We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Receptionist Ever,,,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dead Sea, 11194, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dead Sea Region
offfice
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worst Receptionist Ever,,,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was the second time I have stayed at this hotel with my family , but it seems that Idid not learn a good lesson ,, both times , the experience was BAD, from the first moment I arrived the hotel , no bellboy to hold my bag , worse yet , I have been asked to hold my bag by myself up the inspection device !!!! the receptionist treat you like you are begging them , they were very tough and mean , they will not even smile ,, they really intend to make me angry, I arrived at 1 :30 PM , I checked in at 3 , one hour and a half waiting in the reception with my kids ,they wanted to charge me 40jd as a deposit for the towels , they took the guitar from my 15 years old daughter for no reason !!! the view from the room was not nice , they did not allow my husband to enter 3 small bottels of water , the price of a small can of pepsi is 2.5 jd in the pool bar ,rooms are full of dust ,at night we asked for an adaptor for the laptop charger , they said it is not available !!!! when I asked for the hotel GM they said in a meeting !!! this hotel is classified as 4 stars hotel but it is not , the staff is NOT well trained , the breakfast was very basic, limited options , way to provide the food at the restaurant was very simple,,,all in all , the hotel is nice , quiet and cozy BUT THE STAFF ARE NOT QUALIFIED .
special thank you for Mr.Nael Al Shati , he was the only person ( I saw) who knows how to deal with people with kindness and civility .

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    69
    51
    34
    29
See reviews for
51
76
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

These guys are seriously a bunch of crooks. From the very first moment we walked in, we found a rate on kayak.com that was cheaper then the price listed by the hotel. We consulted the concierge to see if he could match the rate, and he said he couldn't, but that we should book with him anyway because his manager said that we would have to wait two hours to check in, even with the immediate reservation confirmation provided by the site. We should have left right then to go to the Marriott, Movenpick, or Kempinski, but were tired and waited out our "penalty time" downstairs in the restaurant, where we had to sit will all of our luggage. When we finally got our room, the shower was clogged and overflowed, there was a dead roach in the bathroom, and the minibar was not stocked. When we left the next day, we tried to call an outside taxi, and the concierge told us that we could only use the official hotel taxi service, which was 50 JD for a ride to Amman instead of the normal 20 JD price. He refused to call an outside taxi company and wouldn't let us use the hotel phone to do so ourselves. We asked to use a cell phone to call out, and the security guard made up a story about how there was no cell phone reception at the hotel. We finally flagged down a car in the pparking lot to call a driver who had given us his card the day before, and the management came out to that person's car and started yelling at them. It was absolutely ridiculous. Otherwise, the food was overpriced and medium to low quality. There were a couple of polite staff members in the restaurant, but everyone at the front desk and security was rude and unhelpful. They play really obnoxious music at the pool, and the person manning the beach made a big deal about us walking down the shoreline outside the 10 meters or so that they had roped off. Overall, the price of the hotel is not worth the pain you'll have to endure.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent two night in the hotel, good , clean , not bad points, but remain strong for us that when we want to go in with car it looks like we arrived like bad guys, the security verify all part of the car , it is good but at the same time little too much, and that during the two days, good points with a large smile and all the time extremely correct. the food was standard, and the beach was nice but it looks like it is the beginning of the summer nothing really ready. Bad point was the noise on the morning people closed room doors and it was really noisy mainly how it is made generate noise.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Valley W, General Manager at Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear JpegG64,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to the lowest point on Earth, the Dead Sea! It was a pleasure having you with us.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and do hope that you are back home safe and sound with some good memories of Jordan. As you may have experienced, our fully dedicated beach is something that we are proud of, and are currently upgrading our facility to be ready for the busier season ahead.

Once again, thank you for your comments, and we look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Safe travels ahead!

Omar Hazineh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found that they did not cater for the western palate, the service in the dining area was disgusting, they did not clean up the coffee station, dirty plates, or the shortage of plates and cups, they never replenished breakfast plates so we had to ask for food. The room was wonderful but noisy. We had to ask them to replenish the coffee and water in the rooms. It would have been nicer to be closer to the Dead Sea.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Valley W, General Manager at Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear TravelingDubai,

Thank you for your stay at our hotel during your visit the largest natural spa on Earth, the Dead Sea. It was a pleasure having you with us.

We continue to aim for guest satisfaction, and without your honest feedback, we would never discover some of the pitfalls we might face. I am terribly sorry you had to go through some of the issues raised in your comments, however, they will be addressed with the concerned departments ASAP. Rest assured, we always want our guests to feel safe, comfortable, and entertained during their stay with us.

