We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Shohada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Al Shohada to your Saves list
Hotel Al Shohada
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ajyad St. | PO Box 20840, Mecca, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 236 Hotels in Mecca
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Amazing hotel just 5-7 min walk from the Masjid Al-Haram. Their buffet and lobby are worthwhile and I would definitely stay here again! The lobby has washrooms which is of great convenience and they have a juice bar in the main floor as well. Service was top quality for the buck

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
11
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I come to Manish often and like this hotel due to its value for money and the staff, butler's and cleaners who will bend over backwards to help you. I've stayed here several times in the past but this time, 3things really bothered me. First, the breakfast buffet was AWFUL, please Shohada, improve this or you will lose loyal customers. Second, I always send an email directly to the hotel to book, this time I got no response despite several emails and then had to call several times to reserve. I was then called up the day we were due to check in and asked silly questions that could have been answered if my email had been read. Finally, I had just one simple but crucial request that my room have a double bed for health reasons and not two beds pushed together but that's exactly what I got an it annoyed me no end. If customers are prepared to book the same hotel several times a year, surely hotels should recognise repeaters and accommodate simple requests??? We don't use credit cards and pay the full amount up in arrival and then to be told we can't book a car for pick up from Jeddah or not to even be acknowledged as returning guests isn't very nice. Other than that the location is great, room was adequate despite the bed issue an the butler more than made up for the incompetence of reception staff. Breakfast was AWFUL and needs a lot of improvement but if Shohada could fix this and their lack of people skills, they would again raise in my esteem.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel is walking distance and the hotel provides a shuttle too. But we preferred walking because the shuttle goes frm a long route so takes a lil longer to reach. Its very neat n clean n the rooms are of good size. The breakfast is typical arabic but we loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in a twin room after the Hajj days of 2013. Its about 10mins walk from the Haram and is on a main road which leads directly upto Gate no1- King Abdul Aziz gate. We were on the 4th floor which wasnt a problem as there were numerous lifts. My room was clean, tidy and well facilitated. My only quibble if any would be the fact that there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room and the fridge contained no drinks. I had a sneak at a quad room and it was the same size room with two extra folding beds- so it was a little cramped. The hotel also provided massage facilities which after the strenuous days of Hajj was well deserved. The food was excellent and the duration of the breakfast and dinner times were extensive so we were not restricted on choosing meal times that suited us. We would definitely stay at this hotel again but for the elderly or those with mobility issues I would recommend a slightly closer hotel to the Haram.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed at this place during Hajj 2013. The best part of this place is the location - it is 5 minutes walk from Haram and when you come for Hajj or Umrah I guess that is the primary factor. The lobby is quite good and the rooms were very clean. The breakfast spread was also quite elaborate. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for total 7 days for my umrah trip. It was around 500 metres from masjidil haram, about 10 minutes of walking. It is a 5 star hotel and I have no complaints about the room. It was of high quality and very clean. Room cleaned and linen changed everyday. Bathroom was also clean. The lobby was exceptionally beautiful. Felt happy and comfortable staying there. Would consider staying here again. But for families travelling with old folks or people on walking aid or wheelchair, if you have more money must consider a nearer hotel to masjidil haram (which is more expensive like hilton) cause its quite a hassle if the elderly cannot walk the distance or need walking aid.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We are from Miami and went to Mecca in May 2013 to perform Umrah. We stayed at Al-Shohada for three nights, and were very disappointed. This may be the only expensive five star hotel in the world with flies. There were flies outside the hotel, inside the hotel, in the lobby, in the restaurant, in the breakfast lounge, and inside our room. There was no free wifi and you have to purchase it every day. The staff was arrogant, unwilling to help and with no courtesy. The only thing good in this hotel was it’s impressive lobby. Before coming to Mecca, we stayed three nights at Hotel Darul Eeman in Medina, right next to Masjid Nabvi. We had a great experience and will highly recommend Darul Eeman. We will NOT recommend Al-Shohada.

Room Tip: Please explore the hotels in Clock Tower Mecca right across the Haram.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Shohada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Shohada

Address: Ajyad St. | PO Box 20840, Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Al Shohada 5*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Al Shohada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Shohada Makkah/Mecca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Shohada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.