We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect size, easy to navigate and everything you could ask for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Makkah Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Makkah Palace to your Saves list
Raffles Makkah Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ajyad St, Abraj Al Bait | In front of King Abdel Aziz Gate of Masjid Al Haram, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 259 Hotels in Mecca
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect size, easy to navigate and everything you could ask for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were fortunate to stay in a suite, overlooking the haram. The size of the hotel is ideal, we took a look at the Fairmount, but it was so big you needed a map to get around. This hotel was magic, the service excellent and the food extraordinaryily good. Dates (to die for) and coffee after returning from prayers. The dinner service was the best i have ever experienced; every type of food and exceptional quality. We were able to get from our room and inside the Haram within 10 minutes (can't ask for more). It seems wrong to enjoy the facilities so much when you are going to the Holy City but the Raffles made everything incredibly enjoyable.

Room Tip: Overlooking the haram, if you can. Amazing. If you are unsure, ask the staff for a quick tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    40
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
200
56
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I came for hajj with my wife. I am still sitting in my room while I am writing this review. This hotel is an excellent. Rooms are very large and beautiful. Food is very good too. My room is Haram view and it's amazing to see haram all the time while sitting in room. I've stayed in 5 stars hotel around the world but this is my most luxurious stay in a five star.
I'll come back with my kids insha Allah.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Raffles Makkah Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Jamil.
Greeting from Makkah.

What a wonderful review, Thank you. We love to hear such positive comments about our rooms and food. And we are glad that you enjoyed your Haram view while sitting in your room . It will be our pleasure to host you and your kids in your next visit to the holy City.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A gem of a hotel that maintains its standards perfectly. We had a regular suite, and the space was great. Colors, décor, furniture- all tasteful and well maintained. The bed was amazing and bedding was of a high quality (we'd asked for non allergic bedding, but found dawn feather bedding on arrival so had to be changed). The bathroom was large and had a tub as well as a shower and 2 sinks- excellent for wodoo when you're in a hurry. There was also an extra (very tiny) toilet in the living room, but comes in handy if someone is visiting you. Breakfast wasn't as big of a selection as other hotels in the towers but it was good. Butler service is an excellent addition, although I wouldn't mind having a kettle in the room- it did save us time. This is a great base for Umrah.

All in all- my favorite hotel in Mecca

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I just got back from Hajj. We spent 4 nights at the Raffles Makkah Palace. It was a great experience. Fantastic food, great service, extremely convenient location. Rooms were spacious and had views of the Haram. Restaurant balcony had view of the Kabah. Thank you Raffles for making our stay easy and comfertable so we could focus on our ibadat. Looking forward to return with the kids for umrah soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Raffles Makkah Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Ataif
Greeting from Makkah.
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so glad to have had the opportunity to host you and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

You are absolutely right about the Restaurant Balcony. We recommend that everyone take the time to have their meal there and enjoy the incredible view of Al haram. Thank you again and we look forward to be you, and your kids host during your next visit to the holy city.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

One night in luxury in Makkah.. Marvelous! Went along with 2 kids, had a haram view junior suite. The bed was so big for three of us :-) the bathroom was a heaven, especially liked the area for woodo' in it.
Room service was fine nothing especial! But was quick.
The charming breakfast worth every dirham, variety of selections.. All very nicely done, breakfast room is specious and nicely decorated. Unfortunate wasn't enough time to try the spa but I'm sure it worth the visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Raffles Makkah Palace, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greeting from Makkah,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We love to hear such positive comments about our hotel. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the haram view junior suite and you like the bathroom especially the private ablution area, which is the first of its kind in the Holy City. We shall be looking forward to be your host during your next visit to the holy city and hopefully to stay longer to try our wellness center .

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Raffles Makkah is a very luxury hotel in Makkah. The location is amazing and the room view too. but comparing the value to the service specially in Ramadan, does not worth trying. The staff are not will trained. they have lost My ID while cheeking in and they have denied that they have received from me, later they have found it with the bill boy pocket !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Raffles Makkah Palace, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Abdullah
Greeting from the holy city,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Holy City and we appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you liked the location and the view of our rooms. We apologies for your incident with the front desk. We take these complaints very seriously and we have discussed them directly with our front-of-office manager , who will be taking steps to ensure that they don't happen again. Thank you again for staying at Raffles Makkah palace and we look forward to be your host future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very nice hotel with vey friendly staff. Best location and breathtaking views of holly Kaaba, few minutes from Al Haram. Excellent breakfast verity. Great in room dining experience. Special thanks to hotel manager Khalil Abouzeid. We will be definitely coming back to this hotel again InshaAllah!

Room Tip: Corner suites 08 series on high floors having incredible view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Raffles Makkah Palace, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greeting from Makkah.
Thank you for taking the time write your wonderful review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the breathtaking view from your room and you had a great experience with our dine in room service. We and Mr. Khalil Abouzied shall be looking forward to be your host during your next visit to the holy city.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Makkah Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Makkah Palace

Address: Ajyad St, Abraj Al Bait | In front of King Abdel Aziz Gate of Masjid Al Haram, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mecca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#1 Family Hotel in Mecca
#17 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Makkah Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Makkah Palace Saudi Arabia enjoys an outstanding location within the iconic Abraj Al Bait complex, directly adjacent to Al Masjid Al Haram – or Grand Mosque – and the Kaaba, offering easy access to King Abdulaziz Gate, the main entrance to the Grand Mosque. Raffles Makkah Palace also offers a superbly equipped business centre with secretarial services and state-of-the-art private meeting rooms fitted video conferencing facilities, ideal for board meetings and management retreats. Revered as the holiest city on earth for approximately 1.6 billion Muslims, Makkah is the birthplace of the holy Prophet Mohammad (PBUH) and home to sacred sites such as the Kaaba, Al Masjid Al Haram, the Zamzam Well, Jabal Al-Nour, Al-Jamarat and Jabal Thawr. Just steps away from the Grand Mosque, Raffles Makkah Palace is a refined and elegant residential sanctuary featuring 214 suites with breathtaking views of the Grand Mosque and Kaaba, making a stay in the Islamic holy land of Makkah one of spiritual serenity. Spacious suites occupy a minimum of 80 square meters in this exceptional hotel in Makkah and offer separate living and dining spaces while bathrooms are thoughtfully designed with designated areas for ablutions. Personal butlers deliver Raffles’ signature style of anticipatory and thoughtful service, complementing the residential experience at this Makkah hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Raffles Makkah Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Makkah Palace Hotel Mecca
Raffles Makkah Palace Mecca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Makkah Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.