We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Breakfasts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Abdulaziz Road | P.O Box 17058, Riyadh 11484, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #15 of 159 Hotels in Riyadh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Expensive Breakfasts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My first time at this hotel and the room was comfortable, although the workspace area is very small, at least in the room I had. Bathroom is fine and cupboard space more than enough for a week's business trip. The kettle and re-supply of water and biscuits was a nice touch.

The reconstruction is still going on, but this did not bother me, staff were pleasant.

The only annoying thing was having to pay 135 riyals (USD36) for a couple of pieces of fruit, a croissant and a pot of green tea. Next time (if there is one) I will bring my own green tea and have breakfast in my room.

I paid a mere 50 Riyals for a club sandwich for lunch one day which was better value than the breakfast

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chakib L, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest and Reviewer

First of all I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal to be your home while in Riyadh, and we are looking forward to seeing you staying with us again and again.

We are happy to read comments on your experience during your recent stay with us and surely they will enable us to further improve our services and facilities to provide you with better quality of Service, surely that your comments about the breakfast are of great value to us our buffet breakfast is offering 3 main options, continental breakfast, , Buffet Breakfast and American Breakfast where charges defer from one to another we will make sure during your next stay with us to clarify the above said options to enable you enjoy Crowne Plaza brand ONE STEP AHEAD promise and further , contribute into your travelling success

Once again thank you very much for taking time to write your review on trip advisor and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal .during your future visits to Riyadh


Kind regards



Chakib Lahlou
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    59
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
5
11
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

this the 5th time i stay there,and it will not be the last,as a psychiatrist i assure that the quality of sleep is incomparable,as if i haven't slept before ,Omar in front desk was very helpful and caring,all the staff of the restaurant was incredible,Jawad the manager of the restaurant and khan and Kreem,the house keeping guy is perfect,my wife stayed to learn from him how to make the room
i recommend this hotel to any one with a sleep problem,to anyone in riyadh,the location of the hotel is perfect,close to the zoo,close to hyatt mall and downtown

Room Tip: wooden floor,city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chakib L, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest and Reviewer

First of all I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal to be your home while in Riyadh, and we are looking forward to seeing you staying with us again and again .

We are happy to read comments on your experience during your recent stay with us and surely they will enable us to further improve our services and facilities to provide you with better quality of Service surely that Omar is among our best performers and is a great member of our front desk team , the Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal entire team is fully committed to enable you enjoying Crowne Plaza brand ONE STEP AHEAD promise and contribute into your travelling success

Once again thank you very much for taking time to write your review on trip advisor and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal .during your future visits to Riyadh


Kind regards



Chakib Lahlou
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I loved the clean and new room they gave me. Enjoyed staying there. They are still renovating the lobby and walkways which look like a left over from the 80's. I recommend especially after they finish redecorating the place.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chakib L, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest and Reviewer

First of all I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal to be your home while in Riyadh, and we are looking forward to seeing you staying with us again and again .

We are happy to read comments on your experience during your recent stay with us and surely they will enable us to further improve our services and facilities to provide you with better quality of Service surely that the ongoing expansion will enable us to offer you a much larger lobby area providing the latest facilities and services to enable you you enjoying Crowne Plaza brand ONE STEP AHEAD promise and contribute into your travelling success

Once again thank you very much for taking time to write your review on trip advisor and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal .during your future visits to Riyadh


Kind regards



Chakib Lahlou
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel was undergoing renovation when i stayed there, but this was in no way an encumbrance to my stay. However as one may gather I did say at the old portion of the hotel and my review should be viewed in this manner.

This is mainly a business hotel and it is away from the area one would want to be if one is a non-business traveler. Getting a taxi is not a problem, but it is not a breeze either.

The location of the hotel is what irritated me the most, however on most other counts like courtesy and cleanliness it was decent. The hotel staff were not world class, but they were very warm whenever required.

I room was decent and clean. The hotel apparently laid great emphasis on sleeping well, therefore they had some sort of pillow spray & roll on to aide the process. This worked well and I was pleasantly surprised.

So all in all it is a decent hotel for business stays and if the location is not a constraint, then post the renovation this would be a good hotel to stay in.

Not much dining options, but again post renovation I am sure this will change.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chakib L, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest and Reviewer

First of all I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal to be your home while in Riyadh, and we are looking forward to seeing you staying with us again and again.

