We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL - SAAD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Makkah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Makkah to your Saves list
Swissotel Makkah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ajyad Street | King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Mecca 762, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 236 Hotels in Mecca
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL - SAAD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Swissotel Makkah is one of the best hotels i have stayed in Makkah.The Staff is friendly and helpful. Location of the hotel to haram is OK.The advantage of this hotel comparing to others its elevators are direct Haram.The room is well equiped .Wifi is free and its available in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    139
    58
    14
    25
See reviews for
349
75
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This my first time in Swissotel Makkah, it was good experince, i didn't expect that. room value was very good, all the staff were helpfull, very friendly, polite and pleasant to deal with, and a special thanks to Dept Head Ahmed Biomey, Supervisor Umar Khan & Room Boy Rizan. I'm definitely come back to Swissotel Makkah & i'll recommended to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siwar B, Social Media Manager at Swissotel Makkah, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your great review! Mr. Biomey, Mr. Khan, Mr. Rizan and the rest of the Swissotel Makkah team look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Thank you again. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

In and of itself, the hotel wasn’t bad. The rooms were clean, and comfortable, and equipped with basic necessities, as well as some supplemental accessories. The staff were very friendly, polite and efficient. However, there were some things that hindered us from having an altogether pleasant stay. For one thing, construction of hotel isn’t entirely complete. Three out of six elevators were under construction; one of the three elevators was barricaded with mattresses to help guests take caution and avoid using it! Elevators were almost always full, and we often had to wait for several minutes to find one to get us to the lobby. The hotel’s infrastructure was obviously not ready yet to take on so many guests. It seems that the management wanted a quick return on their investment, but this might not work in the long term.

What is more, for breakfast, we had to walk over to a neighboring hotel, and change two elevators in order to get to the buffet hall. During our stay on the 16th floor, there were some construction work carried out right out our window. We asked to be moved to a quieter floor, and the hotel management arranged for the move promptly, but we had to pay a substantial amount because the rooms available on the 27th floor (quieter floor) had a view of the Haram. All in all, we do not recommend this hotel as long as it remains in its current state.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

it was really amazing days every thing amazing and satisfy and really i appreciate serviece room boy Rizan and Sub Umar Khan i would like back again one day to makkah

This hotel will be my first choice of accommodation when I return to Makkah (hopefully soon insh'Allah!).

Room Tip: Room Num 2423 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at Swissotel Makkah. I expected the best atmosphere based on the name and rating of the hotel, and this is what I found:

- You may need to wait for 10 minutes to get down to the lobby by the elevator. This is becuase 2 out of the 6 elevators cannot reach the lobby floor! and you have to press the button again and hope you will get the right elevator! I can't imagine how long you have to wait in Haj season!
- The construction at the same floor is too loud.. it is litterally like an explosion! It starts from 7 am till around sunset! Of course we were not notice of any construction while reservation.
- I had a look at the construction next to our room. Imagine that you see an open area, exposed to the outside at 31st level!! Imagine of some kids sneak out there!! No signs, barrication, no one to stop people from reaching there!!!
- The AC control wasn't functioninig. No control on the temperature set point, it was either too cold (19 deg C) or you have to switch it off.
- I booked my room through the official web site of the hotel, it costs 800 R/night. While checking-in, the reception guy was surprised because the normal cost of that room should be 600 per night, but he couldn't ajdust the price because it was too late to cancel that reservation and make a new one!
- We asked for a baby crib but it wasn't available.
- The breakfast location is in a separate tower. You have to get to the shopping mall and take another elevator.

On the other hand, I have to mention some positive points:
- The room furniture is new and nice.
- The location of the hotel is perfect, near the Haram.
- The staff is very friendly and polite.
- The breakfast hall is very big.
- The internet is free and fast.

Room Tip: Stay away from level 31 if construction is still going on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siwar B, Social Media Manager at Swissotel Makkah, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry to see that you were disappointed during your stay and we apologize for any inconvenience due to maintenance and construction during your visit. We have discussed the issues you mentioned with our general manager directly who will be addressing each point with the related team, including our maintenance and guest relations departments to resolve them as soon as possible. Additionally, we are happy to let you know that our extensive international buffet restaurant Al Ruwad will be opening very soon. Please do contact us with any additional details at socialmediamakkah@raffles.com, and do let us know if you intend on visiting us again soon so we can ensure the best stay possible for you and your family. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We got the opportunity to stay in Swissotel twice. First time in Ramadan, when it had recently opened and again during Hajj. Both these periods are extremely busy and can be very demanding for the hotel. However, the service offered by swissotel during this peak period of good

We had a comfortable stay and found the staff to be friendly (as per Saudi standards of customer service)

The location is also very good and you are literally next to Haram

You have to walk a long way to get to the restaurant for breakfast but that should improve when hotel own restaurant starts operating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siwar B, Social Media Manager at Swissotel Makkah, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a comfortable stay. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding walking to an external restaurant for breakfast and we are glad to let you know Swissotel Makkah's international buffet and a la carte restaurant, Al Ruwad, is going to open soon. We look forward to welcoming you back at Swissotel Makkah and thank you again for your post!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

it was one of my bestest experience ever 1st time i stayed there with my parents...it was incredible nd memoriable trip....i have 2 say about staff house keeper manegement were on top they give their best 2 being kind and hospitable....the best thing it is near 2 haram approximatly it takes 10 to 15 mintues nd thatx it which is nice .....the reception staff were good 2 us they were speaking english instead of arabic glad 2 see that ....i love the rooms sufficiant space quite modern lights nd furniture was simply awsum .... .swissotel provide good servise camparing with others .....i love the breakfast ov fairmont great quaility ov food impresiv service over there..GOOD JOB (Y) i would love 2 stay again whenever i come 2 makka hopefully soon INSHALLAH :))

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siwar B, Social Media Manager at Swissotel Makkah, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post. We are delighted that you and your parents enjoyed your stay at Swissotel Makkah, and that you loved the breakfast and the room! Our team looks forward to welcoming you again soon in the Holy City!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Makkah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Makkah

Address: Ajyad Street | King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Mecca 762, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mecca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#12 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Makkah 5*
Number of rooms: 1487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Makkah is not only the first Swissotel to be opened in Saudi Arabia, but is also the first to commence in the entire Middle East. As part of the prestigious Abraj Al Bait complex, the deluxe Swissotel Makkah is a contemporary five-star hotel located in close proximity to the holy Masjid Al Haraam, overlooking the Ka’aba, as well as the entire Masjid. The Swissotel Makkah offers 1,487 elegant rooms and suites with modern contemporary design that complements the rich, hospitable values of Arab culture. The hotel includes two restaurants, one meeting room, and one business centre. With private entrances that make it easier for pilgrims to reach the Masjid Al Haram, Swissotel is also the only Makkah hotel with a direct entrance through Ajyad Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Makkah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Makkah Mecca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Makkah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.