positive experience.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for not meeting our standards or your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and have already shared your comments with our associates for immediate corrective action. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future should your travel plans bring you back to Riyadh.

Regards, Ed M. Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An unassuming facade hides within grandeur not easily seen at this price point; cheery and very supportive staff, caring attendants, lavish business centers, ATM, Valets, even shoe cleaning services, all within minimal effort and reach. Excellent restaurants offerring quality food from multiple cuisines with extravagant breakfast choices make this an ideal stay location for business visitors. Amply furnished rooms, glistening gym and sparkling pool area will make you not want to leave - maybe that is the reason it is so heavily occupied at all times?

Room Tip: Plan ahead and get your room reserved on the higher floors otherwise you may be disappointed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Director of Operations at Riyadh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Suparno67:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to read that your stay with us met your expectations. We will share your comments with our associates. We sincerely appreciate your time and effort taken to share your observations with our fellow travelers on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your loyalty to our brand and hotel. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again should your travel plans bring you back to Riyadh.

Regards, Ed M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Marriott Riyadh is an excellent hotel by any standards - clean fresh rooms, excellent food especially in the Mosaic restaurant on the ground floor, ample gym facilities open 24 x 7, good location near the centre of Riyadh. What makes it special for me though, having stayed here regularly for over a year now, is the quality of the people here. Everyone from the reception staff, the porters, the staff in the lounge, the management - takes the time to know you personally and to ensure that you are looked after well. Can't fault it.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Director of Operations at Riyadh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear NickIllingworth:

Thank you for the terrific review! We are delighted to read your comments and especially happy to hear that we have made you feel comfortable after staying an entire year with us. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and our brand and look forward to being your home-away-from home whenever you are in Riyadh.

Regards, Ed M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riyadh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyadh Marriott Hotel

Address: King Saud Road | Al Wazarat District, Riyadh 11464, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Riyadh Province > Riyadh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Riyadh
#12 Business Hotel in Riyadh
#15 Best Value Hotel in Riyadh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riyadh Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riyadh Marriott Hotel stands majestically in the center of Riyadh City's corporate, financial and governmental agencies. This luxurious Marriott hotel in Riyadh is just minutes-drive from major shopping malls and downtown districts with easy access to King Khalid International Airport. The hotel offers excellent services in our Makarim Convention Center, Atrium Cafe, Mosaic Mediterranean Restaurant and Terrace Grill Restaurant. After business meetings and Riyadh attractions, relax in our indoor swimming pool and spa at Bodyline Health Club & Spa. You may just want the serenity and comfort in any of the 391 business-friendly rooms and suites with new beds from Marriott, down comforters, designer duvets and fluffier pillows. This multi-awarded, convenient hotel is perfect for business, conferences, events, weekend getaways, family travel and wedding. It has also 20 flexible meeting rooms, state-of-the-art space that includes Grand Ballroom and breakout rooms. Come and experience our unique Arabian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Riyadh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Riyadh Hotel Riyadh
Riyadh Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riyadh Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.