I do hope you are safe back in your home with good memories from visiting Jordan. We look forward to welcoming you back with us sometime in the near future.

Safe travels ahead!

Omar Hazineh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

With this hotel there are some obvious tradeoffs compared to the larger Dead Sea area hotels.

Firstly it does not offer direct beach access, you have to either ride a complimentary shuttle bus for about 5 minutes or walk. The hotel does have a private beach that was clean and offered basic cleanup and portable bathroom facilities. There are two pools, one for adults and one that is suitable for kids and has a basic slide. There is a small kids play area next to this pool that has a few toys. The kids area could be improved considerable with an awning of some kind. The adult pool has a basic bar. Overall the outdoor facilities are basic but nice, I did notice that garbage from guests started to accumulate on the pool deck towards the end of the day.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. They have a nice sized balcony and it's best to try get one with a view to the west.

We ate dinner and breakfast in the dining room and were pleased with the quality of the food even though the selection was limited. The drawback to the dining room was the rude behavior of the local guests who refuse to queue for the food stations, and overloaded their plates with food that went to waste.

The spa facility is likewise basic but clean and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We felt that the prices were reasonable here.

In all I think this is a good option for people wanting to save a little money at the Dead Sea for a night or two. It doesn't offer the same amenities and luxury that some of the five star hotels in the area have but neither does it demand their prices.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Valley W, General Manager at Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Matt,

Thank you very much for staying with us for your most recent stay at the Dead Sea, the lowest point in Earth!

Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and services, and do note that we have taken your other comments into account and will review them with the concerned persons.

I do hope that you are back home with good memories of your visit to Jordan. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Safe travels ahead!

Omar Hazineh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

This hotel offers a decent beach to experience the dead sea. The beach is a short walk from the resort. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and spacious. A couple small complaints: the showers were lacking due to bad water pressure and luke warm water, and the buffet dinner (which you pay around 20 JD extra for) was not great (the salads and desserts were good, but the main dishes were not tasty at all. And they offered 3 kinds of chicken. no variety. They also charge for drinks, even water when you already have spent a lot on the mediocre buffet). The spa was very nice. My massage I received was exceptional! They seemed more generous with their breakfast buffet. They offered a better variety.

Overall, it was a good value. I'd recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Valley W, General Manager at Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Melinda,

Thank you very much for staying with us for your most recent stay at the Dead Sea, the lowest point in Earth!

Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and services, and do note that we have taken your comments into account and will review them with the concerned persons.

I do hope that you are back home with good memories of your visit to Jordan. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Safe travels ahead!

Omar Hazineh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We were here for an overnight stay. The room was okay and the most important - Free WIFI! The only thing we didn't liked here was that they didn't had slippers in the room so we had to walk inside the room in a bare foot. Dinner was okay and the hotel is very close to the dead sea.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Valley W, General Manager at Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Dear Tomo,

Thank you for choosing Winter Valley Warwick Resort and Spa Dead Sea, for your most recent stay at the lowest point on Earth!

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and went back home with some good memories from Jordan. The comment regarding slippers is noted. We do offer them in our premium rooms and suites, however, not in our basic rooms.

Thank you again for your nice comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Safe travels ahead!

Omar Hazineh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa

Address: Dead Sea, 11194, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dead Sea Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the northern shore of the Dead Sea, Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa is situated at the lowest point on earth within the largest natural spa - The Deas Sea. Our 4 star internationally managed resort, a member of Warwick International Hotels, is just 55 km from Queen Alia International Airport and 35 km from Amman, Jordan's capital. Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa offers 161 rooms and suites with terraces ideally spread out on 4 floors overlooking the Dead Sea. Decorated in warm and fresh colors, all rooms are equipped with signature bedding and linens, individual air-conditioning control, 32" LCD TV screens,and in-room safe, coffee & tea making facilities,and hairdryers just to name a few. Guests can also enjoy free WIFI around the resort. For the ultimate in relaxation our pools and spa are there for guests to unwind and relax during their stay. Enjoy Dead Sea spa treatments by vising out spa, and chosing from the wide range of treatements available there, while you also explore our wet area (sauna, steam, and jacuzzi) Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa has not also forgotten about our beloved little ones, our Kids area is located close to the pool area and is properly equipped to suite their needs. Our seaside resort is also equipped with a number of food and beverage outlets serving a wide range of international and local dishes. We look forward to welcoming you at Winter Valley Warwick Resort and Spa - Dead Sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Valley Warwick Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.