We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and exceptionally helpful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rumman Hotel to your Saves list
Rumman Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aisha Um al Mumeneen, Madaba 17110, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Madaba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly and exceptionally helpful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed two different times at the Rumman, using it as our "base" in Jordan.

The reception staff was superb, especially Maysa, who speaks perfect English and is both exceptionally charming and efficient. After learning we were heading to Petra, she was concerned that the accommodations there might be full, so we were glad to accept her offer to phone and arrange a budget hotel there for us. Her suggestions for restaurants and places to shop and sightsee in Madaba were excellent. On our last day, after checking out of our room we had a wait of a couple of hours before going to the airport, and she made us very comfortable in the lobby, ensuring we had beverages and the use of a computer.

Rooms and furnishings are fairly basic but large, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast included in the room price is simple but adequate, available buffet style in the large restaurant area . The hotel had problems a couple times with a pump furnishing water to our floor while we were there, but the staff was very concerned and apologetic and managed to get the water flowing again each time.

The location is within about a 10 minute walk of the central shopping area and sights, slightly farther away than some other hotels, but not enough to matter to us.

We were able to leave part of our luggage at the hotel while we toured Jordan and Israel. Before the second stay we phoned the hotel reception from Israel and arranged to have a taxi meet us at the northern border crossing, as we were then without our own rental car. We liked the car and driver selected by the hotel so much that we later arranged to have him take us to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    70
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
74
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The hotel is very simple, but has a fair breakfast, indead the rooms are very simples, the staff is great. The recepcionist is very simpatic and really helpful, even after I left the hotel. It worst ! Shehelped me with visa issues, arranged for me a nice transport for visiting other sites and get back to the airport ! really nice !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

I stayed in The Rumman Hotel for 11 nights and it is buy far the friendliest and most helpful hotel I've ever stayed in. I went to Jordan in order to go to the Dead Sea for health reasons and stayed at The Rumman Hotel for the duration of my trip. Staying in Madaba is a lot less expensive that staying at the very expensive hotels which are along the shore-line of the Dead Sea. Even if you take into account the daily taxi fare there and back it still works out a lot cheaper.

From the day I arrived someone from the hotel was there to meet me at the airport.My room was very clean. The buffet breakfast is excellent and there is a wide choice of items. Every day the staff would ask me my plans for the day then help arrange taxis etc and all prices for taxis are listed.

The hotel staff also gave me the advice on where to eat in Madaba and provided maps on how to get to the town centre, which is only about 10 mins walk away.

One day I wasn't feeling too well so I stayed in the hotel room and the hotel staff showed genuine concern for my well being and sent me free tea and coffee to my room.

This hotel has a real nice family atmosphere and they even gave me a gift when I left.

I will definitely go back and would recommend The Rumman Hotel to anyone .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crieff
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Good sized room with comfortable beds but no air con, no fridge ( other 5 hotels we stayed in had air con & fridge), poor shower with not much hot water. Basic breakfast. Very helpful staff. Good value for money as much cheaper than Amman hotels.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Stayed for just one night and generally concur with previous recent positive reviews. The main advantages of the Rumman for us were: 1) Helpful, pleasant, and courteous staff at check-in and breakfast. 2) Good location. Easy access to the road to the airport for an early morning flight, but also within easy walking distance to the old town area (you don't want to drive a rental car around Madaba more than neccesary). 3) Low cost. Only caution is that the hotel is on a fairly busy intersection, so ask for a room off the streets when the weather is hot, since there is no air-conditioning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayed two nights in this hotel. For $US45/night we had a twin including breakfast. They did not seem to mind when three of us turned up (two adults, one small child) which was nice.

The whole hotel was very modern and clean and nicely decorated. Overall if had a very pleasant feel to it. The rooms were pleasant also, very clean and bathroom was modern. Only a desk though, and no chair or luggage rack, but spacious enough.

The owners were exceptionally friendly and the staff they had working for them were very dilligent. They were right onto changing towels, picking up bags etc. They also made sure the breakfast buffet didn't run out and were always keeping an eye on things. Brekkie was eggs (boiled or scrambled), bread, jam (fig and strawberry), and tea/coffee. The dining area was also very nice.

Location was near better known Mariam, and a bit of a walk from town (about 5 - 10 mins), but this is where most hotels are.

All in all, for what you get I think it was very good value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rumman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumman Hotel

Address: Aisha Um al Mumeneen, Madaba 17110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Madaba Governorate > Madaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Madaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Rumman Hotel, a cozy, family-run hotel, which is located in a quiet residential area in Madaba and just a 10-minute walk from the city center and its main attractions. This bright, friendly hotel has 22 comfortable and attractively decorated rooms, each with an ensuite bathroom and amenities to cater to guest needs. The hotel’s skylit breakfast room offers an inviting space to start your day and the location gives you easy access to the city, where you can wander around, see the magnificent mosaics, browse through the unique handicrafts and meet the friendly people of Madaba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Rumman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumman Hotel Madaba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.