We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly impressive Roman ruins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerash Ruins

Jerash Ruins
Jerash, Jordan
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$156*
and up
Private Tour: Jerash and Umm Qais Day Trip from...
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Jerash
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Southern England
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Highly impressive Roman ruins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I highly rate this impressive, beautiful site in Jordan. Nobody who visits Jordan should miss Jerash. I was surprised at just how well preserved the old Roman town was. I visited as a day trip from Jerusalem, which is quite easy and possible- either by hiring a taxi or by bus via Amman- despite a few annoyingly slow border controls.

Jerash was surprisingly, pleasantly free of the tourist hoardes. There is a relatively low admission price. You can pay a guide if you wish- official guides are available outside but a number of teenagers can be found inside offering to sell postcards, take photos for you, give you information about the ruins etc. I found them polite and not too much hassle. You’ll need at least an hour to see everything, even if you rush around, as the ruins are very expansive. Ideally you would want a half day to really appreciate everything here. There are many points of interest- don’t miss the rocking Roman columns (the movement is demonstrated by pushing the column, with a coin wedged at the base- it’s amazing). I enjoyed meeting the friendly, colourfully attired bagpipe player who appeared around midday in the amphitheatre and that was the best photo opportunity of the day!

During Ramadan in August the whole of Jordan seemed very quiet, almost eerily so during the day, so I can’t comment on the modern town of Jerash that sits next to the historical site, but there was a well-stocked tourist café within the grounds and a more traditional restaurant just outside where the car park is. Going out of the ruins you have the opportunity to buy souvenirs from one of the little bazaars. I doubt they’re the cheapest option if you’re in Jordan for a few days but I got a high quality traditional red and white Bedouin headdress for only £4 and the seller didn’t pressurise me to buy more. Do make time to visit the small underground museum (no additional charge)- it’s not very big but it’s presented with some style, well lit within a tunnel. Inside you can see exhibited some of the finer pieces from the columns, and vibrantly painted original stonework. My first trip to Jordan and hopefully not my last!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    144
    8
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Superb Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The ruins are superbly maintained and the site is surprisingly extensive. They are simply stunning and there is a comfortable day of ambling needed to fully take in the sights. Guides are available at the main reception. One note of caution - if somebody offers to take photos for you, or to 'quickly' show you something then they will expect money from you - and in some cases quite an unreasonable amount. If you wish to avoid, just politely decline with a 'we are fine thank you' - no offence will b taken.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Large well preserved ruins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

As with the other reviews, I agree that it is very expansive and much cheaper admission than Petra. It will take at least an hour to see most of the ruins. 2 hours or more if needed to fully see and enjoy it slowly. The heat in august was intense. Be sure to bring water and sunscreen. Also bring drinks with you as the restaurant on the grounds will rip you off and charges 2 dinar for a can of coke. They are usually 1 dinar at most tourist locations and around .50 at the local stores. I did not use a guide, I don't think you need one however a guide book or map is a must. There are no signs or maps inside. So you never really know exactly what you are looking at. I can't believe for 8 dinar a person they can't put up some signs. It waswell preserved and fun to look at. There are two ampitheaters, one of which has a man in traditional Jordan clothing playing a bagpipe for tips. As with other tourists locations there are people trying to sell you jewelry, or charging you $ after they "offer" to take your picture. Im not sure why Jordan doesnt ban this There is a mini bazzar at the entrance where you can buy gifts. None of which looked worth buying. Overall a cool place. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

About an hour from Amman, and worth the trip. Much bigger than I anticipated. You don't necessarily need a guide, but having one who knows the area really adds to it and gives you the perspective and history. In one of the theaters, our guide showed us where to stand so that the acoustics were at their optimal level. Fun to talk or sing and hear it resound through the whole theater. Little shade, so be prepared with sunscreen and/or hat.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“worth to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

very nice to visit if you visit Amman , well organized . that was my second time to visit and i saw how was better organized than before , multi- lingual guides you will find there Arabic, French ,English , Dutch , Russian or Italian and maybe more , nice place to walk and discover especially the roman theater .

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerash Ruins also viewed

Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Jerash, Jerash Governorate
 
Amman, Amman Governorate
 

Been to Jerash Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerash Ruins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.