We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good..but just because of the context” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Restaurant

Tokyo Restaurant
Al uruba Street, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
01-460-5672
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 261 Restaurants in Riyadh
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good..but just because of the context”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Only because there are no competitors in the city this restaurant is considered good.
If it was located in any other civilized and free city in the world I think it would close within a year. Since there's NO offer at all in Riyadh this place is considered a favourite, and in this context I think it's true..but please don't compare it with REAL and GOOD japanese restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    54
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best Japanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is the best Japanese food I ever taste. Nice restaurant with a high level customer attention. I am sure that I will return there in my next visit to Riyadh

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A regular for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

One of my favourite restaurants in Riyadh. This is certainly the best Sushi in Riyadh and I am never surprised by the number of regulars you see on each visit. The food is excellent and since the refurbishment the decor is much improved.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Japanese oasis in the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

A good sushi place can be found in most middle eastern cities but authentic Japanese is not so common. So when I found out that they had katsu don, I had to take it. And I was not disappointed. I have tried many authentic Japanese around the world and for the Middle East this is defiantly one of the best if not the best. The place is cozy and have a wonderful decor. The only downside is the difficulty finding a parking space in front of it at dinner time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I like the restaurant recent renovations. Actually it is an update for every thing. They have changed to be one of the best restaurants in Riyadh. If you like Japanese food, try it and you will not regret it. Very comfortable decor that reflect Japanese simplicity.

You must try thier live cooking dishes that is cooked in front of you.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Restaurant also viewed

Riyadh, Riyadh Province
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
 
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
 

Been to Tokyo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.