We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza, great salad bar - no atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Piazza Restaurant

La Piazza Restaurant
King Fahad Road | Sheraton Riyadh Hotel, corner King Abdullah Road, PO Box 90807, Riyadh 11623, Saudi Arabia
+96614543300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 285 Restaurants in Riyadh
Price range: $0 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Pizza, great salad bar - no atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The salad bar here is excellent - all very authentic Italian options. Mozzarella, Anchovies, Artichokes, Tuna, Sundried toms etc. Pizza was good too. The problem here is the atmosphere - there isn't one. It comes with being in a hotel I expect but I was happy to finish my food and leave as soon as possible. The staff must be so bored!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammad B, Manager at La Piazza Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Mdearlove,

Thank very much for taking the time to give your comment on our restaurant. We appreciate your sincere comment regarding our food and service at La piazza. The management will work very hard to provide a suitable atmosphere that presents the identity of the restaurant.

Food and Beverage Team
Sheraton Riyadh Hotel and Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    11
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I ordered the Lobster Ravioli and was disappointed with the pasta (some overcooked) and the quality of the lobster stuffing - being from New England maybe my standards are high for Lobster Ravioli but I don't think you should put a dish on the menu unless you can excel at it - certainly not in a 5 star hotel.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Spain
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good place nothing extraordinary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Again I am finding a problem to rate a restaurant because again this is not normal but its not a very good either, a plain GOOD.

Location is in the Sheraton Hotel and Towers in Riyadh, decor is nice, different, tables are ok and you even have 2 or 3 for large groups.

Service is good, no problems whatsoever

Went for a quick bite and the comments are:

Buffet Salad looked very good, but too expensive for a salad 16€ (even if its buffet)
Grilled Cheese not that good, not that well grilled.... it needs to be a but burned if you understand what I mean
Oilive oil and vinegar in the table, good touch
Good bread also...
Pizzas (seafood and pepperoni) were good, tasty, but, at the same time the base was not cooked enough to my taste (prefer it more crunchy) and a with no salt. As it did not bring too much tomato and mozarella is not salty, it was tasty but lacked something
Had the beef medaglions which were very nice and tasty, it came with salad and parmesan, good touch. Asked it to come blu but not cold and it came perfect, which it is difficult to get
A couple of juices (nice and tasty)

Ok price

Its a good place for Italian food, much better than other Italian options in the city that I have tried.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I had it delivered”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

By the time the food came it was soggy and cold, so this review really isnt helpful if you go eat at the restauraunt, but I was surprised it was rated so high since the pizza, was really not that good, and I am a pizza expert

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“No complaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have been there lately calibrating our son's birthday.
Perfect atmosphere, awesome ambiance with the star sky, and delicious food.
Ofcorse worth to mention, a spice bill. But all in all nice!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piazza Restaurant also viewed

Riyadh, Riyadh Province
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
 
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
 

Been to La Piazza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Piazza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.