We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still The Best In Makkah for Service, Location and Accessibility to the Haram...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid to your Saves list
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ibraheem Al Khalil Road | P.O. Box 2728, Makkah 21955, Mecca, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 259 Hotels in Mecca
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Still The Best In Makkah for Service, Location and Accessibility to the Haram...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

i have stayed in almost all of the 5 star Hotels in Makkah and the Dar Al Tawhid still holds its charm and beats all other hotels in the segment of ease of access to the Haram and having the best elevators system in Makkah which makes it very easy when leaving or entering the hotel.

The rooms are very good and the size of the rooms mostly very large compared to other hotels and the interior of the hotel is very unique and luxurious. but i think a major renovation would be good if it can be done soon as some areas in the rooms needs major renovation.

The food was also excellent both in the buffet restaurant for breakfast and also in room dining.

definitely would return for my next trip to Makkah.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for your positive remarks in the TripAvisor website.

We are delighted to read your positive feedback regarding our elevators, guestrooms and restaurant buffet food / service. It is indeed encouraging to see that you had a great experience during your stay at our hotel, noting your comments Such fine comments would no doubt further motivate our entire team in going the extra miles and satisfy our valued guest needs.

As for the rooms renovation, it is already on-going in phases and some floors have been completed already. Probably during your next booking, you may request for a renovated room.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    26
    6
    7
    3
See reviews for
107
27
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

It's not a boutique hotel, but it sure has seen years, or seems to. Having said that, excluding the Bin Daud hotels, this hotel is for me the best option to stay in. Its proximity to the Masjid Al Haram is a pulling factor. Pilgrims and natives literally pray a few feet from the doorsteps of the hotel. If one is very connected to the spiritual pilgrimage of being in Mekkah, the ambience that surrounds it is full of serendipitous calm and the evenings are just indescribable, walking along the perimeter of the Masjid Al Haram. The meals are also adequately diverse. One thing that I had to get used to was the elevator system, but a few days made me accustomed. The living space in the rooms are sufficient, the amenities good and the beds and temperature I found comfy. Bin Daud is just right up the corner for any sundry needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Mr. Shaiomarali,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for your positive remarks in the TripAvisor website.

We are delighted to review your feedback and indeed glad to see that you had a great experience during your stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Our Hajj 2012 has been a wonderful experience. Alhamdullilah with great service, helpful and efficient staff. Good and convenient location. Good dining menu. Excellent stay. Insyaallah will come again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Mr. / Ms. Idza2425,

Greetings from the Holy City of Makkah Al Mukarramah.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your Haj pilgrimage and we appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel.

We are delighted to read your positive feedback and extremely happy to note that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah - “your home at the holy city”.

Sincerely,


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

the hotel is a bit old. so are the furniture. but the location is amazing. lovely view. the rooms smell very nice... the food not so much (very bad infact) the bed made some noise of squeeks. the shower was a bit cold. but it was a one night stay so i wouldnt complain so much specially being on a spiritual worshiping duty

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Mr. Sultan QS,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Holy City and we appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel.

We are delighted to read your positive feedback and have also noted your comments regarding some other aspects. Rest assured, we shall be working to improve in those areas as indicated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore Cantonment, Punjab, Pakistan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

thank you for great hospitality.. our hajj operators chose this hotel.one of the reasons, my hajj 2012 is a great memory is because of the great location and your well trained ever helpful staff, even in the busiest time of the year.we never had to wear shoes even.:) i heard its site will become a part of haram... sigh....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for your delightful remarks in the TripAvisor website.

We are delighted to review your positive feedback and indeed glad to see that you had a great experience during your stay at our hotel this hajj season. Such fine comments would no doubt further motivate our entire team in going the extra miles and satisfy our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards.


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a sight!!! To be able to see the mosque Bab-e-Fahd entrance door from our room. At the call of prayers you feel in your room as if you are right there inside the mosque itself.

I was surprise to read the comment by wsqa titled "The Worst". I am not sure he is writing about the same hotel. This is Darul Tawhid aka InterContinental Makkah.

Our room was as big as a suite. Luxury furnishings all over the room with a luxury bathroom. Yes it is quite expensive at over $200++ but then we were there for Umrah just week before the Haj started this year.

The management sprang into action when I complaint the taste of chicken in Baryani rice dish ordered through room service. The F & B manager called to apologize. Room Division sent in
a hand written card. Then we receive a huge tray of arabic sweets & teas.

Anything we ask was ready & provided immediately. I am a former Fours Seasons Assistant Manager in Georgetown, Washington, DC. so I was impressed by the response from the hotel staff & management. From Bell staff to Front Desk to Manager on duty everyone was highly trained & respectful to us their guest. My compliments to the General Manager & owners of this fine establishement.

Inshallah I will return if Allah is pleased with me & grant my wish to visit the Grand Mosque over & over again & for Haj. Ameen.

Haroon I. Malik
North Springfield, Virginia, USA
September 25 & 26, 2012.

Room Tip: Its all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We performed Hajj in 2011 and were lucky that our tour operator had booked this hotel for us in Makkah. We were overwhelmed with the hospitality and the cleanliness. Since we attended during the Hajj season it was very very busy but all the staff/porters were helpful.

The most amazing aspect was the locality of the hotel and the sound of hearing the Azaan and also having breakfast/dinner whilst looking at the Haram Masjid. Oh and the food was delicious, every type of speciality catered for. The rooms were very modern and clean. The beds were comfy after a long day of worshipping.

Next time we visit, we will definitely be staying here again.

A front view is a must!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Hajji Javed,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for your positive remarks in the TripAvisor website

We are delighted to review your feedback and indeed glad to see that you had a great guest experience during your stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards.


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid

Address: Ibraheem Al Khalil Road | P.O. Box 2728, Makkah 21955, Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
#20 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid 5*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid Makkah is located in front of the Holy Haram, giving most guests uninterrupted views of the city s religious centre. A number of holy shrines including the Jannat Al Moaalah Graveyard are a short walk or taxi ride away, as are the Touwah Well and the Central Business District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Dar Al Tawhid Hotel Mecca
Intercontinental Hotel Mecca
Dar Al Tawhid Intercontinental
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid Makkah/Mecca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.