We are happy to read comments on your experience during your recent stay with us and surely they will enable us to further improve our services and facilities to provide you with better quality of Service surely that the ongoing expansion will enable us to offer you a much larger lobby and public areas, 4 specialty restaurants & numerous meeting rooms to satisfy every need and complemented by world class service enabling you to enjoy Crowne Plaza brand ONE STEP AHEAD promise and contribute into your travelling success

Once again thank you very much for taking time to write your review on trip advisor and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal .during your future visits to Riyadh


Kind regards



Chakib Lahlou
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I'm quite picky when choosing hotels. I like my hotels fairly-priced and provide a good night sleep especially when traveling on business. I have stayed at this hotel twice as has become my go to hotel in the Kingdom. I'm quite old-fashioned. If it's a good hotel, I usually will not change. And it is true for the Crowne in Riyadh. The bed and pillows are excellent, very very high quality. The bathroom has hot water at a good pressure. English shows on TV to relax before getting some sleep. Steady wifi in the room. There is a desk next to the window where there is a switch-controlled curtain to block the Arabian sun. Overall, it is a wonderful escape after you've been out in the city in the day time. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I used to stay at the Marriott in Riyadh but stopped several years ago because of the musty smelling rooms, dated and worn room furniture, and poor quality restaurant service. I have been staying the past 3 years at the Crowne Plaza Minhal on business trips to Riyadh, and overall it is a decent quality business hotel. For Saudi Arabia, the front desk operation is quite efficient and pleasant.

Most recently I stayed Nov 26 - 28 at the Crowne Plaza Minhal and I was not disappointed. I arrived late at night and my room was waiting, along with a fruit plate. Check-in was quick and the room was quiet. Although renovation/construction noise is certainly loud during the day, I only ate lunch once at the hotel.

The restaurant has been consistently good over the years and I would certainly recommend it for business lunches or dinners. The buffet is somewhat pricey (SR 205 net for dinner and SR 185 net for lunch) but a good assortment of food is served and the waiters are very observant.

Taxi service is readily available from the hotel, and I have not had any problem with taxi drivers unable to find their way back to this property.

All in all, I would certainly recommend this hotel as a good 4 star property for business travelers and convenient to Government ministries, Royal Commission Headquarters, Prince Sultan Medical City, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stopped at the Crowne Plaza Riyadh for one week during October 2012

The first thing to know is that there is construction work going on at this hotel. During the day the sound of hammering is very intrusive and this did go on into the evening on some occasions.

Also quite bizarrely it was thought a good idea to move a monster construction machine at 3.00am one night onto the back of a low-loader truck. I am sure I wasn't the only guest woken up by the racket it made !

Check in was professional. Checking out was the same.

The bedroom I had was quite small although well appointed. There was no desk to work at having only a shelf by the window for the laptop (just wide enough for a laptop)

Internet access is free (very good) and speed seemed perfectly acceptable.

There is a small coffee table and leather chair.

A nice bowl of fruit was provided on the first two evenings but after that none was provided.

The bathroom whilst very small was good with a large walk-in shower with good toiletries provided.

The iron in the room was completely useless being a non steam iron, also the plug was broken exposing bare wires. It beggars belief that non steam irons are put in hotel rooms in this day and age !

I didn't use the one restaurant at all so can't comment other than it looked rather basic in appearance.

The lounge also leaves a lot to be desired being just an open space with chairs and tables. The drink and food menu in the lounge was limited but the waiter was very good and actually organised some food not on the menu. Well done to him !

This is not a new hotel and compared to some of the regions hotels it really does not match up favourably for quality or amenities. But saying that having stayed in four hotels in riyadh it isn't the worst you could choose (bearing in mind the on-going construction)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal

Address: King Abdulaziz Road | P.O Box 17058, Riyadh 11484, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Riyadh Province > Riyadh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Riyadh
#12 Best Value Hotel in Riyadh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riyadh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal Contemporary style and traditional hospitality in downtown Riyadh A warm Arab welcome and an elegant, modern room or suite awaits you behind the gleaming facade of the Crowne Plaza(R) Riyadh Minhal hotel. A private limo can pick you up for the 30-minute ride... Contemporary style and traditional hospitality in downtown Riyadh A warm Arab welcome and an elegant, modern room or suite awaits you behind the gleaming facade of the Crowne Plaza(R) Riyadh Minhal hotel. A private limo can pick you up for the 30-minute ride from King Khalid International Airport, and a complimentary shuttle can take you directly to Riyadh International Conference & Exhibition Centre. Business travelers are conveniently close to the Diplomatic Quarter and corporate offices. With complimentary Wi-Fi and shaded parking, a 24-hour Business Center and a smart meeting room for 15, the hotel provides round-the-clock support for guests on a busy schedule. You can start the day with a hearty breakfast buffet at Al Yasmeen Restaurant, return with clients for a business lunch and meet colleagues later for a lively themed dinner. Al Mishraq Cafe serves delicious light meals in the lobby, and room service runs 24 hours. For those with leisure time to spend in Riyadh, the Concierge can arrange transport to souks and shopping centers. If you fancy golf or an expedition into the surrounding golden dunes and wadis, our friendly staff can make all the arrangements. A small but well-equipped Fitness Center is open 24 hours. Helping you make the most of your stay in the Saudi capital, the hotel serves as both a restful retreat and a stylish base for work and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal Hotel Riyadh
Holiday Inn Riyadh
Riyadh Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.