We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Stone

Black Stone
Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Mecca
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This holy stone is the eastern cornerstone of the Kaaba, the ancient stone building towards which all Muslims pray. Many Muslims believe that the stone (originally white but now black from absorbing the sins of man) fell from heaven during the time of Adam and Eve.
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Omra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

If there are a lot of people arround it, I advise everyone not to try to touch it. It will only hurt other visitors.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    15
    7
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sawab - but at your own peril!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Party of four & we all managed to Kiss the Black Stone, but be warned people have no respect for whether your a woman or child, it's just a mad rush to get to it. I saw a child separated from her mother, was too far to help, but the poor child was nearly crushed. Please do not take really young children, it's so easy to lose them and they could be trampled. Having said all that the feeling when you do kiss Hajar Aswad is amazing, your lips have touched where our NABI has touched.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unbelievable, the most uplifting experience of my life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

It seems odd to be reviewing this but I just have to say if you can manage to get to Hajr e Aswad (The Black Stone) it will change your life. I was lucky enough to reach it and kiss it. I felt so uplifted I cannot put it into words. I was there for Umrah, it is near impossible to reach during Hajj because of the sheer number of people there. If you are going to try I recommend trying during Umrah.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“the most beautiful sight in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Words cant explain the feeling one gets there.....all those ppl worried about it being busy , disorganized or any such complaints.....plz remember this is in the house of Allah and all the muslims want to go there.....with such a crowd it cant be better.anyways once i reached there i didnt think about complaining just about being in the best place in this world.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It speaks for itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Breathtaking, beautiful and peacefully even though it is so busy. You feel at peace here. Everyone is there for the same reason and you will never feel alone.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Stone also viewed

Mecca, Makkah Province
Mecca, Makkah Province
 

Been to Black Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Stone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.