We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, tasty, and reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Najd Village

Najd Village
Corner of King Abdullah Rd & Abo Baker Rd | 3rwerew, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
(11) 2250034
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 261 Restaurants in Riyadh
Cuisines: Afghan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is a traditional Saudi Arabian restaurant where EVERYTHING is traditional, from the food, decor (think 1950's Riyadh) & dinning style (on the floor). It does not seem to have a website, which is why I think I haven't seen any foreigners there. This is a hidden gem I believe particularly western visitors would enjoy. Truelly authentic.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting, tasty, and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

While visiting Riyadh on business, I visited Najd Village with colleagues on the recommendation of a local for a dining experience typical of the region before it became a modern city. Seating is on the floor, on carpets. The food was plentiful and excellent, served family style. We used utensils, but the truly traditional fashion would involve eating with the (right) hand, and using bread to help. We had dishes with chicken, lamb and camel, served with various interesting sauces and vegetables, accompanied by rice and freshly prepared arabic breads. Situated on busy King Fahd Road, the restaurant is constructed to resemble a two story mud brick house with a central courtyard open to the sky, with water and grass lawn in the middle.It was quiet inside, and a lovely evening with full moon visible above, and 34C (99F) temperatures, more on that later. Surrounding the courtyard are small group dining spaces, covered, but open to the air, sized for different groups from 6 to 10 or 12. people seated on the floor on carpets, with low walls separating each group. We were the only apparent Europeans that evening, it appears to be more of a local 'interesting experience' dining venue than a tourist or typical business venue. Prices are very reasonable, 120SR pp for the meal we had, which was touted as serving 4, but could easily have served 8. I recommend this place highly!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    36
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Najd Village. The owner met us at the door and catered to our group the entire evening. This is a true Saudi dining experience. Lovely, the service was delightful, and the food was amazing. Will return for sure

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Go early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

No music, no alcohol, no women, no view - and still one of my favourite restaurants EVER. Carpeted dining enclosures around an open central courtyard,with cushions and little paraffin heaters in the winter and discrete a/c in the summer. Great saudi/ arabic food. Camel khabsa was excellent, as was the mutton stew cooked and served in a little pot. watching the wafer thin bread being made by hand is also fun. but best is just sitting back, on the floor of course, relaxing with a group of friends. with maybe a little pot of ginger tea afterwards.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasolburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
“Traditional Najd Tribal Experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of the most traditional restaurants in Riyadh. One sits on the floor (Carpeted) and eat with your (right) hand. The best food to order it the mezze (do not order for all the guests as the amount is excessive and cannot be consumed).

The family section (1st floor) provides individual rooms for each group. In the center there are traditional exhibits that is worth while spending time at.

During the winter remember to order wood to burn in the traditional fireplace.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Authentic dishes!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We heard about this eatery from a long time through friends and reviews read online. When we got the chance couldn't postpone the opportunity.
Vintage cars welcome you at the entrance and the exterior of the building looks like an old mud house from olden days. One has to sit down and eat but its worth the pain. the waiters are dressed traditionally and are very welcome. The ambience catches your attention with kerosene lamps, majlis and partitions made of typical saudi design cloth.
Food came fast after ordering and the highlight is the tender camel meat curry which has to be tried. Other stuff is good too and how can one not try the arabic coffee with dates to finish it off???
If your going for dinner better reach early as it gets busy with locals and expats packing up the place. It has to be tried to believe it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Najd Village also viewed

Riyadh, Riyadh Province
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
 
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
 

Been to Najd Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Najd Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.