We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average service from a well known name in hotel industry.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman ZamZam Makkah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman ZamZam Makkah to your Saves list
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abraj Al Bait Complex | Central Area Ajyad, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 236 Hotels in Mecca
Geylang, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average service from a well known name in hotel industry.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It was difficult for our driver to find his way to the hotel. The hotel is located within a big development known as Abrajj Albeit which has a few hotel properties and among them is Pullman Zamzam Makkah. Security guards stopped our driver stopped our car at entrance and we had to show prove of our reservation to allow us in. There was no sign to show us which one is our hotel, we can see signs for Raffles, Movenpick, Firmont and others but no Pullman Zamzam Makkah !!
We had to ask one hotel staff standing around who directed us to the entrance of Zamzam. The check-in was smooth, no question asked but it took a while from the staff to issue us the Room Keys.
The Room is comfortable with two Queen size Beds, small kitchenette and bathroom with shower and bath tub, with basic amenities of shampoo, bath gel, soap and body lotion but lacked other amenities such as Razor, Tooth Brush and Tooth Paste, shower Cab, ladies pads, cotton, sewing kit and shoes shine. The Breakfast was a nightmare with very crowded restaurant, guests had to pour hot water from a huge boiler to mix their tea or coffee by themselves. With such crowd around the BOILER, I was afraid that someone will leave the tab open and here comes down the boiling water to burn someone's skin !!
I pointed out this point to one of the staff in the restaurant, and he answered me: "what can we do with so many guests". I was surprised with his answer especially that he asked me to suggest to him what can be done !!??
Well, I was shocked to see an ACCOR staff who does not know what can be done with big crowd at Breakfast time, I simply answered him: "get two staff from among your time, ask them to carry two jugs of Tea and Coffee each and go around to serve the guests. You are an ACCOR Hotel for haven's sake !!". I told that Restaurant staff who wears a tie and a black vest: "if water burns some guest here, who will be responsible !!??".
I was not happy with it as he took it lightly.
The Hotel location supposed to be close to the Holy Mosque of Makkah but moving through the elevators make it seem to be far. At one night, electricity was cut off, security forces and perhaps civil defence were around. No explanation was give for what is happening and what went wrong or how long it will take. We had to stay inside our room without air-condition and no emergency light in total darkness !!
Even after the lights came back and air-conditions run again, no apology was made and no explanation was given.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Pullmanhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham K, Quality & Attitude Manager at Pullman ZamZam Makkah, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Yousry

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at Pullman zamZam on the 6th November.
In the first instance, may I offer my sincere apologies for the averge service you received on this
occasion. Please be assured that this is not a true reflection of the high standards upon which Pullman ZamZam prides itself.

Your feedback on missing some kinds of amenities in the room has been passed to the housekeeping team. I am sure that had you addressed these issues with the staff on duty at the time they would have made every effort to rectify the situation, however this does not in any way excuse the disappointment you were subject to and you should not take this as indicative of the level and service that Pullman ZamZam strives to provide.

I was disappointed to learn of the manner in which your query was dealt with by a member of our
staff at the restarant. This lack of customer service is not acceptable and I assure you that Food & Beverage Manager has reviewed your comments with the staff member concerned. The appropriate action has been taken to ensure that an incident of this nature does not reoccur.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the sudden unexpected power shut down that happen during your stay, on 11th of November. I understand the frustration this may have caused you. I can also only apologise on behalf of the staff that were on duty that no assistance was offered to you.

Thank you once again for your feedback, which is invaluable in our efforts to assess and
continually improve upon the quality of our service. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming
you back to Pullman ZamZam and better meeting your expectations in the future.

Please feel free to contact myself directly via the below details if you are travelling to Makkah again so that I may personally take care of you and your next stay.

Sincerely,
Hesham Al Kabbany
Qulaity & Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    60
    53
    36
    24
See reviews for
185
29
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here from sept 23 to sept 29 on the 17 floor.I have the same complaints/issues that most people have already talked about. It is not a 5 star simply because things like, sink had no drain web, the tub was cracked, are what no 5 star worth it's salt would ever do.. Kettle was available, which according to some reviews, people didn't get, but no complimentary tea,coffee or sugar .Wifi not free and pretty darn expensive.
The best thing was the proximity to the Haram but that proximity is shared by all the Al-Bait complex hotels so no extra points there. Havent been inside the other hotels in the complex, but Im assuming that most of them don't have the same maintenance issues. I cant simply give any leeway just because it was busy season. Busy also mean more income, so generally the service should be better in those days. The staff was fine, no issues there. Overall the experience was fine, not too bad and not very awesome.
If you are going for religious reasons, the chances are you wouldn't be spending much time at the hotel anyway, so in that case I would rec'd it, with the warning to not expect a 5 star property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham K, Quality & Atitude Manager at Pullman ZamZam Makkah, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.

The interaction with Maintenance & Tea Coffe Tray- at your room with regards to your comments is certainly not typical and I will be sure to raise your experience with our entire team as a training exercise.

Concerning Internet service rates I can assure to your good self that our prices are the lowest prices available for this service in the area. a cost plus rate is there in order to guarantee a high speed browsing services for our guests

Please feel free to contact myself directly via the below details if you are travelling to Makkah again so that I may personally take care of you and your next stay.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to Makkah was most enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Hesham Al Kabbany
Quality & Attitude Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsville, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Location is unique overlooking Haram. room size is great with a small kitchenette- not functioning-.
Ask for a Kaaba view room, you will pay more but you will get a magnificent view. Food was tasty in the restaurant. Staff is always smiling and willing to help.

