We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a 5 star hotel but a few drawbacks to note” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel to your Saves list
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Abraj Al Bait Complex | P. O. Box 762, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 259 Hotels in Mecca
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely a 5 star hotel but a few drawbacks to note”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Excellent service, spacious rooms and decor. Staff ever ready to help and serve you. Only one draw back, the bathroom and shower dowers and the glass walls need a strong sealant at the bottom because water leaks all over the bathroom.

I checked into Fairmont twice in June for a few days and I encountered the same water leaks in BOTH the bathrooms I used.Both the times, the plumber gave the same excuse that the drainage was clogged but he cleaned it. Unfortunately this did not solve the water from entering through the rubber seals into other areas of the bathroom. I encountered the same problem in 2 bathrooms so its fairly obvious its a big issue in all the bathrooms.

Will I stay there again? I would definitely like too but I would want them to take care of this issue carefully

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to see that you liked our service and spacious rooms . Please accept our apology for the problem you faced with our bathrooms and be assured that I have forwarded your massage to the relevant head of department and we’ll be working to ensure that it doesn't happen again. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel in the future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    192
    83
    62
    67
See reviews for
471
103
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I tried suite number 2215 kaaba viwe it was amazing. Comfortable. Luxury, new furnture and one of the best locations. Every thing is near you. The breakfast buffet was amazing and tasty even they have alot of choices. Also they have another restaurants it was nice. For sure i'll try it again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENNEDALE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location, but hard to get to your room , u have to change elevators twice Circle around to get from one elevator to another.
Manager very nice to accommodate reservation that was wrong from agent
Better make your own reservation online than through an agent

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

4 stars

This was our third stay at Fairmont Clock Tower. Though in an off itself it was a good experience, it was our least favorite in comparison to previous stays. Upon arrival, we had some issues checking in—the rooms we booked were not ready. We wasted a lot of time at the lobby going back and forth from contacting the travel agent to the hotel staff to sort the issues out. Eventually, we headed to the Masjid Al Haram to perform Umrah whilst the rooms were being prepped.

The other issue that we had with this hotel was the breakfast buffet. The hotel’s restaurants were undergoing some renovations and so the breakfast buffet included less variety of food selection than it did previously. Also, we could hardly find a clean table to sit at, since the place was always crowded.

Although it is disappointing to not be able to experience the luxury one expects to receive when booking at a high end hotel such as Fairmont Clock Tower, we have to admit though that this was a peak season; the place ma sha Allah was packed and so in a way, the shortcomings of our stay were understandable. Despite the cons, it was a comfortable stay and we would still go back (though probably not a seasonal time).The rooms were clean and well equipped; the staff was polite and helpful; and the services provided were efficient. In retrospect it wasn’t such a shabby experience after all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This Hotel is best located among all neighboring hotels in the surrounding ... Loved the breakfast and the cleanliness maintained in the hotel. the staff is cooperative and friendly. The Adjcant mall has all the facilities ( Starbucks , Mother Care Etc)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not convenient for us, had to take two elevators to reach the ground floor, first from the room level to the hotel lobby then to the ground level, and then a long walk through the entire mall.
service was not good, the front office staff was very rude and required training.
Our sink was clogged and a complain was formed at 10 pm no maintenance staff showed up even after reminding several times, the problem was solved the next day after a follow up reminder call.
good breakfast, good bed comfort, and good shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greeting from the Holy city,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and letting us know about your experience. We are extremely saddened to see that you did not have a positive stay with us and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We take this kind of reviews very seriously and we forwarded your review to the relevant head of departments who will be working to ensure this doesn't happen again. Nothing is more important to us than our guest satisfaction . Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was staying here for 4 days 3 nights on the occasion of doing Umrah with my family. I stayed at the three bed room. If you're doing Umrah, it is really close to the Masjidil Haram connected by Zam Zam tower shopping centre. There is also prayer hall at the S2 level which overlooking the Haram.

Entering the lobby, you will be provided by luxurious feeling. The most desirable is the flower decoration at the lobby and lounge. It is all real and fresh. I guess they buy it from flower market in Europe.

Breakfast : The breakfast served a complete range of choices. From middle east to western. What i love most is the cheese selection, fruit selection and yoghurt selection. If you are Indonesian and can't eat other than rice you may find fried rice at the corner near the restaurant gate. The restaurant located near the lobby.

Dinner : Close to shopping mall you just go to the food court at P3 level. You'll find restaurant from Turkey, Indonesian, Malaysian food, and western food. For luxury dinner, try the restaurant at the top of this zam zam tower at 29th floor.

Room : Pillow was good and the bed also comfortable. The most interesting thing about the room is the toilettries given, Le Labo New York. I love this product. also the free wifi available at all levels.

Sauna, gym and Spa : Don't forget to try the sauna, spa and the gym. All complete!

It is a total luxurious hotel with complete facilities.

Room Tip: Masjidil Haram is still in renovation progress, and just beside the hotel also work in progress, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greeting from the Holy city,

Thank you for taking the time write your wonderful review and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel. We are delighted that you liked our fresh flowers and our breakfast met you expectation. In addition, it make our day when our guests use the free facilities in the hotel and enjoy the whole Fairmont experience . Thank you again for your generous comments and we shall be looking forward to be your host during your next visit to the holy city.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel

Address: King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Abraj Al Bait Complex | P. O. Box 762, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mecca
#6 Family Hotel in Mecca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#15 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 945
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the holiest site in Islam, Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel is the iconic symbol of hospitality for people from around the globe who have gathered to worship, reflect and contemplate. Standing as the tallest concrete building in the world with 76 floors, Makkah Clock Royal Tower is the focal point of the Abraj Al Bait Complex, part of the King Abdulaziz Endowment project. Its soaring height and proximity to Al Masjid Al Haram allow guests to enjoy unmatched breathtaking views from 945 rooms and suites, while 76 elevators provide easy access to and from Al Masjid Al Haram. The hotel also offers 10 delicious dining options ranging from innovative Asian fusion to the first five-star Saudi restaurant in Makkah. Other amenities include: a female and male fitness center, a Kids Corner playroom, a 24-hour business center, more than 3200 meter squared of flexible function space, and eight state-of-the-art meeting rooms. For the height of exclusive service and privacy, Fairmont Gold promises guests a ‘hotel within a hotel’ experience through a range of privileges like a private reception and 24-hour butler service.. A seamless fusion of Arab hospitality, modern comfort and signature Fairmont service, combine to create an unforgettable experience in this divine setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel Mecca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.