We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Larsa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Larsa Hotel to your Saves list
Larsa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Um Mutaweh Street, Al-Jandaweel, Amman 11814, Jordan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Amman
Solihull
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Functional and comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on a group tour of Jordan.
The rooms were being refurbished and were comfortable and clean. Some of the light shades still had the wrappers on them! The bathrooms were functional - with hot water.
Location wise, this hotel seems a long way from anything that you might want to see - there doesn't seem to be any eating options within walking distance other than a pizza place. We ate in the hotel on 3 occasions. The food was all tasty and hot. Wine and Amstel was available. The sandwich sizes are generous. The hotel has a big bar area. Service was a little slow as most of the stock is not held at the bar.
Wifi is available and free.
Negatives - the swimming pool could do with a good tidy up. It's down a little alley by the side of the hotel with wires hanging down and broken manhole covers. The pool was also freezing. Having abandoned the pool, we headed for the jacuzzi - that was out of order!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    88
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
37
56
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Situated in what seemed like the middle of nowhere. We stayed here for the first and last night of our trip round Jordan. We were able to overlook the half finished feel of our rooms at the start because we were excited but it was a real anticlimax to the end of our trip to return. Room service food was inedible. On the plus side the staff seemed nice and the restaurant area was pleasant. Pity it had a loud TV on all the time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

While in Amman in September, I stayed at the Larsa for three nights. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly , and the rooms were large. The breakfast spread was the best I enjoyed in three weeks in the Middle East. The exercise room has all the basics except a fan. The drawbacks? Located Out of the way from downtown Amman and the hotel has been recently renamed, leading to some interesting neighborhoods being toured as cabbies tried to "find our hotel".

Good value.... Recommend this hotel as you explore Amman and Jerash!.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in mid-September. The room was great and the service was fine.

Upon leaving I informed the clerk at reception that I would stay again on the Friday of the following week and possibly also the Thursday. To be fair,this might have been misunderstood. In any case I was issued with a piece of paper that said "tentative reservation". On the Thusday of the following week I emailed the hotel to confirm that I would stay for one night only -- the Friday. However, when I turned up on the Friday I was told that my booking had been cancelled. The reasons given were varied and contradictory. First I was told that my email had not been received because Thursday was a holiday, then that the booking had been cancelled because I didn't show up on the Thursday, and finally that hotel had been fully booked for "the last two weeks" - ie since before I made my tentative booking. I got the impression that my booking had simply been cancelled to accommodate the huge busload of tourists that had just arrived.

I guess the moral of the story is don't mess with "tentative" bookings and confirm everything by phone, not email.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour of Jordan. Hotel was under renovation in and out while we were there, so a bit noisy in daytime. Staff were extremely friendly and pleasant. Alcoholic drinks can be obtained in the restaurant and the cafe, though of course locals do not consume it. Rooms pleasant and spacious. A/C roared like a jet engine in our room but little cool air was coming out of it. might be tricky in summer! Swimming pool is a bit basic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Good value hotel, room large and clean, staff very friendly and helpul. Not central, but that was fine as we'd hired a car, and thus avoided driving in the city centre. Parking very haphazard at the hotel. Restaurant was ok, good choice for breakfast, but buffet dinner was rather uninspiring. All in all, we felt we'd made a good choice with the hotel but there was nothing that gave it the 'wow' factor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I travel frequently to Amman and have found Larsa Hotel to be the best place to stay. The location is convenient for my business away from the very congested areas of Amman. The manager, Ayman Abu Zahra, is always helpful and accommodating to all my needs. I have stayed for business as well as with family. New renovations to bathrooms are quite nice. I recommend the Larsa, especially for value and service.
M. Naji

Room Tip: If you need extra social space ask for the larger corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Larsa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larsa Hotel

Address: 48 Um Mutaweh Street, Al-Jandaweel, Amman 11814, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Larsa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Larsa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larsa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.