We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Dinner in Amman!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Verte

La Maison Verte
59 Abdulhameed Badees Street, Shmeisani, Amman, Jordan
65685746
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 413 Restaurants in Amman
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Damascus, Syria
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Dinner in Amman!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

While in Amman Jordan it is difficult to find a really great restaurant. The La Maison Verde Restaurant is a must if you want a great meal!! It is located in the Shemaisani District of Amman on a very "quite-street".

We celebrated my wife's birthday and the food and atmosphere was fantastic! The only negative was the service. It was very, very slow which came as a big surprise as in the past it was very swift and all service was carried out in an expeditious manner.

The positives far out-numbered this one negative point of slow service.

The wine list is extensive but a bit over priced. The appetizers...where can I start? I had the Shrimp and Avocado Cocktail and this was very, very good. I tasted the Sea Scallops appetizer, even though the scallops were frozen the taste was out-of-the-world!! The Calamari appetizer was very good and served in a paper bag!!

For my main dish I had the Shrimp Tempera... the shrimp were "fresh" and the only unfortunate comment the batter was not really a Tempera batter, but more of a deep fried shrimp batter!! Way too thick and "heavy".

The guest that had the Angus Beef were all thrilled and were commenting on the taste well after we left the restaurant!!

I had a few glasses of the nice French Chardonnay and there was also a nice Bordeaux St Emilion Grand Cru for the meat eaters!

They had very, very nice live music. Music that you can still carry on the conversation while enjoying the music...

Outside of the slow service this is still one of the best restaurants in Amman!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Quality and standards slipping fast ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Maison Verte had the reputation of being one of Amman's best restaurants. Go there today and you will be puzzled. The standards have slipped so much that the food now ranks amongst Amman's most average. We ordered a steak (unremarkable), and the sea bass with tomato sauce, Which was terrible. The fish was dry and unseasoned (no salt even), and instead of tomato sauce, the chef sautéed some Tomatoes and threw them on the plate almost as an afterthought. The restaurant has such a small menu - only five or six entrees. By now they should all be perfection. The chef seems to have become lazy and complacent. For
The prices they charge (100 euro Dinner for two without drinks), you would expect some effort.

The only saving grace of this place is the service. Waiters are very polite and attentive. A word of advice to the waiters - it may be time to move on. You are too classy for this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“From the best in Amman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I don't remember exactly the date of visit

Nice designed restaurant , menu with a good selections , very good food quality specially the angus beef , a bit expensive but it worth for it, great service , highly recommended

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was the 1st time that we go there, my husband and i. And it will not be probably the unique one! One of the rare restaurants here where the service is excellent! They have a variety of food and drinks and the atmosphere is very elegant and calm. A little bit expensive, but when u look at the quality of food and service, you can understand why.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Exceptional food in a very chic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Let me start with the negative...unfortunately the only problem with this place is marketing...owners/management need to def remind people of it in a better way....with social media i think they have no excuse! my only problem is that i wish i think of this place more often to be able to pamper my wife and myself to a fancy dinner more often ;)

u walk in and u feel you've escaped Amman to somewhere amazing...the music, the food, the service...no doubt that the set-up is superb. To cut a long story short, whatever you order you're likely to have a wonderful experience...you will get a big thank u from ur hungry taste buds! I know they have a lot of great items, but that night, i was in the mood for meat (i'm usually like that always). we has the mushroom risotto and carpaccio for starters...again superb..and the main course was a large steak with a cream (screamy), buttery sauce on a candle light (sorry...it was so good i completely disregarded the name) wit ha side of fries (sorry mcd's...the fries here r better). hard to explain how the steak experience went...in short, it was soft, tender, juicy, tasty, and more than fulfilling.

need i say more? just for the record it is a pricey place but after a great meal, service and ambience the bill is quite insignificant. enjoy!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison Verte also viewed

Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Amman, Amman Governorate
 

Been to La Maison Verte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Verte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.