We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madaba Decoded,a slice of history and slice of Jordanian warmth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Ayola Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Queen Ayola Hotel to your Saves list
Queen Ayola Hotel
Tourism Street | 70 meters from the church of the mosaic map, Madaba, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Madaba
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
“Madaba Decoded,a slice of history and slice of Jordanian warmth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

the hotel is ideally located.And for someone doing a visit of Jordan, Madaba the historic Mosaic city is the right choice to start.Firstly the accommodations are easily available and are easy on the wallet..The airport is 30 kms away and Hotel Queen Ayola has a pick up facility.Insist for Abu Sameer to pick you up. His broad smiled welcome and the genuine happiness to receive us drove away our blues of a cold night Jolly fellow and talks non stop showing madaba as he takes us to the hotel.We will always remember him with fondness as he treated us to Madaba's exotic rich sweet(Name is quite a tongue twister) with his best compliments.He epitomizes the good natured Jordanians. Room no 5 that we were given was an igloo.The heater was not working and the night was miserable. But then when we came back after 3 days we had room no 7 for the next 7-8 days.And no complaints. The young Egyptian caretaker managed everything well as he was more of a man Friday doubling a s cashier, chef, waiter, and caretaker of the hotel too. Donning so many hats he did a commendable job. we have never seen him losing his temper even once.When i had to attend my conference at Amman and get into the bus at 6am near St. George's parking lot ,when it was very cold he would get up to open the door and keep breakfast ready or do some heat ups of the ready to eat packets on other days. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Both the guide owners are warm and friendly and we hired the services of Mr. fadi on eof teh owners as guide to show us the City and he did a commendable job though we found the guide charges at 50 JD very expensive, so we could not hire him when we made a trip of the desert Castles. Hire Abu and half the problem is solved. We had a wonderful Middle east Holiday, and with its mix of Islam, christian and Judean history it was a pleasant surprise.
Githaa U Badikillaya, Phd
R Raghavendra Rao .

Room Tip: Room no 7 is very spacious and facing the other side of the road with houses on the top storey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    47
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
11
57
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Egypt, New Jersey
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

In my opinion Madaba is very important area in Jordan to visit and the hotel located in the center is Queen Ayola Hotel because all the ancient spots around it. Central in the middle behind it the archeological park beside it San George church which has the mosaic of the map. Opposite of it Hart Jdoudna Restaurant. The staff are gentle men and gave us the password to use Wi Fi freely and invited us for free drink tea and coffee when we arrived. They have good knowledge to direct your trip. Also we parked our car in front it. The room was clean and simple.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was enjoyed my stay here the room where i stayed nice, comfortable and warm. The food in the restaurant was perfect with delicious Jordanian wine. I recommend the hotel and the restaurant.
The owner advised us to visit the important areas around Madaba especially Wadi Zarqa Maen, the canyon with hot water is the best to visit. Ask for trip advises here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is located centrally on Tourism street in Madaba. Madaba is the best place to stay when arriving in Jordan from the Queen Alia airport. Mosaic city's most common site is St. George's Church of the Mosaic Map located just a few meters up the road.

I was warmly greeted by Fadi, one of the owners of the hotel and restaurant. Making no reservations I was shown my options of rooms and decided to take the deluxe (w/balcony) for a slightly discounted rate of 27JD/night (not because I snore but that I was one person, Brian, ;)). It was a good sized room with ensuite and balcony overlooking the main street. The room had all the necessary items, soap, shampoo, heat/cool, tv , towels etc. Also the rooms are cleaned daily, a nice touch when traveling with kids.

The hotel is very clean, especially considering the surrounding environment of....sand. The two guys taking care of the daily going ons are great. Fadi is definitely a well informed host and is more than apt to offer you guided tours or leave you to explore the city on your own. I was given a map that highlights all the major sites of the city and surrounding area.

From the hotel the major city sites are easily visited in one day due to its great central location. Food, shops, groceries, churches and restaurants are all at your doorstep. The hotel also has a nice restaurant at street level that serves authentic Jordan food and drinks as well as wings and beer for those a little homesick. Travelers, expats and locals alike frequent the restaurant. I ate here a few times as well as tickled my throat with some scrubbing bubbles (the dry sand air makes your throat call for a beer every once and a while) and was very happy with their offerings and service.

After two days of exploring I asked to hire a driver for the following day. Odtllah Salem met me that evening to give suggestions and go over prices. Quoted 40JD for a full day. The driver was excellent and after a full, full day returned me back to the hotel for the agreed price. I gave a 15JD tip as I thought was adequate for the day and I was then offered a free ride to Amman to catch a bus to Petra the next morning.

The owners and staff are always interested in your activities and comfort and this lends a nice familiar feel to the stay. If entering and leaving Jordan by air this would be mine and should be your choice hotel.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are much bigger, but if budget is tight the shared bathroom rooms work just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The hospitality here was great. The manager even took us down the street to get cheap local falafel, as their restaurant was closed by the time we arrived. The only downfall was the beds were a bit uncomfortable. However the staff definitely made up for that minor inconvenience. They also arranged a driver to take us around for a day, and he was very knowledgeable and spoke great English. I'd highly recommend staying here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nice, comfortable hotel. Excellent food and very wonderful staff! They can also help arrange transport with a great driver! The location is also excellent, right in the heart of everything. I recommend trying the "Shankleash" it's really delicious!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent 5 great nights at the hotel, between 31.Dec 2012 - 4.Jan. 2013.

The receptionist Nabil is helpful.

The restaurant is very good, we loved the happy hours ;)

Fadi the manager sent answers quicky everytime to my emails about the booking.

We can just reccomend Queen Ayola Hotel.

Peti, Niki, George

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen Ayola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Ayola Hotel

Address: Tourism Street | 70 meters from the church of the mosaic map, Madaba, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Madaba Governorate > Madaba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Madaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Ayola Hotel and Restaurant is getting fantastic reviews under new management(started on 1st of April)-check out Tripadvisor!. We pride ourselves on our warm welcome and our customer service.Any guests who stay in Queen Ayola Hotel for 3 nights or more will be treated to a free trip to enjoy the breath-taking sunset from Mount Nebo.The hotel is ideally located in the heart of ancient area of Madaba about 70 meters from the church of the mosaic map (St George Church).We will happily advice you on how to make the most of this beautiful city and it's amazing sites steeped in ancient history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Queen Ayola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Ayola Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.