We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid safe hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al-Fanar Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Al-Fanar Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Al-Fanar Palace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen Rania Al Abdullah Street | P.O. Box 19196, Amman 1119, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 116 Hotels in Amman
Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“solid safe hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

stayed here 3 nights at start and end of an organised trip to Jordan. If you like to have a bit of local colour rather than international hotel chain uniformity this is good for you. Rooms very spacious, clean, comfortable. They arranged adjoining rooms for us with kids, with door direct from one room to other. Food fine for breakfast, typical for the region. The restaurant on the roof had brilliant evening meals - which is good becasue if you need to go out to a restaurant you will face a long walk or taxi drive. Staff very polite and helpful attitude.
Nothing to do with the hotel, but driving in Amman is a nightmare even by standards of the worst European cities. So if you think of walking to an outside restaurant I would think twice and just take the safer option of a taxi, you'll never be able to cross the road else.

Room Tip: our room was at the back, so no noise from the busy rood at all. Not sure whether it might be more n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    49
    15
    9
See reviews for
19
24
18
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My friend recommended me to stay in this hotel as it the price was very good compared to others 4 stars hotel and I wouldnt need to worry about the location as my friend had a car so he showed me around Amman. I stayed there the first two nights, I found the staff very nice and polite, room service was fast to deliver (25 minutes - which is great for a 4*) as well as the amazing facilities (jacuzzi,swimming pool and health club) which I could not find in other hotels when I went to Petra and Aqaba. As well, I asked them to leave my luggage with them until I would return from Petra and Aqaba and I was surprised to find it in my room without even asking them to place it in advance!
I would just have liked to have more than 1 restaurant but I guess the room service menu would satisfy your needs!
Would definately come back!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask the reception if any weddings are taking place during your stay as you'll get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the at the beginning and 1 night at the end of our 8 day tour of Jordan with Exodus. Originally we were scheduled to stay in Madaba but they made a late change - we suspect because it was more convenient for Exodus's local partners to collect us from our very late flight arrival on Sat night / Sunday morning. The breakfast & evening buffets were good - but as with many hotels in Jordan only soft drinks were available. There was an off licence across the road - and we could see the neon beer sign in the window beckoning us - but between was a 2 lane carriageway in both directions - the traffic never stopped and there was nowhere to cross for over a mile in both directions. When we got a taxi into town it took over 5 minutes to navigate all the spaghetti junctions before it passed the hotel again on the other side of the road! We had no problems with noise and slept well. As it was part of a package we don't know if it was good value or not. It's just a shame that it is in such a poor location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We requested for adjoining rooms as we have 2 kids and we got a bonus. There was a connecting door! The kids felt safe in their own room which had 2 twin share beds and we can easily check on them in the middle of the night. Room service was
good. I think they make big meals in this hotel. One serving of bolognaise will fill 2 people easily. Our rooms were clean and tidy, good furnishings, toilet was okay. The lobby was elegant and their restaurant was superb. There is also a souvenir shop at the lobby.

We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

It is a very nice hotel with clean and spacious rooms.But the lift is terrible.You may have to wait for minimum 5-10 min to use. If are lucky like me you can see the Jordanian weddings since it is a regular happening there.Book rooms in the top floors since there may be disturbance from the wedding parties.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Too far out of central Amman, required use of local taxis (which weren't expensive) to go anywhere, then to return. Almost no restaurants or other activities within walking distance.

Hotel was too Muslim oriented, had up to 2 Jordanian wedding receptions nearly every night. Very noisy with extremely loud drums and "singing" through bullhorns.

The swimming pool was at most times not available to Western women because of "not today", "not this morning" or "not this afternoon" for women.

No alcohol available in the hotel, but you could bring it into the dining room from outside, then they would serve it whilst having a meal.

No guest computers, but you could have 1 hour free Wi-Fi in lobby if you had your own laptop.

Staff generally very courteous and polite.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in Amman for 3 nights. The reception was very friendly, the breakfast was very good, there is a heated swimming pool, free wi-fi and very comfortable rooms. The location is quite bland as you are in the city but not near to anything.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al-Fanar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Fanar Palace Hotel

Address: Queen Rania Al Abdullah Street | P.O. Box 19196, Amman 1119, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 116 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Al-Fanar Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Fanar Palace Hotel is located in the heart of classy modern West part of Amman, the capital of Jordan, where it is convenient for both business and pleasure and just 30 minutes away from International Airport.Al Fanar is a newly built Hotel and has 147 wide modern rooms and suites. Al Fanar has a well equipped gym and a health club. Cafes and restaurants are well located in both lobby floor and roof top.Al Fanar has also excellent conference and wedding halls facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al-Fanar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Fanar Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al-Fanar Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.