We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great night's sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mariam Hotel to your Saves list
Mariam Hotel
Aisha Um Al Mumeneen St. | شارع عئشة أم المؤمنين, Madaba 17110, Jordan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Madaba
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great night's sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We arranged for the hotel to pick us up at the airport which they will do for 17JD. We would have struggled a bit in a hire car at night on arrival so it was well worth it.

The room was very big, clean and comfortable. The hotel is in the process of installing a/c but the fan we had in out room was more than adequate to allow us a good night's sleep despite it being warm.

The staff are very helpful and kind. Breakfast is good and good value, the hotel itself gave excellent value for money. The pool had been refilled and the water was freezing. Even my daughter wouldn't go in!

We stayed the first night and last night of our trip at the Mariam and were very glad we did. If we return to Jordan in the future we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 420 both visits and it was very quiet and a good sized family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    300
    89
    17
    9
See reviews for
121
291
90
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our holiday. It's great value ,decent breakfast,clean room ,good bar and restaurant ,swimming pool ,free wi-fi and,above all,very helpful staff.It's a 10 minute walk into the centre.
If you want 5 star standards ,go somewhere else and pay 5 star prices.If,however,you want a decent friendly hotel,then this fits the bill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Out of the centre of town with its only highlight being its cold pool. Rooms near the road dirty and dark -we were given one that turned out to be occupied! Better rooms in the new block with doors overlooking the pool but ours had no hot water. Breakfast terrace outside was nice but views of car park and wasteland uninspiring.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Mariam Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello,

I can see you didn’t been happy with your stay with us. I just need to say we are not in the city center and we never say so, on our web site we are 800 meters away from Saint Georges church which is the main attraction in the city, in the same time most of the hotels located in the same street we are 5 hotels in this street.
Every hotel in Jordan had 2 sides one the street side and one the back side, thank God that our street side is not so busy, as the ones in the city center. If you didn’t had a hot water all you need just to check with the reception the hot water is central I mean if you don’t have it hot in your room this means one of 2 either all the rooms didn’t have it which is not the case because we didn’t had such a problem or just it delayed until it gets to you, you need to open the water for 5 min until it moves the clod one from the pipes.
Our receptionist would immediately respond to any claim done by guest if you asked them to check for you they will do and will defiantly solve it.
For such low room rates (I disagreed with being massively overrated) we don’t heat the swimming pool and in the same time we don’t make it cold, during Oct it is only warm for swimming in Dead Sea and in Aqaba the Red Sea but not Madaba not Amman not even in the desert side.
Hope to see you next time in Jordan and we would like to say thank you for staying with us.

Best regards,

Charl Twal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here at the beginning and end of my trip to Jordan. As a solo traveller I felt safe and was more than happy with the guest rooms and the facilities on offer. The variety of breakfast was good, the pool a good place to relax after a long day of sightseeing and the food available was good. All the staff were pleasant and helpful, however a big hug to Rania who always had a smile on her face and was always helpful, anything you needed she would sort it for you. All of the drivers that I used were charming and helpful and all communicated in english well, they were there on time waiting for you at the time you asked and were helpful when you got to the sites by showing you where to go and what to do. I walked into the centre from the hotel, took no more than 10 mins and was quite a nice walk.

Thank you to all the staff and the drivers for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Mariam Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with other travelers, I am glad for you having nice time in Jordan and having good experience at the Mariam Hotel.
We made the best we can to make the service of Mariam hotel (2 stars) as good as we can and keeping the cost as low as possible. The Mariam hotel managed during the past 12 years to balance between reasonable price and good service.
Thank you and hope to see you next time in Jordan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Quality/price ratio is very good. The hotel is clean, the bathroom is small but clean. The lady at the reception desk is super - she is more than helpful, very funny, and warm. The location is very good, only 10mns walk to the center of Madaba. It baffles me that some people complain about the breakfast. For $40 a night for 2 people, you get a buffet breakfast, with the healthy and tasty Arabic selection of food. What more could be expected? Internet access is free.
We had an excellent lunch by the pool and much later in the evening we enjoyed a glass of wine and more food to steel us for the long trip back to Calgary.
The only downside for us was the bed with what felt to us like very hard mattress and pillows.
The transportation list is top with amazingly low prices. Our driver was JEDAH and he embodied Jordanians' generosity and kindness. In addition he was an excellent and very patient driver. Even by doubling the cost of the day of driving, it would still be incredibly cheap. We were very sad when he dropped us off at the airport but thanks to him, our last image of Jordan is one of the friendliest, most welcoming people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Mariam Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
This is very kind and great pleasure to all of us at Mariam hotel and Rania is more than happy to see that our Mariam Hotel guests happy with the service she provide. Thank God we have an excellent staff at the hotel and they all love the support they do to our client, also they are well educated with the information they provide to the customers. The Mariam Hotel staff made the hotel very good choice for budget travelers.

Wish you all the best.

Charl Twal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
187 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The location of Mariam Hotel is good and calm but not exactly central in Madaba. To reach the city center youn need to walk around 10-12 minutes. There are some markets and restaurants in the nearby. The hotel is generally pleasant and the staff were extremly friendly and helpfull. The service level during the breakfasts and in the reception was very good. The rooms are (in older part of hotel) not too spacious but in overall comfy and enough for short term stays. The only real problem was the bathrom - small, dated and not perfect clean - it need to be refreshed as soon as posible. the outdoor pool is quite big but very cold, there is not much sun there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice place, nice staff, extensive transportation list exclusively for Mariam guests. Dinner by the swimming pool (their lemon-garlic sauce is yummy!) and walking around Madaba centre in the evening is a pleasure - I can highly recommend the Ayola Café close to the Church of the Map.

The breakfast buffet was kind of a downside. I had to stick to the pancakes with different kinds of jam to eat my fill since typically Arabic breakfast gets quite dull morning after morning and the scrambled eggs tasted very strange.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Mariam Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for staying with us at Mariam hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
As for our breakfast we believe that for the room prices this is the best breakfast comparing with all other hotels in town in the same time I would like to take this opportunity to write the items of Mariam hotel breakfast so for those interested to book with us will know what items we serve on breakfast.

Breakfast buffet including:
• Tea, coffee, milk (cold & hot) and 2 kind of juice.
• Seasonal Fruit Salad.
• Cheese, Eggs (boiled & scramble), butter & 7 kinds of local jams.
• Hot beans with tomato sauce
• Sausage cooked with vegetables
• Pancake with syrup date.
• Cornflakes
• Hummus.
• Green olives, tomato & cucumber.
• Yogurt.
• 2 kind of Local pastures (Thyme and Date)
• Pita bread.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariam Hotel

Address: Aisha Um Al Mumeneen St. | شارع عئشة أم المؤمنين, Madaba 17110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Madaba Governorate > Madaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Madaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariam Hotel is a Family run hotel with 57 rooms and Swimming pool Restaurant and Bar. It is a mid range 2 Star hotel. Rates between 40-60 US$. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mariam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariam Hotel Madaba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.