We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Old .... Don't worth that money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riyadh Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riyadh Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Riyadh Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Ma'ather Street | Al Wazarat District, Riyadh 11464, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #18 of 150 Hotels in Riyadh
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Too Old .... Don't worth that money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Paying a $300 for a bed only room i should get something better than this very old room ..... a 20 years old TV 20" !!! cannot imagine
Room is dark all the day as it only had a very small window facing some chiller fans .... nothing worth money

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    55
    76
    31
    14
See reviews for
1
5
26
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Riyadh is not the most exciting place to visit, and the Marriott reflects that. The hotel is under renovation (probably built in the 70s). The new rooms are ok, though quite small and noisy - the hotel is on a main road. The lobby and conference rooms are still "old"; restaurant is new (and serves good food), but not exactly my taste... So all in all good enough to spend your nights on a business trip, but I assume there is better offer in town.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the street side - noisy !
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good, clean rooms, but slightly small, no balcony. Good breakfast buffet. Aircon inside hotel a bit too cold. Nice spa area with pool, jaccuzzi, steam room, sauna, gym; no extra cost. A nicer outside sitting area would have been nice. Not much to do in the area of the hotel. Good restaurant on site.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed in the Marriott for a business stay in Riyadh. The hotel you stay in in Riyadh is important as there isn't a great deal to do outside of the hotel, so you will spend quite a bit of time there. The hotel rooms are undergoing renovation, I got one of the newer ones on the first floor which was comfortable enough. The hotel has a large atrium with a restaurant and (dry) bar with wireless or you can sign up for wireless which worked pretty well. The hotel has a good gym and indoor pool, Saudi tv is a bit limited, but there is always some sport on. Take a book/Kindle if you don't work out or watch football............ Staff are very friendly and no problems with airport pick ups or transportation during my business trip.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are being renovated at present
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A brief (thankfully) two night stay at the Marriott in Riyadh. I last stayed in this property fifteen years ago and I can honestly say that apart from the lobby being refurbished the place seems exactly the same.

Rooms are tired and not conductive to business travel. Despite the Saudi sunlight my room seemed dark all day - there is one small window (off-set to the main part of the room) which allows in minimal light as the hotel brickwork/structure is designed so the windows are inset around a metre into the building. No in room wifi (wired net only), no multi plug adaptors or desktop power sockets so prepare yourself for pulling out furniture and swapping around leads and plugs to plug in your laptop. The bathroom was a throwback to the 80's. Some of my colleagues complained they could only get luke-warm water from the showers. Others complained they couldn't get anything less than scalding hot water out of the shower.

I did not use any of the restaurants but did order room service a few times. There was a decent selection, prices were reasonable and food was adequate and delivered quickly.

The staff did their best given the limitations of this hotel. All requests were handled with politeness and efficiency.

The hotel also has a decent - although keeping with the general ambiance of the marriott 'dated' - fitness facility (men only) with indoor olympic pool, gym, sauna and steam. Note this is a health club open to external members also, so it can get busy at times. There is also a rooftop tennis court which I discovered was the ONLY area to actually sit in the sun at the Marriott. Others have obviously discovered this too as there were two beaten up old sun loungers up there.

Room Tip: If you want any daylight into the room ask for one that faces the front - although these rooms will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Marriott's tend to have a certain standard to which they abide, yet this one seemed to be very different. The service was exceptional, which overall, I found no lack of in the Middle East. The condition of the rooms was somewhat subpar for Marriotts' standards. In my experience, people stay at Marriotts because of they are pretty much the same in every country. In this case, I would choose another brand.

The conference that brought me to Saudi had reduced rates at hotels. For 40 USD more/night I could have stayed at the Four Seasons or the Ritz. Next time, I will be.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for my first visit to Saudi Arabia and indeed the Middle East. Like many first time Westerners I had no really objective expectations so was intrigued by the explosives sniffer used on the hotel car we booked to take us from the airport to the hotel (a service which was extremely efficient and reasonably priced, by the way) and the bag scan every time we entered the hotel. These precautions though did assure my party that security was taken seriously.

The lobby and public facilities of the hotel are pleasant and well maintained and Reception was courteous and efficient. The room was a disappointment however - as noted, rennovation is badly needed but is in progress. However I don't believe any refurbished rooms are available to guests as yet. There as nothing intrinsically wrong with the room but everything was just tired and worn - for example, the TV cabinet contained an old cathode ray TV but a new flatscreen TV had been placed on the desk (limiting the desk space somewhat).

On the service side, things were a lot more positive. The hotel car service was excellent and all other services were courteous, friendly and helpful.

I would definitely stay here again and I'd anticipate that with refurbished rooms, the hotel will attract some significantly improved ratings in the future.

Room Tip: I was woken by the call to prayer at 05:15 every morning - I'm not sure this can be avoided if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riyadh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyadh Marriott Hotel

Address: Al Ma'ather Street | Al Wazarat District, Riyadh 11464, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Riyadh Province > Riyadh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Riyadh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riyadh Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riyadh Marriott Hotel stands majestically in the center of Riyadh City's corporate, financial and governmental agencies. This luxurious Marriott hotel in Riyadh is just minutes-drive from major shopping malls and downtown districts with easy access to King Khalid International Airport. The hotel offers excellent services in our Makarim Convention Center, Atrium Cafe, Mosaic Mediterranean Restaurant and Terrace Grill Restaurant. After business meetings and Riyadh attractions, relax in our indoor swimming pool and spa at Bodyline Health Club & Spa. You may just want the serenity and comfort in any of the 391 business-friendly rooms and suites with new beds from Marriott, down comforters, designer duvets and fluffier pillows. This multi-awarded, convenient hotel is perfect for business, conferences, events, weekend getaways, family travel and wedding. It has also 20 flexible meeting rooms, state-of-the-art space that includes Grand Ballroom and breakout rooms. Come and experience our unique Arabian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riyadh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Riyadh Hotel Riyadh
Riyadh Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riyadh Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.