We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Makkah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Makkah to your Saves list
Swissotel Makkah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ajyad Street | King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Mecca 762, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 236 Hotels in Mecca
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Spent a week here. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Room was pleasant and having an expresso machine a good bonus. A relative of min was unwell and not able to go down for breakfast so they sent it upstairs to the room (many thanks to Restaurant Manager Abdulmajeed and Supervisor Shakeer). Our regular room cleaner Amjad Haidre very polite and good worker ad well.
All in all, pleasant and stress free stay. Been here twice now and no second thoughts about having to come back here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Swissotel Makkah, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear FH,
Greeting from Makkah!
Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing Swissotel Makkah TWICE!. we are glad that you liked our rooms and you found our staff friendly. We shall be looking forward to welcome you again in the holy city.
Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    143
    59
    14
    25
See reviews for
354
75
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel within a ten minute walk to the holy shrine. Rooms are small though but the nespresso machine makes up for that!
Breakfast is amazing and the staff are on the whole friendly and attentive. Would definitely stay here again!

However If booking soon ask for a room at the front as building work at the back means sleep is a luxury. As we had gone to prey it wasn't really an issue.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau Bassin - Rose Hill, Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

excellent location within sight of masjid haram in makkah.it took us less time to come down from our 37th floor room than to walk to the masjid door excellent food for breakfast. clean hotel, good room service

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. One of the largest hotels I have stayed in, 49 floors all in all. We stayed on 38th floor in a Haram Facing room. This allowed us to see the top of the Kaaba and the Tawaaf area as well as all the construction taking place. Nice room,comfortable beds and a nice size bathroom. Rooms are a bit dusty with stains on carpet but modern. Nespresso machine as well as bottles of water every day. Foyer is huge and full 24/7 as the hotel was operating on 100 percent capacity. Breakfast was great and I admire the restaurant staff who deal with so many people in and out in a short period. The breakfast room is huge and there are four breakfast stations operating at the same time. Good food quality, free wifi and pleasant staff, but you will not expect anything less from Swissotel.

Room Tip: If travelling on Saudi Airlines it is worth going to the business centre to have your boarding pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Received excellent service Mohamed Rizan who attended and took care of our needs superbly while we stayed at the swissotel we will definitely recommend that you ask for a floor where he is in attendance. Nothing was too much of a problem from getting water for our kids to servicing our room and all our other needs.If we return we definitely request that he attend to us again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The location is perfect. Near to Haram. Can be easily access either through Zam Zam Tower or Hotel main entrance. Nice view if you got Haram view room. 5 Star facilities with Superb Breakfast! The whole family enjoying our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I went for Umrah with my mother and brother in Jan this year. The hotel is conveniently located close to the Haram. The mall on the ground is also very nice and if you are getting late for Salat ( or someone like who has a toddler!) I could catch the Jamaat in the mall too.As you enter the lobby its very nice. The breakfast buffet was also a very good spread. However, we were disappointed with the room size and more then that the bathroom was too small,the shower cubicle was to small and the bathroom would always flood. The taps would come off as well !

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Makkah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Makkah

Address: Ajyad Street | King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Mecca 762, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#3 Family Hotel in Mecca
#12 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Makkah 5*
Number of rooms: 1487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Makkah is not only the first Swissotel to be opened in Saudi Arabia, but is also the first to commence in the entire Middle East. As part of the prestigious Abraj Al Bait complex, the deluxe Swissotel Makkah is a contemporary five-star hotel located in close proximity to the holy Masjid Al Haraam, overlooking the Ka’aba, as well as the entire Masjid. The Swissotel Makkah offers 1,487 elegant rooms and suites with modern contemporary design that complements the rich, hospitable values of Arab culture. The hotel includes two restaurants, one meeting room, and one business centre. With private entrances that make it easier for pilgrims to reach the Masjid Al Haram, Swissotel is also the only Makkah hotel with a direct entrance through Ajyad Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Makkah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Makkah Mecca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Makkah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.