Would stay here for my next trip and I will recommend it for family & friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham K, Quality & Attitude Manager at Pullman ZamZam Makkah, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Ms Fathia

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Pullman Zamzam Makkah. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed there for about 10 days during the pilgrimage season(religious tourism), it is a very hard season for any hotel, due to the enormous numbers ,and of course this is the real test to any professional hotel, my overall evaluation as an experienced guest of the 5 stars service they are 60% due to the following reasons:
1-The rooms are clean, but the daily house keeping don't change the bed sheets
2-The service in the restaurants are too slow, staff not well trained, they are not helpful, you ask for water, they simply tell you , go get it your self (sometimes with rude way)
3-Third day, the restaurant person in charge (mr. Ahmed) took my plate away from me not allowing me to eat, simply because the tables are not ready yet though we were allowed to enter the restaurant and gather food on plates, it was shocking to me and i had to make a complain, i never saw him again till i checked out.(simply he is perfect in security rather than restaurants)
4-The don't provide any free internet neither in rooms nor in lobby, so we had to go to other hotels in the lobby to had our free internet,( they charge you 30 riya per hour, 60 riyal per day, 200 riyal per week), it is more economic to have a 60 riyal 3G service for all your stay, you will find them at the mall lobby on the ground floor
5-The corridors we smelly, it was awful smell, but it got better by days.
6-They don't provide free complimentary water bottler or tea or nescafe or any kind of drinks like other hotels do.
7-The restaurants open buffet are with limited choices, you have to eat same food every day for 10 days
8- we had a big room with 4 guests, but on the first days , the 4 keys didn't work , so we had to make 4 new keys.
i think their problem was serving a lot of people in limited time affected the quality of service they provide, they are not ready yet to accept a full booking ,
other than that we enjoyed sleeping and air conditioning, having Harram prayers in our room,they changed towels daily.

Room Tip: try to get rooms in first to fourth floor, during high season it is critical to reach your room, aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham K, Quality & Attitude Manager at Pullman ZamZam Makkah, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Samer

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.

The interaction with our staff member- at the Restaurant & housekeeping with regards to your comments is certainly not typical and I will be sure to raise your experience with our entire team as a training exercise.


Please feel free to contact myself directly via the below details if you are travelling to Makkah again so that I may personally take care of you and your next stay.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to Makkah was most enjoyable.

Sincerely

Hesham Al Kabbany
Quality & Attitude Manager
H6036-qm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Pullman Zamzam is perfect regarding its location if front of King Abdul-Aziz gate, its rooms you can see the Kaaba and Haram, regarding service it is perfect however it is little expensive in laundry. Meals are very good, you can have a lot of western and eastern meals in the restaurant. rooms are Spacious and every room has 2 king sized beds. Very wide LCD screen. You can feel warmth in rooms, efficient air condition. If you are looking to have a comfortable Hajj stay in Mecca, I recommend for you this hotel.

Room Tip: Kaaba view rooms are very nice, ask to have one upon check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham K, Quality & Atittude Manager at Pullman ZamZam Makkah, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Mirza


We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Pullman Zamzam Makkah. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peshawar
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I along with my family stayed at the hotel from September 24 till 28, 2013. We went to perform Hajj this year; however, due to poor service and indifference on part of the hotel administration we have to return back without performing Hajj. As I suffered from nerve compression pain I requested for wheal chair however, they told me that they have more than 70 wheelchairs but all of them are in bad shape. Then they told me that I can get it from haram free of. Cost. I walked all the way to haram only to learn that they are provided only to those with prior permission letter from the Makhab / Muallam. While returning from Haram I collapsed and could not make it to my room. Moreover, we were four of us and were supposed to be given a suite, instead they gave us a double room with two extra beds and blankets. Toilet accessories were also provided daily for two, besides, there was no prayer mat or copy of Quran in the room.
The cleaning staff despite knowing English as they were phillipinos pretended that they didn't know any language except for Arabic.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham K, Quality & Attitude Manager at Pullman ZamZam Makkah, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Bushrah

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.

The interaction with our Bell Captain & Housekeeping with regards to your comments is certainly not typical and I will be sure to raise your experience with our entire team as a training exercise.

Please feel free to contact myself directly via the below details if you are travelling to Makkah again so that I may personally take care of you and your next stay.

Once again please do accept my apologies.

I appreciate if you would address your forthcoming stay at Pullman ZamZam Makkah to my attention to allow us to take personal care. Until then, please accept our regards

Hesham Al Kabbany
Quality & Attitude Manager
H6036-QM@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed at the Pullman Hotel which is based within the Zamzam Tower. The hotel was a blessing from Allah as it is the best location good food and good service.

Inshallah if I return I would be looking to go back to the same hotel, cause of all the positives and no negatives.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham K, Qualityn & Attitude Manager at Pullman ZamZam Makkah, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you very much for great feedback. We appreciate taking form your valuable time to write your impression about your stay with us. We work hard to offer good, friendly & efficient service and I’m so glad your visit was enjoyable. I will pass your feedback on to the team, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman ZamZam Makkah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman ZamZam Makkah

Address: Abraj Al Bait Complex | Central Area Ajyad, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman ZamZam Makkah 5*
Number of rooms: 1315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman ZamZam Makkah stands as a distinctive landmark in Makkah, located in the spectacular new Abraj Al Bait complex, directly adjoining Masjid Al Haram and the holy Kaaba in the very heart of Makkah facing King Abdulaziz gate. This masterpiece offers the finest hospitality in Makkah, having 1315 elegantly appointed rooms and suites with extravagant amenitites, two contemporary dining options and five-star-deluxe services filled with spirituality while enjoying direct views over the holy Kaaba ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pullman ZamZam Makkah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman ZamZam Makkah Mecca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman ZamZam Makkah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.